Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia Beach

Good view, good beach access, great sunsets

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Location, appointments, beautiful surroundings. More adult oriented; not much for kids to do.
Cons: Gate ingress/egress somewhat awkward, but not a big drawback overall. No walking trail, relatively small beach.
Location: Short drive to: Wailea shops, major resort hotels, golf courses, restaurants. Don't miss WOW, LaPerouse Bay, Wailea beach path.
Nice condo, attractively appointed. Two bedrooms, although we needed only one. Well appointed roomy kitchen. Comfy lanai with view of Pacific. Unparalleled sunsets. We'd never been to Hawaii before and really didn't know anything about it. We were going with friends who had reserved a condo at Makena Surf, so we searched for a unit via Expedia. We couldn't have been happier with the result.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

We'll be back!!

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Loved the view, and the ease of beach access. Snorkeling & paddle boarding right outside the condo was great.
Cons: We didn't get housekeeping service on Wednesday,& I read another review that said the same. Housekeeping every day would improve the experience a lot.
Location: Best! Less rainfall than northern spots, close to shopping & dining, turtles and whales galore! Every condo is right on the beach facing the ocean!
We had the most wonderful condo. It was newly decorated with elegant furnishings, updated kitchen & baths, cool lighting, etc. It was very comfortable and most amenities were included. But best of all was the amazing ocean view, and the turtle-filled waters right in front of the condo were awesome for snorkeling. We swam with manta rays on one day! After staying in a few different areas of Maui, we have found that Makena is where we want to be. It looks as though any condo at Makena Surf resort will be good, but we thought this unit was so nice with the perfect view, so we will try for this one again! Mahalo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Superb view and location, very good accommodations

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: The view. The friendly housekeepers who did not intrude, but kept us supplied. The closeness to the beach (where our wedding was being held).
Cons: The TV in the main living area is smallish for today's models, although we didn't watch TV much. Mirrors in bathrooms were not good for makeup.
Location: Good restaurants nearby (10 minute drive), amazing views everywhere, and outdoor activities abound.
We booked for a wedding and were very satisfied, over all. There was some unclarity about extending our stay, and about details of what to expect from the "full kitchen," but we were pleased over all. The view and proximity to a gorgeous beach were priceless, and the grounds, with orchids and flowers everywhere were perfect for the wedding weekend.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta

Location good

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Location & friendly staff.
Cons: The older units could be up-dated.
Be careful which unit you book! Some unit are very out-dated & not up to standards. We were fortunate to have a good rep & she managed to secure a better unit for most of our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Thompson Family Review

Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
we loved it ! fantastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Loved it!

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Great views, nice beach, very relaxing. Stayed in F-109 which was ground floor with a nice lani and grassy area leading to an amazing ocean view. Perfect for watching the evening sunsets. The Condo was updated and very comfortable and the pool was just steps from the front door.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Disattisfied patronfrom Virginia

Will Not Return

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our unit had original 1970s décor and was in terrible condition. Did not match advertised pictures. Sagging mattress in master bedroom was difficult to sleep on. Very bad smell throughout unit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rodfrom New Zealand

Enjoyable, great space/size highly recommend

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great stay, very relaxing, all the amenities of home
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kristiannefrom San Francisco, CA

Incredible location, beautiful condo & scenery!

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
I liked that Makena Surf is a private, gated community with security watching the parking lot and grounds. The gardens surrounding the condos are just breathtaking, and there is even a herb garden for the guests to use and a BBQ! The two pool areas are very nice! The only negative remark I have is that Destination Resorts did not let us know we had to pick up our key at a separate location - other than that, they were very friendly and great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mariefrom Hudson, WI

Great Place to Stay In Maui

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: It was Condominiums and the location was just south of Waileai and secluded slightly with two beaches, southside one was great for snorkeling.
Cons: Hard to improve on something that was really nice. Just would recommend to the owner to update the paint and grouting for the two bathrooms.
Location: The Luau at the Marriott was wonderful, went for a full day to HANA and the 7 falls/pools at the State Park. Beautiful, but the drive is treacherous.
Great location and wonderful facilities. Two bedroom we stayed in was beautiful. The only slight drawback was that both of the bathrooms were showing wear and tear in the paint and tile grout; otherwise the remainder of the unit was in excellent shape and well equipped for our stay. Would go back to Mekena Sufrt Again!