Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Period Looking but Deceptive

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: The photos but not the reality. Very disappointing indeed.
Cons: All of the above points as well as removing the dog excrement from the rear garden.
Location: Far out of Honolulu, limited bus service with absolutely zilch to do near by or even in walking distance.
Rather fooled by the photos of the outside and the antiques in the rooms, I'm afraid Bathroom sink and toilet were actually filthy and we not cleaned the whole week we were there. The antiques were nice but the whole place felt very jaded and depressing. Absolutely nothing at all in walking distance. Had to ask on two days for the room to be made up at late afternoon. Breakfast was the same everyday. Everything tepid and poor apart from the freshly-cooked omelettes. Staff very unhelpful, it was almost as if we were in their way in their private house. They had no information at all, not even maps or a bus timetable.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR.

Needs a clean sweep

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: The breakfasts, conversation with other guests, effort to conserve a grand old home.
Cons: Paring down antiques, dusting, eliminating and/or cleaning most of the rugs, replacing window treatments with modern, more information re parking.
Location: The location is just off H-1 freeway above the university. so access to most attractions is good. Recommend going uphill to the Manoa neighborhood.
If you have a fantasy of a gothic version of “The Descendants,” are charmed by antiques in all their musty, dustiness, and will forgive indifferent service in exchange for a healthy, fresh breakfast. then this might be the place for you. It isn’t for me, but I had made the mistake of passing through Honolulu on the weekend of the city’s Marathon, and my preferred lodging was booked and all room rates were sky high. This inn is just above the University of Hawaii, which makes it fairly convenient by car. It is hard to find because the sign is invisible and the old house in the website photo is completely obscured by foliage. The “Dole Suite” was a 3rd floor walk-up. The bathroom was under an eave so steep I had to take care not to bump my head standing up after using the toilet. (I am 5’2”.) There was no shower, but a generous tub (under the eave; duck to enter) with a hand-held shower hose. Which didn’t work.. One bedroom was full-ceilinged; the other was sharply eaved. It would be good for a child. Both rooms had double beds (though the suite was billed as a queen) and were generously furnished with 19th-century antiques. There was no AC,, but several fans, which, in December, was pleasant. The antiques appeared to extend to bedding, though, and lumpy mattresses. The rugs, copious pillows, and window treatments needed cleaning. Really, all-antiques-all-the-time is not a good formula for an inn. Guests need to breathe new air, occasionally. The owner, according to the inn’s
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Lovely home with beautiful plants, breezes.

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: All of the above.
Cons: Just a dish to place my bar of soap while bathing in the shower. Pillows could be replaced, or additional softer ones added. That is IT ! Great!
Location: All of Honolulu!!
For a first trip to Hawaii for me this was a wonderful alternative to a high rise hotel. Furnishings beautiful, lovely breezes, squeaky clean bathroom (no soap dish in shower) and very comfortable bed. Parking was provided along with a great breakfast in the morning. eggs to order, bacon, english muffins, juice, coffee, tea, potatoes, fruit. Just a lovely way to start the day.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ホノルル

最悪

Posted Nov 13, 2014
部屋が汚い。扇風機もホコリがたまっていた。朝食に期待したが、ポテトは半分生で、芽キャベツも硬くて食べられず。コーヒーポットはずっと空で、空いたテーブルも全く片付けようとせず、不快感でいっぱいでした。チェックイン時に使用理由の説明もなく、ゲストの写真を撮りたがり、常識がない印象でした。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom maui hi

Historic hawaii mansion

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Lovely experience at an awesome b&b. Owners and food are awesome The mansion is beautiful and Victorian So are the beds, mattress and couches. Very uncomfortable If beds and chairs / sofas were modern I would give them a 5 star plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Perth

A home away from home

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Free parking and healthy breakfast. Nice looking building and gardens. Classic furnishings.
Cons: Quantity of breakfast. Some more protein food.
Location: Easy to access. Hire a car to see the sites.
Something different than the normal multi storey hotel. Very warm, homely and relaxed atmosphere to the place. Staff and other guests were friendly as well. Furniture and fittings were classic style, very difficult to find nowadays. Parking ideal for small cars but not large vehicles. Beautiful gardens and swimming pool. Very healthy breakfast was offered although be early to ensure a variety of selection. Overall, I had an enjoyable stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by M Afrom Canada

Dissapointing

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
This B&B looked interesting and certainly promising. Unfortunately, for the price, we expected something better. The house itself is beautiful architecturally with beautiful grounds but it needs repairs: fresh coat of paint, rusted sinks to be replaced, corners and decorated furniture properly dusted, peeling wall and ceiling paper fixed, trees and bushes trimmed as garden seemed overgrown particularly the pool area. The lounging gazebo had old pillows and blankets that were definitely not inviting. The room itself was large, bed fairly comfortable. Breakfast was ok- you could order eggs and pancakes and it was served outside which was a beautiful setting. We did not have hot water for shower on both days. The neighbourhood is beautiful and close to University and Manoa Falls and it has parking. If it was $99, it would be ok, but not for close to $200 per night (with taxes).
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Charming Local Flavor

Posted Oct 15, 2014
The Inn has changed ownership so now feels more like living with the large local Hawaiian family who now owns the inn. I love this aspect of it, but travelers who are used to the way it was previously run may prefer a more mainland professional B&B environment. Everyone is very friendly, and the in and gardens are old and lovely as always. The breakfasts are local flavor and quite good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ハッピーfrom 前橋市

オーナーさん達がとてもフレンドリーでした❗️

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
娘の語学留学のため、父親と宿泊しました。マノア校からすぐの絶好のロケーションだったそうです。オーナーさんから声を掛けて頂き、アットホームな雰囲気を味わえて感激していました。山側にあるので、ワイキキの夜景が綺麗だったとも話していました。次回は私も宿泊したいです。