Ratings based on 570 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

nice hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The rooms are amazing. They are all suites which means a bedroom and a den which you can separate by a door .
Cons: It would be nice if we could get some food or drinks a the beach.
Location: Location is great. The fact that the shuttle will take you to the wailea shopping center is very convenient, it is close to Kihe as well.
Overall we enjoyed staying at this hotel for the second time. The rooms are very nice and spacious. they are very clean and well kept. The staff are very friendly and polite. The beach is very nice and good for families with kids . we saw turtles near by which was very exciting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Best Hotel in Maui

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Amazing amenities, staff and services are excellent. The location and the private beach are the best in Maui
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

pampered in paradise!

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Spent our first anniversary at The Fairmont for 10 glorious days. It was absolutely fabulous. We were treated like royalty! This is a beautiful facility with wonderful people working there! Plan to go back next year!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marikina, Ph

Terrific room, terrific beach, so-so service.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: spacious room, hotel feels Grand, terrific beach and availability of activities
Cons: more activities for families
Location: excellent selection of beach activities for the novice - snorkeling, boogie board, kayak, paddle board...this was the best part
Reception folks not as pleasant as I expected. Spacious, comfortable room. Terrific beach and availability of activities. Very nice staff at the beach. Very nice folks on hospitality team. Parking is too far and spaces too small. Facility is very nice but age is showing. Dining options are expensive. I expected more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2014 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your honest review. While we are pleased you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, we are very sorry for the level of service you received by our front desk. Our goal is to provide high quality, exceptional service in every area of the resort and an experience that our guests see value in. We are truly sorry if we fell short for you. Your feedback is important and will be shared. We certainly hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds, great views and wonderful staff

Posted Jul 4, 2014
My only complaint is the noise from room above. We can hear loud water noise from shower and bathroom. Woke us up one night. Also, you can hear every step. Other than that, suite was very spacious and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2014 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your review. While we’re pleased that you enjoyed the spaciousness of your suite, we would like to extend our deepest apology for any inconvenience the noise from the suite above caused. Thank you for your valuable feedback - please be assured that it will be shared with the team. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Warmest aloha.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dick from Calgary, AB

12 great days in Wailea, Maui, HI

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Adult only Pool (in addition to 2 others)... Poolside amenities -- Tanning lotion, Aloa Vera, towels -- a great beachfront... The Ciao Café ice cream
Cons: $150 a day for a poolside cabana? Who can afford that?
Location: Wailea Shops has some great restaurants (Longhi's, Tommy Bahama's).. at the Wailea gate. We loved the PITA Paradise, and the Monkey Pod.
This time we didn't want to stay at a Condo (usually we stay at the Palms of Wailea).... Instead, we decided to stay right on the beach. Fairmont Kea Lani was a superb hotel... the rooms are all suites and very large. Not cheap! Specially after having to pay an additional $30 (+tax) daily Resort Fee. There is something to be said for ALL-INCLUSIVES or staying at a condo and cooking.... Our Breakfasts were $34 per person for the Buffet and ordering anything less expensive didn't make sense as it cost more in the end once you add $6 for coffee, etc., etc. We tried a lot of the surrounding restaurants in Wailea and Kihei. Nick's at the hotel was great (of course quite expensive as you can imagine)... but eating in Maui in general is VERY EXPENSIVE. The beach and the pool areas at the Fairmont were fabulous. Our room got cleaned in the morning and we had turn-down service in the evening when they changed all our towels as well. The high-light of our trip was waking up early every morning and going for a long walk on the Oceanfront pathway, which meanders along all the hotels and oceanfront villas/condos and takes you all the way to Kihei (almost). The scenery was spectacular, the hotel properties/grounds along the path with manicured landscapes are really unique. A MUST to see. We had a car (Cheap! $15/day) and drove to Kapalui for Happy Hour at Merrymen's 3 to 5PM... excellent location and great food. Finished off our last day at the famous Mama's Fish House... near the airport
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ian from Vancouver, BC

Problems with conference guests

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: The separation between the children's pool area and the adult one.
Cons: Unfortunately the occasion of my family visit coincided with a number of business type conferences, some of which included unduly noisy members.
Location: The facilities on site covered our requirements for a week, other than we found the nearby Four Seasons a much quieter place to dine!.
The hotel staff were themselves excellent both in attitude and performance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Ian, and thank you for your review. While we are pleased that our staff's friendly service added to your stay, we’re very sorry to learn that your family’s vacation wasn’t entirely relaxing. Our resort welcomes a wide variety of guests to the hotel and we work hard to ensure that each guest has an outstanding visit. We’re very sorry that this wasn’t the case for you and have passed along your feedback to the leadership team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Mahalo and best wishes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jimmy

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Beautiful grounds, kids really enjoyed the long water slide. Hotel staff were friendly and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

best at wailea beach

Posted Jun 11, 2014
5 days - 5 nights. Very relaxed, large open property on almost private beach. Super snorkling and paddle boarding, great restaurants and bars, super staff. very nice!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from San Francisco

Fairmont staff excellent.

Posted May 17, 2014
Fairmont staff went above and beyond their duty and created an experience that will never be forgotten on my stay with them. The hotel was gorgeous, peaceful and definitely a true Maui experience that everyone need to experience once in their lifetime. The moment you are greeted by the hotel staff when you arrive and then when you walk into their spectacular lobby, you know you have arrived and no your vacation begins. The staff was very attentive without being overly aggressive or intrusive. With the beach directly located on the property, what more could you ask for. Definitely would recommend this hotel to anybody. Hotel rooms were very nice and facilities were top notch.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2014 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha David. We’re incredibly happy that your “true” Maui experience was spent with us and that you found the resort to be perfect. Most importantly, we are very proud to learn that our staff contributed to making your vacation so memorable. We will absolutely pass along your kind compliments to the team. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.