Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Loved it!

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Great views, nice beach, very relaxing. Stayed in F-109 which was ground floor with a nice lani and grassy area leading to an amazing ocean view. Perfect for watching the evening sunsets. The Condo was updated and very comfortable and the pool was just steps from the front door.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Disattisfied patronfrom Virginia

Will Not Return

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our unit had original 1970s décor and was in terrible condition. Did not match advertised pictures. Sagging mattress in master bedroom was difficult to sleep on. Very bad smell throughout unit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rodfrom New Zealand

Enjoyable, great space/size highly recommend

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great stay, very relaxing, all the amenities of home
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kristiannefrom San Francisco, CA

Incredible location, beautiful condo & scenery!

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
I liked that Makena Surf is a private, gated community with security watching the parking lot and grounds. The gardens surrounding the condos are just breathtaking, and there is even a herb garden for the guests to use and a BBQ! The two pool areas are very nice! The only negative remark I have is that Destination Resorts did not let us know we had to pick up our key at a separate location - other than that, they were very friendly and great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mariefrom Hudson, WI

Great Place to Stay In Maui

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: It was Condominiums and the location was just south of Waileai and secluded slightly with two beaches, southside one was great for snorkeling.
Cons: Hard to improve on something that was really nice. Just would recommend to the owner to update the paint and grouting for the two bathrooms.
Location: The Luau at the Marriott was wonderful, went for a full day to HANA and the 7 falls/pools at the State Park. Beautiful, but the drive is treacherous.
Great location and wonderful facilities. Two bedroom we stayed in was beautiful. The only slight drawback was that both of the bathrooms were showing wear and tear in the paint and tile grout; otherwise the remainder of the unit was in excellent shape and well equipped for our stay. Would go back to Mekena Sufrt Again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SmrtAlexfrom Saskatoon, SK

Exceeded expectations again!!

Posted Oct 15, 2013
This is my third time to Maui and second time staying at Makena Surf and will stay there again on my next trip. Incredible beach, excellent location away from the large hotels but close enough to everything you need in Kihei. My condo was excellent, clean and had everything I needed to enjoy my stay. The only downside that I can even think of is that noise seems to travel between the condo units fairly easily but I was lucky as my neighbors were usually very quiet but I could see how being next to a loud neighbor could ruin the experience..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cyndyfrom California

We LOVED the Makena Surf Condo. Property great!

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: Great views, beaches!
Cons: NO
Location: Great beaches and restaurants!
The Makena Surf condo was well equipped, w/ great views and sunsets. Loved the beaches and pools! Would definitely stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2014 by Matt, Hotel Management
Aloha......I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Makena Surf and we would love to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo, Matt Smith Destination Resorts Hawaii
2 out of 5
by stevefrom portland oregon

Not really a hotel. More like a condo on the beach

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: It was clean and on the beach. The maid service did a great job cleaning everyday. The private beach was very nice and relaxing!
Cons: The hotel front desk. They need to stop invading their guest privacy!
Location: Great location. Lots of shopping and restaurant! Close to all the action on Maui!
We felt like we were being watch by the staff. Felt like we had no privacy at all. Our second day the front desk called and said they came over and did a walk through and notice that they were more than two people staying, and they said that the unit was rented as a one bedroom even though the unit has two bedrooms. I was very upset about them spying on us an accusing us of that! I told them that we had some friends over late and we were drinking and I didn't feel comfortable for them to drink and drive so I had them stay. Since then I notice the security and staff watching us constantly day and night!... A horrible experience !! Will never go back or recommend this place!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2014 by Matt, Hotel Management
Aloha....I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to Makena Surf and for bringing to my attention what you experienced. This is not the way we typically treat our guests and is in no way indicative of the customer service we strive to achieve. I hope you will accept my sincere apologies. Mahalo, Matt Smith Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Toshifrom Tokyo

至極です。

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: ロケーション。部屋の広さと質。
Location: レンタカーは必須です。
ハワイ7回目でマウイ3回目ですが、想像以上でした。ウミガメが複数ホテルのビーチ近くに来る等、ロケーションは最高。部屋も広く、豪華で想像以上です。これでこの価格はありえません。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ケニーfrom 日本, 東京都

静かで、ロケーションが良い。。。

Posted Aug 24, 2013
Pros: サンセットが良く見れる。
Cons: バスタブが無かったこと。
Location: 素晴らしい。
着いた時は、駐車場が少し離れていて、3階の部屋でエレベーターが無かったので、テンションが下がりましたが、部屋に入りテラスに出た途端、そのロケーションがいっぺんに気に入りました。 ビーチにもほど良い近さで、サンセットを見るには最高でした。 ゴルフ好きの私たちにはゴルフコースも近いし、総合的には気に入りました。