Ratings based on 1,010 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom manchester

Convenient for where the areas I was working.

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Clean and comfortable. Convenient for work. Staff pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Devon

Stayed in The Lodge

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Value for money considering location. Clean & warm. Good Reception & Cleaning staff
Cons: Close to needing refurbishment (looking dated) - better quality beds.
Location: Too close to M23 !!!.. striking distance of Gatwick, Crawley Town (shopping) & Balcombe (countryside)
Best budget Hotel near Gatwick & you get-what-you-pay-for, a comfortable bed for the night with en-suite for under £40, no frills, no extras. Being close to the M23 there is a lot of road noise. Cleaning staff pleasant & efficient. I will not stay anywhere else for a short sleep-and-go stay. Breakfast is good (buffet) & worth having when on 'offer'.... and you can park (during your stay) FREE - not common in this area !!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom v

I've never seen a hotel so dirty and broken

Posted Mar 16, 2015
The room was filthy. Large quantity of body hair found in bath tub, toothpaste remains on bathroom sink. Heavy smell of...filth. No heating. Everything was damaged, including doors. This place looks like it has been abandoned. Everything is stained: chairs, beds skirts, sofas in common areas. Staff looks fed up. This hotel looks like it was built 39 years ago and nothing has been repaired ever since.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid rooms with connecting doors.

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: It was cheap. 5 minutes walk to a very nice pub.
Cons: Sound proof connecting doors and train the staff to actually do something when a guest makes a request.
We were put in a room with a connecting door to the adjacent room. At first I didn't think this would be a problem until the people in the other room arrived and we could hear everything that was going on next door. Not helped by the fact that we were trying to get to sleep so we could be up early for a train the next day but they were having a late night of it. Contacted reception to see if anything could be done, was told they'd look into it. Nothing changed. As far as we can tell we completely ignored or forgotten about. Mentioned this when we checked out and all we got was a very weak "sorry" from the girl on reception.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oxford

it is what it is & it ain't what it ain't!

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Comfortable bed.
Cons: Everything. The hotel is run down, smelly & pretty poorly staffed.
The hotel itself is run down & a maze of smelly corridors. The front desk staff looked unkempt, however were initially helpful. The bed room smelled of damp & was like a sauna. It's very noisy as it's right next to the M23. Phoned down for room service at 10:30pm to be told that I can't have anything as there was only one member of staff on reception & he was far too busy. The hotel is used by builders by the looks of it & it's very hard to get a parking space if you arrive late. On the plus side I had one of the best nights sleep of my life & woke feeling great.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Not what it says on the tin

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: The lady that spoke to me at reception who dealt with my complaint was lovely.
Cons: Everything that I wrote about in the 'Write about your experience' section.
Location: I am unaware as the employee that I spoke to regarding this said there was nothing.
The room I had booked was not the room that was shown in the pictures. I was situated in the 'Lodge'. The room was filthy, cold, smelly and generally shocking. The radiator was broken and the windows were a tired thin wooden frame (letting the February cold in). The bathroom smelt of urine. The carpets were ripped and stained. I rang reception to ask for someone to look at the radiator to try and warm it up. They said that someone would be with me right away...I waited half an hour when I finally went to reception and said that I wanted to be given a better room. They did this without any reservations. The upgrade was bigger and much warmer as it was situated in the main building however, the condition of the room was the same as the above. We ordered a carvery for dinner which was revolting and over priced, the lighting was so dark in the restaurant I couldn't see what I was eating - which was probably a good thing really.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom H

Nice, welcoming and cosy hotel.

Posted Feb 11, 2015
One night stay. Relaxed in the bar. Felt very homely and you didn't feel like you were being rushed to buy more drinks,
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom london

Has everything it needs but its old and tired.

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Bar, room, bathroom, carpets could all just do with replacing. The staff were helpful and it was pretty cheep but there are limits. Having "parking eye" plastered all over the car park should probably have told me something (Google them) but the place just needs an injection of cash to clean up and refresh the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Retford, Notts.

Value for money.

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Value for money.
Location: Not too far from Gatwick airport if you have an early morning flight.
WE have stayed at this hotel 3 times recently and have had no complaints. It is very tired in places, but for the money from Expedia it is good value and we will go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pori

Pool and gym in the hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2015
We got a very nice room with my Mum who has difficulties with her knees. We learned that the breakfast is cheaper when you buy it in advance in the reception. Also the gym and pool were lovely. I took water in a bottle to take with me to the sauna and threw it on the stove since there was no pail.