Ratings based on 836 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Elm Bank Hotel - Run Down

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Maintenance
Poor maintenance of the hotel, light bulbs not working, torn carpets, stained carpets, electrical equipment (hair dryer) faulty and PAT test out of date, curtains not fitted correctly letting light in from road and very bright security light, the list goes on. If you are a tourist / family group I wouldn't bother. Stags and hen parties only...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Posted Aug 20, 2017
A beautiful classic "old school" British hotel. The lobby was particularly lovely.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel facilities need upgrading

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: Reception and lounge
Cons: hotel rooms, facilities and parking.
Location: Historic town centre is only ten minutes away
The hotel reception area is great looking, very well preserved, many tourists visit the reception for the same reason but the hotel room is very very run down. Beds and everthing is in serious need for upgrading.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Quite good location, but outdated and dusty.

Posted Aug 8, 2017
The location of the hotel is great, within a walking distance from the center. Check in was smooth, we were served by a nice Japanese-origin staff .However, this is an outdated hotel, old carpet, old wallpaper. Room size was OK for us but the room was so dusty. I'm not allergic to dust but my 6-year-old and I sneezed many times because of the dust, I think it was from the carpet. I woke up in the middle of the night because I heard loud noise that came from footsteps from the room upstairs, I could even hear people talking from the room upstairs, I guess the flooring construction is not too good. The bathroom is spacious but there was a stinky smell coming out of the closet. Fortunately there was an alley that separated the bathroom and the bedroom so with the alley door closed, we were free from the smell. We stayed only one night so we didn't bother asking for help, we were tired and just wanted to sleep. We just immediately checked out the morning after.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melton Mowbray.England

3 star value but certainly not 3 star quality.

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: The Staff,and the location.It is within 20 mins walk of the town ,and handy for most of the museums.
Cons: The decor, the carpeting in hotel corridors,
Location: It is a nice walk the Castle museum and the art gallery,the main shops and places to eat are all nearby.The teddy bear shop with it's cafe upstairs.
I was told on arrival that my single room in the Hotel had a broken toilet so I was being upgraded to a double room in the Lodge across the road,,My son and I would have been next to each other in the main Hotel but now we weren't even in the same building. My room had a broken curtain rail so could not close the curtains.There were large stains on the carpet,no information sheet in the room,and no main ceiling light,just wall lights near the bed that you had to get out of bed to turn on and off .The room was street level so I had to keep those curtains that did work closed for privacy.Paintwork needs doing throughout.and the room lock needs looking at as I thought one good push would open it.In the main Hotel the place on entering looks very nice but once you walk from the main area to the corridors to the rooms it changes.The most awful tartan carpet ever ,that doesn't even fit properly is everywhere.Please upgrade to the standard you are trying to sell.If you want a drink at the bar ,first you have to find someone to serve you.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portsmouth

plesant... but bad sleep

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Stayed here because we wanted a older feeling hotel with a lot of character what it had in the lobby, first impressions where good, as we walked to are room Carpets held together with tape in the down stairs halls. When we booked the room we asked for a double bed but once we went to go to bed after a good night out found we had two singles pushed together what they call a zip and linked what was not put together correctly and I feel right though the middle a few times in the night. Complained about this in the morning, they said they would contact me though e-mail and still I have yet to have a response about my complaint
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide Sth Australia

Location Location Location

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Definitely the location
We walked into York and back to the hotel with ease. We were fortunate to get a park but it could be difficult due to metered parking in the vicinity. The staff were very accommodating and the facilities were good. The bathroom was newly refurbished.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Quite an interesting

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: It was in a very interesting hotel.
Cons: The decor could be smartened up.
Location: It is àbout a 15min walk to York town centre.Where you can find many interesting things to see and do.
Used this hotel as a base while visiting my son who lives in nearby Tadcaster. It was clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from staffordshire

Nice hotel close to town

Posted Jul 1, 2017
We enjoyed staying at the elmbank hotel in a good location about a 15 20 minute walk or there are busses and taxis to take you to town, the room was clean and had fresh towels everyday, the bed was comfy room was abit stuffy at times but the hotel provided a fan which helped as having the window open was noisy from the busy road but not a major issue. the only issue we had was the walls were very thin and annoying at times as you could hear other guest walking in their rooms and the parking is an issue too luckily we got there and there was a few spaces left apart from that a very good pleasant hotel to stay at. They also had a cat which was very cute.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Falkirk

Excellent location

Posted Jun 26, 2017
We decided to visit York with some friends. Having been a couple of time before, we knew we needed to find a hotel near the centre of town as trying to find free or even cheap parking would be very difficult. The Elmbank Hotel was perfect as the town centre is only a 10 minute walk!!! We upgraded our room choice to "superior rooms" which was a great choice. These rooms are located on a separate annex with separate entry from the actual hotel. They are first class. The only flaw that is evident with this hotel is the actual limited car parking spaces. There are only a few off street parking spaces so you need to find on street spaces that are not "resident parking only", but there are a few. We didn't have any food at a the hotel but there are plenty of various food types and choices within walking distance from the hotel.