Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR.

Needs a clean sweep

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: The breakfasts, conversation with other guests, effort to conserve a grand old home.
Cons: Paring down antiques, dusting, eliminating and/or cleaning most of the rugs, replacing window treatments with modern, more information re parking.
Location: The location is just off H-1 freeway above the university. so access to most attractions is good. Recommend going uphill to the Manoa neighborhood.
If you have a fantasy of a gothic version of “The Descendants,” are charmed by antiques in all their musty, dustiness, and will forgive indifferent service in exchange for a healthy, fresh breakfast. then this might be the place for you. It isn’t for me, but I had made the mistake of passing through Honolulu on the weekend of the city’s Marathon, and my preferred lodging was booked and all room rates were sky high. This inn is just above the University of Hawaii, which makes it fairly convenient by car. It is hard to find because the sign is invisible and the old house in the website photo is completely obscured by foliage. The “Dole Suite” was a 3rd floor walk-up. The bathroom was under an eave so steep I had to take care not to bump my head standing up after using the toilet. (I am 5’2”.) There was no shower, but a generous tub (under the eave; duck to enter) with a hand-held shower hose. Which didn’t work.. One bedroom was full-ceilinged; the other was sharply eaved. It would be good for a child. Both rooms had double beds (though the suite was billed as a queen) and were generously furnished with 19th-century antiques. There was no AC,, but several fans, which, in December, was pleasant. The antiques appeared to extend to bedding, though, and lumpy mattresses. The rugs, copious pillows, and window treatments needed cleaning. Really, all-antiques-all-the-time is not a good formula for an inn. Guests need to breathe new air, occasionally. The owner, according to the inn’s
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Lovely home with beautiful plants, breezes.

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: All of the above.
Cons: Just a dish to place my bar of soap while bathing in the shower. Pillows could be replaced, or additional softer ones added. That is IT ! Great!
Location: All of Honolulu!!
For a first trip to Hawaii for me this was a wonderful alternative to a high rise hotel. Furnishings beautiful, lovely breezes, squeaky clean bathroom (no soap dish in shower) and very comfortable bed. Parking was provided along with a great breakfast in the morning. eggs to order, bacon, english muffins, juice, coffee, tea, potatoes, fruit. Just a lovely way to start the day.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ホノルル

最悪

Posted Nov 13, 2014
部屋が汚い。扇風機もホコリがたまっていた。朝食に期待したが、ポテトは半分生で、芽キャベツも硬くて食べられず。コーヒーポットはずっと空で、空いたテーブルも全く片付けようとせず、不快感でいっぱいでした。チェックイン時に使用理由の説明もなく、ゲストの写真を撮りたがり、常識がない印象でした。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom maui hi

Historic hawaii mansion

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Lovely experience at an awesome b&b. Owners and food are awesome The mansion is beautiful and Victorian So are the beds, mattress and couches. Very uncomfortable If beds and chairs / sofas were modern I would give them a 5 star plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Perth

A home away from home

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Free parking and healthy breakfast. Nice looking building and gardens. Classic furnishings.
Cons: Quantity of breakfast. Some more protein food.
Location: Easy to access. Hire a car to see the sites.
Something different than the normal multi storey hotel. Very warm, homely and relaxed atmosphere to the place. Staff and other guests were friendly as well. Furniture and fittings were classic style, very difficult to find nowadays. Parking ideal for small cars but not large vehicles. Beautiful gardens and swimming pool. Very healthy breakfast was offered although be early to ensure a variety of selection. Overall, I had an enjoyable stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Charming Local Flavor

Posted Oct 15, 2014
The Inn has changed ownership so now feels more like living with the large local Hawaiian family who now owns the inn. I love this aspect of it, but travelers who are used to the way it was previously run may prefer a more mainland professional B&B environment. Everyone is very friendly, and the in and gardens are old and lovely as always. The breakfasts are local flavor and quite good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ハッピーfrom 前橋市

オーナーさん達がとてもフレンドリーでした❗️

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
娘の語学留学のため、父親と宿泊しました。マノア校からすぐの絶好のロケーションだったそうです。オーナーさんから声を掛けて頂き、アットホームな雰囲気を味わえて感激していました。山側にあるので、ワイキキの夜景が綺麗だったとも話していました。次回は私も宿泊したいです。
4 out of 5
Recommended
by philippefrom le luc 83

hotel de charme

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
totel de charme en dehors du centre calme avec parking sur place. voiture indispensable. excellent petit dejeuner
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kreis Bad Kreuznach

Schöne Bilder, weniger schöne Realität!

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Sehr gute Lage, in der Nähe des Zentrums. Freundliche Bewohner.
Cons: Sauberkeit, Ansprechpartner vor Ort bei Nachfragen.
Location: Hotels ist in der Nähe der Uni, zur Innenstadt ist es zu Fuß etwas zu weit, ein Auto sollte man schon haben.
Die Hausbesitzerin ist sehr freundlich und hat eine große Familie, von der wie täglich neue Familienmitglieder kennengelernt haben. Leider hat Sie mit den Hotelbuchungen und evtl. auftretenden Problemen absolut gar nichts zu tun und hat uns bei allen Fragen immer wieder an den Verwalter (Willie) verwiesen. Diesen haben wir leider telefonisch nie erreicht, jedoch hat er immer sehr schnell auf E-Mails reagiert. Zum Hotel: Das Haus, die Möbel und die komplette Ausstattung haben ihre besten Tage schon lange hinter sich. Hier wäre dringend eine Renovierung notwendig! Wir hatten zuerst ein Zimmer unter dem Dach, ohne Klimaanlage und das bei 35°C (Nachts nicht unter 30°C) und extrem hoher Luftfeuchtigkeit. Auf Nachfrage haben wir ein mobiles Klimagerät erhalten, das jedoch wenig effektiv war, da zwei Fenster in dem Zimmer überhaupt keine Möglichkeit hatten geschlossen zu werden. Wenigstens war ein Fliegengitter vor den Aussparungen in der Wand (Fenster). Für die nächsten drei Nächte haben wir (auf Nachfrage bei Willie) ein Zimmer mit eingebauter Klimaanlage bekommen. Unsere Zimmer wurden während des kompletten Aufenthalts (fünf Tage) kein einziges Mal sauber gemacht und es waren noch "Spuren" der Vorgänger erkennbar. In beiden Zimmer gab es immer wieder einige, mir nicht bekannte fliegende Insekten, die nicht sehr zum Wohlbefinden beigetragen haben. Handtücher wurden nie getauscht, auf Nachfrage gab es jedoch frische. Das Hotel hat übrigens kostenloses WLAN.