Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Superb view and location, very good accommodations

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: The view. The friendly housekeepers who did not intrude, but kept us supplied. The closeness to the beach (where our wedding was being held).
Cons: The TV in the main living area is smallish for today's models, although we didn't watch TV much. Mirrors in bathrooms were not good for makeup.
Location: Good restaurants nearby (10 minute drive), amazing views everywhere, and outdoor activities abound.
We booked for a wedding and were very satisfied, over all. There was some unclarity about extending our stay, and about details of what to expect from the "full kitchen," but we were pleased over all. The view and proximity to a gorgeous beach were priceless, and the grounds, with orchids and flowers everywhere were perfect for the wedding weekend.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta

Location good

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Location & friendly staff.
Cons: The older units could be up-dated.
Be careful which unit you book! Some unit are very out-dated & not up to standards. We were fortunate to have a good rep & she managed to secure a better unit for most of our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Thompson Family Review

Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
we loved it ! fantastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Loved it!

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Great views, nice beach, very relaxing. Stayed in F-109 which was ground floor with a nice lani and grassy area leading to an amazing ocean view. Perfect for watching the evening sunsets. The Condo was updated and very comfortable and the pool was just steps from the front door.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Disattisfied patronfrom Virginia

Will Not Return

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our unit had original 1970s décor and was in terrible condition. Did not match advertised pictures. Sagging mattress in master bedroom was difficult to sleep on. Very bad smell throughout unit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rodfrom New Zealand

Enjoyable, great space/size highly recommend

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great stay, very relaxing, all the amenities of home
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kristiannefrom San Francisco, CA

Incredible location, beautiful condo & scenery!

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
I liked that Makena Surf is a private, gated community with security watching the parking lot and grounds. The gardens surrounding the condos are just breathtaking, and there is even a herb garden for the guests to use and a BBQ! The two pool areas are very nice! The only negative remark I have is that Destination Resorts did not let us know we had to pick up our key at a separate location - other than that, they were very friendly and great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mariefrom Hudson, WI

Great Place to Stay In Maui

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: It was Condominiums and the location was just south of Waileai and secluded slightly with two beaches, southside one was great for snorkeling.
Cons: Hard to improve on something that was really nice. Just would recommend to the owner to update the paint and grouting for the two bathrooms.
Location: The Luau at the Marriott was wonderful, went for a full day to HANA and the 7 falls/pools at the State Park. Beautiful, but the drive is treacherous.
Great location and wonderful facilities. Two bedroom we stayed in was beautiful. The only slight drawback was that both of the bathrooms were showing wear and tear in the paint and tile grout; otherwise the remainder of the unit was in excellent shape and well equipped for our stay. Would go back to Mekena Sufrt Again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SmrtAlexfrom Saskatoon, SK

Exceeded expectations again!!

Posted Oct 15, 2013
This is my third time to Maui and second time staying at Makena Surf and will stay there again on my next trip. Incredible beach, excellent location away from the large hotels but close enough to everything you need in Kihei. My condo was excellent, clean and had everything I needed to enjoy my stay. The only downside that I can even think of is that noise seems to travel between the condo units fairly easily but I was lucky as my neighbors were usually very quiet but I could see how being next to a loud neighbor could ruin the experience..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cyndyfrom California

We LOVED the Makena Surf Condo. Property great!

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: Great views, beaches!
Cons: NO
Location: Great beaches and restaurants!
The Makena Surf condo was well equipped, w/ great views and sunsets. Loved the beaches and pools! Would definitely stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2014 by Matt, Hotel Management
Aloha......I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Makena Surf and we would love to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo, Matt Smith Destination Resorts Hawaii