Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marie from Hudson, WI

Great Place to Stay In Maui

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: It was Condominiums and the location was just south of Waileai and secluded slightly with two beaches, southside one was great for snorkeling.
Cons: Hard to improve on something that was really nice. Just would recommend to the owner to update the paint and grouting for the two bathrooms.
Location: The Luau at the Marriott was wonderful, went for a full day to HANA and the 7 falls/pools at the State Park. Beautiful, but the drive is treacherous.
Great location and wonderful facilities. Two bedroom we stayed in was beautiful. The only slight drawback was that both of the bathrooms were showing wear and tear in the paint and tile grout; otherwise the remainder of the unit was in excellent shape and well equipped for our stay. Would go back to Mekena Sufrt Again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SmrtAlex from Saskatoon, SK

Exceeded expectations again!!

Posted Oct 15, 2013
This is my third time to Maui and second time staying at Makena Surf and will stay there again on my next trip. Incredible beach, excellent location away from the large hotels but close enough to everything you need in Kihei. My condo was excellent, clean and had everything I needed to enjoy my stay. The only downside that I can even think of is that noise seems to travel between the condo units fairly easily but I was lucky as my neighbors were usually very quiet but I could see how being next to a loud neighbor could ruin the experience..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cyndy from California

We LOVED the Makena Surf Condo. Property great!

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: Great views, beaches!
Cons: NO
Location: Great beaches and restaurants!
The Makena Surf condo was well equipped, w/ great views and sunsets. Loved the beaches and pools! Would definitely stay again!
2 out of 5
by steve from portland oregon

Not really a hotel. More like a condo on the beach

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: It was clean and on the beach. The maid service did a great job cleaning everyday. The private beach was very nice and relaxing!
Cons: The hotel front desk. They need to stop invading their guest privacy!
Location: Great location. Lots of shopping and restaurant! Close to all the action on Maui!
We felt like we were being watch by the staff. Felt like we had no privacy at all. Our second day the front desk called and said they came over and did a walk through and notice that they were more than two people staying, and they said that the unit was rented as a one bedroom even though the unit has two bedrooms. I was very upset about them spying on us an accusing us of that! I told them that we had some friends over late and we were drinking and I didn't feel comfortable for them to drink and drive so I had them stay. Since then I notice the security and staff watching us constantly day and night!... A horrible experience !! Will never go back or recommend this place!!!
Comment from
Jan 5, 2014
Aloha....I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to Makena Surf and for bringing to my attention what you experienced. This is not the way we typically treat our guests and is in no way indicative of the customer service we strive to achieve. I hope you will accept my sincere apologies. Mahalo, Matt Smith Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris

Spacious condo with a great view

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Our stay in unit C 201 was fabulous. The unit was very neat with wonderful view. The closeness to the beach was great for early morning walks or time playing in the water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carrie from Bay Area, CA

A Slice of Paradise in South Maui

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: Clean, spacious, quiet, excellent gardens, proximity to beach and snorkeling
Cons: No on-site restaurant
Location: We took a snorkeling cruise straight out of Makena via Kai Kanani sailing charters. Only takes 10 mins to get to Molikini!
I can't speak to every unit in the Makena Surf, but ours was spectacular. Extremely well remodeled, well maintained, with an incredibly luxurious master bathroom. Having a condo with 2 bedrooms and bathrooms was very convenient for our family of 4. We ate breakfast at home and packed lunches to take to the beach. The pools were very clean and not very busy the majority of the time. The beach adjacent to the complex is fantastic, and again, suprisingly vacant during our summer vacation. Destination Resorts was pleasant and easy to work with. I wouldn't hesistate to go back to the Makena Surf at any time in the future. I almost don't want to give it such a good review, I want to keep it all to myself! Shhhh! It'll be our little secret!
Comment from
Jan 1, 2014
Aloha....Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Makena Surf. It is truly a hidden jewel just minutes from Wailea. Mahalo, Matt Smith Destination Resorts Hawaii
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would stay in again!

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Pros: Huge family room, full baths, oceanfront patio, full kitchen and well decorated rooms.
Cons: Some guests stomping above our head and some talking loudly in the lobby area.
Location: Nice location but a limited number of shops to shop with.
We lived in G202. Friendly staff and great oceanfront location. Unit is fully functional with 2 bedroom, each with a full bath. Rooms are well decorated, including the family room. Unit is equipped with a full kitchen, dryer and washer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cathy from Pleasanton, CA, USA

Were we the only people on vacation in Maui?

Posted May 24, 2013
Pros: Daily housekeeping, great views, amazing beaches, and the snorkel boats send the snorkelers to this location.
Cons: first night, finding your condo, since the buildings are not clearly marked and the complex is dimly lit
Location: Makena beaches are beautiful and mellow, with a short drive away from the touristy area of Wailea.
If you want to feel like you are the only people in Maui, then this resort is for you. Such an amazing experience. Quiet, except the people above us who stomped around *all day*, but that isn't the resort's issue, just people being clueless. I have a feeling I could have asked the resort to speak to them, and they would have, since they reiterate maintaining a "quiet, relaxing environment" and have specific resort rules around respecting other people's space (keep tv's low, don't yell, kids to behave in the pool area). I wouldn't consider this a child friendly environment if your kids are *energetic*, but if you are looking for quiet, mellow, relaxed, and not crowded, then this is the place to be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Pineapple from Kauai, Hawaii

great snorkeling right in front of our hotel

Posted May 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Love the place! The grounds were very nice. Inside, our room could have been updated, very 70's. Also, you have to check in at Destination resorts, which is no where near condo. Then they will give you a card key to get into gated community. If you have a lot of luggage there are Large wheel barrows to use. Our room faced the ocean and was beautiful. They have BBQ's to use with fresh potted herbs to use. Wonderful !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Connie from Seattle, WA, USA

Great condo for perfect family Maui vacation!

Posted Apr 25, 2013
Pros: Perfect Hawaii experience with lasting family memories.
Cons: The only thing I can think of is that the unit is advertised as having 2 twin beds in guest room and that is not the case.
Location: Perfect non-crowded sandy beaches! Beautiful ground floor 2 bed 2 bath unit. Gorgeous view.
I can't say enough about G101 at Makena Surf. Arrived on 4/16/2013 with son, daughter-in-law, sister, 18-mo old toddler and myself for a nine day visit. Nice master with king bed and in suite bath, plenty of room for full size crib. Guest bedroom had queen bed, and there was a pullout hide-a-bed in the office. Beautiful corner ocean front unit on ground floor. Full lenai overlooking little lava beach. Private gate to beach was just steps from the condo. Condo plenty big for all of us to spread out. New tile floors throughout, paint and kitchen cabinets as well as kitchen appliances. TVs in both bedrooms and big screen in family/living room. Nice sized dining room. A/C throughout. Unit fully equipped and we did not need to buy anything but food. Toddler did very well in unit. Housekeeping staff and manager Roxanne took good care of us. It was a perfect family vacation. Two pools were great as was jacuzzi. The beaches are amazing! Beautiful sand all the way out and snorkeling with the turtles was fun. Water warm. Great view of Molokini and all the snorkel boats come to snorkel. Saw two beach weddings on little beach--more on big beach. A lot of wildlife. great herb garden that you can use. Very relaxing family vacation. We would definitely like to come back. Thank you Makena Surf.