Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
36% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Quirky place but overpriced

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Balcony and pool
The staff were great, but the room was quite run down. It was clean, but sort of falling apart. It's the kind of thing that, if it cost $50 instead of $155, you'd say it's funky, but a good deal. But when you pay $155 (high season), you would expect less of that funky feel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Roosters crow ALL day long. Do not book here if willing to sleep in or sleep all day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a beach hotel but nice and clean

Posted Mar 2, 2016
I traveled down to visit a friend and needed a place to stay for a couple nights. This place was nice and clean. Could use some more lighting but other than that I have no complaints.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
T.V. did not work. No wifi. Coffee mugs were cracked and broken. Bed was squeezed into an awkward space....room was bizarre. Air conditioner ran all night and kept us awake even though we had the thermostat set at a higher temperature.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mpls, Mn

The pictures are not accurate

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: I was afraid to venture outside...I should have called a taxi and left but I had prepaid by room on the Internet
Not in good or acceptable condition...unsafe feeling neighborhood..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from baltimore

Horrible accomodations

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: I hated everything.
Cons: Customer service and housekeeping could be greatly improved.
Location: Hotel located on mountain close to airport
This was the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. My flight was cancelled and we had to find a hotel at the last minute. The entirety of bed linens were covered in weird stains. Comforter was dirty, so I refused to sleep in bed; slept in a plastic chair. Couch was covered in dark stains, and there was no hot water. Bugs littered the floor, so it was clear that they hadn't cleaned. Upon check out, they refused to issue a receipt. They took a photocopy of license and credit card number which was sketchy. When they tried to give a receipt, it was a printout without any numbers. (Showed 0.00) would not recommend to anyone. One of the workers stumbled out of the room behind the welcome desk and she smelled of marijuana. Totally despicable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sunset gardens review

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: The view was nice, it was nice that it has a full kitchen , just would have been nice to know ahead of time.
Cons: Hot water and new shower heads anything to improve water pressure for the showers. At least a snack machine,
Location: Up on the hill makes for a good view but if you don't have a car taxi fare will be a added expese
The hotel was ok, staff was very accomadating , rooms were clean, just don't plan on taking a hot shower, the hot water was nowhere to be found and the water pressure in the shower was a trickle. There is also nothing on site as far as places to eat or even anything to buy for even a snack. So if you want anything to eat at the room make sure you bring it with you You definitely would want to have a car nothing is within walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No where to eat

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Taxis are expensive in St Thomas. With the cost of taxis to dinner and breakfast added your better off staying closer to town. Taxis will cost you $5 per person each way. So for two people that's $20 for dinner and again for breakfast. The hotel itself is typical island. Funky design. Don't expect everything to work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Erie PA

Least expensive happy-tourist stay in St Thomas

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Great view over St Thomas and ocean. Too-small but very clean pool.
Cons: No significant complaints at all, place is old but cheerfully, cleanly painted.
Location: Rent a car for this place or pay taxis. Everything is $20 away by cab. LOTS of shopping down the hill. Must be 3 dozen jewelers. Eat at Tickles.
Cheerful and helpful manager with pleasing personality runs the place. Cabs are expensive in St T and we got rides from her staff person, paying him maybe half the meter rate. Room had cool shaded small balcony. Two rooms each unit. Bedroom air conditioned. Leave doors open: fresh breezes always. We were happy, stayed twice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Excellent view

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff and view. In a residential area and the local chickens and roosters would awaken you at 530am.
Cons: I already said it all.
Location: Near airport and harbors. Not walking distance to much of anything. Need a car or rely on taxis.
No hot water in morning or evening. Only at around 4pm. No water pressure. No WiFi in rooms. Had to go to pool area and tap off of office system. Staff was very nice and tried to work with what they had. Facility is very old and needs updating. But the price was right and the rooms were clean and the view of the harbor and cruise ships was wonderful