Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Kyoto, JPN

至福のB&B

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: 建物、調度品、立地など申し分なし。
Cons: 特にありません。
Location: ハワイ大マノア校の近く、トレイル好きならマノアトレイルも 何とか徒歩圏内です。
B&Bは何を求めるかによって評価が分かれますが、 アメリカの歴史的建造物に指定されているこのB&Bは 建物から調度品、庭に至るまですべてに趣があり アンティーク好きな方には最高の場所かも知れません。 ハワイ大マノア校から至近距離にあり、ワイキキの喧騒から 逃れたい我々にとっては申し分ありませんでした。 イオラニ宮殿にあるようなベッドも快適で 正直2泊だけと言うのは勿体なかったくらい… 不必要なサービスは無く放っておいてくれるところに 生まれる安心感も良かったです。
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Period Looking but Deceptive

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: The photos but not the reality. Very disappointing indeed.
Cons: All of the above points as well as removing the dog excrement from the rear garden.
Location: Far out of Honolulu, limited bus service with absolutely zilch to do near by or even in walking distance.
Rather fooled by the photos of the outside and the antiques in the rooms, I'm afraid Bathroom sink and toilet were actually filthy and we not cleaned the whole week we were there. The antiques were nice but the whole place felt very jaded and depressing. Absolutely nothing at all in walking distance. Had to ask on two days for the room to be made up at late afternoon. Breakfast was the same everyday. Everything tepid and poor apart from the freshly-cooked omelettes. Staff very unhelpful, it was almost as if we were in their way in their private house. They had no information at all, not even maps or a bus timetable.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR.

Needs a clean sweep

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: The breakfasts, conversation with other guests, effort to conserve a grand old home.
Cons: Paring down antiques, dusting, eliminating and/or cleaning most of the rugs, replacing window treatments with modern, more information re parking.
Location: The location is just off H-1 freeway above the university. so access to most attractions is good. Recommend going uphill to the Manoa neighborhood.
If you have a fantasy of a gothic version of “The Descendants,” are charmed by antiques in all their musty, dustiness, and will forgive indifferent service in exchange for a healthy, fresh breakfast. then this might be the place for you. It isn’t for me, but I had made the mistake of passing through Honolulu on the weekend of the city’s Marathon, and my preferred lodging was booked and all room rates were sky high. This inn is just above the University of Hawaii, which makes it fairly convenient by car. It is hard to find because the sign is invisible and the old house in the website photo is completely obscured by foliage. The “Dole Suite” was a 3rd floor walk-up. The bathroom was under an eave so steep I had to take care not to bump my head standing up after using the toilet. (I am 5’2”.) There was no shower, but a generous tub (under the eave; duck to enter) with a hand-held shower hose. Which didn’t work.. One bedroom was full-ceilinged; the other was sharply eaved. It would be good for a child. Both rooms had double beds (though the suite was billed as a queen) and were generously furnished with 19th-century antiques. There was no AC,, but several fans, which, in December, was pleasant. The antiques appeared to extend to bedding, though, and lumpy mattresses. The rugs, copious pillows, and window treatments needed cleaning. Really, all-antiques-all-the-time is not a good formula for an inn. Guests need to breathe new air, occasionally. The owner, according to the inn’s
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Lovely home with beautiful plants, breezes.

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: All of the above.
Cons: Just a dish to place my bar of soap while bathing in the shower. Pillows could be replaced, or additional softer ones added. That is IT ! Great!
Location: All of Honolulu!!
For a first trip to Hawaii for me this was a wonderful alternative to a high rise hotel. Furnishings beautiful, lovely breezes, squeaky clean bathroom (no soap dish in shower) and very comfortable bed. Parking was provided along with a great breakfast in the morning. eggs to order, bacon, english muffins, juice, coffee, tea, potatoes, fruit. Just a lovely way to start the day.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ホノルル

最悪

Posted Nov 13, 2014
部屋が汚い。扇風機もホコリがたまっていた。朝食に期待したが、ポテトは半分生で、芽キャベツも硬くて食べられず。コーヒーポットはずっと空で、空いたテーブルも全く片付けようとせず、不快感でいっぱいでした。チェックイン時に使用理由の説明もなく、ゲストの写真を撮りたがり、常識がない印象でした。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom maui hi

Historic hawaii mansion

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Lovely experience at an awesome b&b. Owners and food are awesome The mansion is beautiful and Victorian So are the beds, mattress and couches. Very uncomfortable If beds and chairs / sofas were modern I would give them a 5 star plus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by scottfrom Nelshaby, Australia

Peaceful surrounds close to the action

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly laid back staff, very peaceful old world charm. Had hire vehicle which is very useful about 30-45mins walk to good eating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Perth

A home away from home

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Free parking and healthy breakfast. Nice looking building and gardens. Classic furnishings.
Cons: Quantity of breakfast. Some more protein food.
Location: Easy to access. Hire a car to see the sites.
Something different than the normal multi storey hotel. Very warm, homely and relaxed atmosphere to the place. Staff and other guests were friendly as well. Furniture and fittings were classic style, very difficult to find nowadays. Parking ideal for small cars but not large vehicles. Beautiful gardens and swimming pool. Very healthy breakfast was offered although be early to ensure a variety of selection. Overall, I had an enjoyable stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by M Afrom Canada

Dissapointing

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
This B&B looked interesting and certainly promising. Unfortunately, for the price, we expected something better. The house itself is beautiful architecturally with beautiful grounds but it needs repairs: fresh coat of paint, rusted sinks to be replaced, corners and decorated furniture properly dusted, peeling wall and ceiling paper fixed, trees and bushes trimmed as garden seemed overgrown particularly the pool area. The lounging gazebo had old pillows and blankets that were definitely not inviting. The room itself was large, bed fairly comfortable. Breakfast was ok- you could order eggs and pancakes and it was served outside which was a beautiful setting. We did not have hot water for shower on both days. The neighbourhood is beautiful and close to University and Manoa Falls and it has parking. If it was $99, it would be ok, but not for close to $200 per night (with taxes).
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com