Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from RI

Didn't like it.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Location is excellent. The room was ok, but insufficiently lit. Water pressure in the shower is almost nonexistent. Couple times we didn't have enough hot water for three of us to shower. Towels looked like they'd been washed 500 times and had a gray tint, some looked like they were washed in muddy water. I do not recommend purchasing breakfast. It is served quite late at 8:30. If you need to be at San Marco by 9, you will certainly miss it. On Sunday the breakfast arrived after 9. The food is basic supermarket cerial, bread, croissants, and yogurt. You could get a better breakfast at a cafe nearby. There is a table in common area with tea kettle, mugs, and water. But there was not a single tea bag there. We went out to get some teabags to a grocery market conveniently located within 2 minutes. Overall it could be a great place with better management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Loved it I would stay again!!!

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Location was perfect. Didn't spend a lot of time in the room. Cute Living area and rooms.
Cons: Breakfast was good but could have been great with meat and cheese. Our room could have had a little better lighting. Shower could have had a little more pressure.
Location: Just 10 minutes fro the train and bus. Groceries CO-OP just around the corner. Great restaurants everywhere.
3 out of 5
by Mei Sum Diana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jordan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Caroline from Ireland

Recommended

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice B&B. Lovely breakfast.Nice and central
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, friendly staff

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Have a list of things to do in Venice.
Location: Venice is a walkable city. Just get lost on the streets and enjoy!
Venice is an amazing city. Our stay at San Giacomo made it even better. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They allowed us to leave are bags during the day because of a late evening train ride. This allowed us to enjoy another great day in Venice. The directions to the hotel are easily followed but make sure you follow them. There is a short entry into a passage that you walk through. Don't be concerned about walking through it. The room was spacious for our family of 4 and the breakfast was good. Don't expect American portions in Europe.
4 out of 5
by James from Oklahoma

Nice place

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
Nice 3 bedroom shared bath B&B in a scenic maze of pedestrian alleys. The best way to find this place is to use the municipal boat system's line #1 with the stop at Riva de Biasio, then head south. A compass is helpful, especially at night. The owners will send you walking directions if you ask. There is no indication of the B&B other than a note next to the door buzzer panel. This is a quiet area. The rooms are on the 2nd or 3rd floor. There is no elevator. The woman who cooked breakfast (toast, cereal, fruit, juice, toast w/diced tomatoes, cheese, coffee) was helpful. A nearby restaurant knew the location of the B&B. This place is clean and comfortable. Checkout is at 10:30 but we were permitted to leave our bags there; we retrieved them later.
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Quiet, hidden away amongst zig zag streets

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: Quiet and spacious.
Cons: Let people know that it is up two flights of steps and is unlabled. There is a folding wooden chair on the landing outside the B&B door.
Location: Walking distance from some nice little less-touristy restaurants.
We were given extensive directions to get from the bus station to our B&B. Unfortunately, we never found the streets referenced in our directions. Our "seven minute walk from the bus station" took us about an hour and a half! Our GPS helped only minimally, as the address given on the Expedia listing showed 1147 San Croce - unfortunately, the WHOLE area was San Croce. This was not the street we needed. Eventually we learned that we needed Ruga Vechia, and then we got a little closer with the GPS. It still told us "you have arrived at your destination!" while we were several blocks away, so that was confusing as well. Getting in to the room once we found the B&B was also challenging. We rang the door bell repeatedly, with no response. Eventually, another resident came out and we were able to get inside. We went up and down the stairs, trying to find our room or a lable indicating the owner's name, to no avail. We didn't have a working phone so eventually, my spouse got brave and ventured outside to find someone who would lend us their phone - which she found quickly. She got hold of our hostess, who then opened the door, right beside us where we were waiting on a tiny landing of the third floor. It turns out our hostess was vacuuming and didn't hear our repeated ringing of the door bell over the past 45 minutes The room itself was very spacious. There was only one other couple the first day, so we had a "private" bathroom for two days, then it returned to a shared one.
5 out of 5
by Jean-Michel from Jacksonville, FL

Friendly owner & atmosphere in convenient location

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay in a large room with friendly owner and all we needed. 10mns walk from railway station and to Rialto bridge, quite at night.