Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Charming Local Flavor

Posted Oct 15, 2014
The Inn has changed ownership so now feels more like living with the large local Hawaiian family who now owns the inn. I love this aspect of it, but travelers who are used to the way it was previously run may prefer a more mainland professional B&B environment. Everyone is very friendly, and the in and gardens are old and lovely as always. The breakfasts are local flavor and quite good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Gwenn from Bethlehem

near University of Hawaii

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
A great place to stay for someone who wants more than just the regular tourist stuff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from San Jose, CA

A very pleasant and interesting hotel in a good lo

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: I enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and the chance to stay in a authentic mansion that has a place in Hawaiian history! It is a peaceful oasis!
Cons: The Manoa Valley Inn just needs to keep lovingly maintaining the historic structure and gardens. That is already an expensive and comprehensive task.
Location: The Manoa Valley Inn is situated in a quiet suburban area away from the frantic high rise hotel/beach area. We had a rental car to use.
The Manoa Valley Inn has quite a history. The present owners have done a good job of restoring and maintaining the building and gardens. They have also added authentic furnishings which keep the historic background of the mansion and gardens intact. Each room is carefully decorated and is unique. It is the real deal! As a guest you feel like you have traveled back in history. The gardens are very lush and add to the beauty of the mansion. A special treat for guests is the hidden swimming pool surrounded by the flowering trees and bushes. The delicious breakfast/brunch served on the veranda is another high point to the visit. The protected outdoor surroundings add to the feeling of enjoying your own mansion on a leisurely morning. I'm talking about a full on breakfast with something for everyone. The kitchen staff will also cook "to order" items including special pancakes! I wish I lived closer to the Manoa Valley Inn!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lou from Reno

Manoa Valley Inn is a great place to stay!

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: The historical nature of the inn and a really cool bedroom. It was on the third floor, and almost seemed we were in a tree house.
Cons: Parking is a little tight, but we never had a problem.
Location: It is close to everything in Honolulu, and it is easy to get to the major highway. It is also close to Manoa Valley, a very pretty area on Oahu.
We really enjoyed our five night stay at Manoa Valley inn. A very interesting inn with very nice grounds, and a great location. It is close to beaches, Diamond Head and shopping. It is only one block from the University of Hawaii, and close to hiking in the mountains. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the complementary breakfasts in the morning were healthy and interesting. It was great fun staying in a historical mansion with many birds in the nearby trees and sweeping views from Diamond Head to downtown.
2 out of 5
by Renovator from Australia

It's a quirky B&B

Posted Feb 3, 2014
It is a quirky family run B&B. Quite cluttered with furniture and decorations. For an old house it needs constant attention and many things were being fixed or needed fixing. (I go on holidays to get away from that at home) I ruined a pair of pants with white oil based paint after brushing past a chair or something that hadn't dried. Upstairs bathroom was impossible to shower due to ceiling height, even the toilet was a challenge if you are over 5ft so be aware. They keep several dogs in the house as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by PMK from Beaverton, OR

Charming Character

Posted Feb 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
My daughter and I shared a top floor room w/private bath. This property is a rambling almost 100 year old home, oozing with Victorian eclectic charm. We had a panoramic view of Honolulu/Waikiki - a beautiful sight especially at night. The lovely island breezes kept our room fresh and comfortable. We slept with the windows open all night - the night birds sang - it was as if we were outdoors, but in a very comfortable bed. Lovely. Breakfast was delicious. Monica, our hostess, was very pleasant and accommodating. The location is not near a beach, but we did not mind. Good beaches are an easy drive. The only improvement I can suggest is to move this unique and lovely property to a less crowded island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Golf
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic home

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by T from Boston

Cute B&B within driving distance of Waikiki

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stay was great for a B&B, staff was nice, convenient, hospitable. House is old Hawaiian style, super cute, well maintained. I am personally a hotel person but loved our stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kammer from Bloomfield Hills, MI

A little gem of a wildly different B & B

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The person with whom we had the most contact is a delightful hostess. Our room was never cleaned but we knew we could ask and it would be done. They do not go into anyone's room unless requested. Be prepared to drive for any dining except breakfast. The gardens are overgrown and lush with a small pool tucked into the scenery. The statuary placed around is bizarre and fun. Wait until you see the Japanese raccoon. The rooms themselves are all very different from each other but charming. They give new meaning to decorating. Very close to the U of Hawaii. That is walking distance - about 10 minutes. We loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by R Wilson from WI

Amazing Historic House B&B

Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Accommodations were clean and comfortable, staff was friendly and helpful, delcious breakfast spread served outside. Location near U of Hawaii is very convenient. Backyard garden is amazing and overlooks Waikiki area.