Ratings based on 693 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom J

Overall v nice stay

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pool/towel staff were rude at times and uninformed on eg booking cabanas. Checkin was slow and staff were not v helpful in keeping us updated - we had a sleepy 17 month old in tow so some clarity on room readiness would have helped. Overall though the restaurants are good, the pool area is very well kept and the room was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Nicely situated. Friendly staff. Beautiful facilty
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Laguna Niguel, California

Hotel on a nice beach near San Juan

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: 1) View from our room. 2) Pool is open 24 hours 3) Salsa and dancing at night on the weekend 4) Nice beach
Cons: Many things. See above. The shuttle bus is not the problem of the hotel and more a problem with Puerto Rico.
Location: This is a location for relaxing and drinking. The adjacent hotel is El San Juan and the nightlife is good. Metropol is a very good Cuban restaurant.
The hotel is nice. Below average among Intercontinental hotels 3.5 star to me). We had some minor issues with the drainage in the shower and the water valve. It took my contacting the manager to get this fixed. The manager Carlos was very good. The service was OK but for an Intercontinental was below average. I put the areas of concern/issues in this block since there is not enough space below Taxi fare is 21$ one way. Public bus is unreliable (1 hour wait). There should be a hotel shuttle. IF this does not work, the hotel should have a sign up sheet where guests can share a ride to help defray this cost. There are nice places to eat in Old San Juan but the 42$ taxi fare is high. The hotel Nickel and dimes. Charging extra for the nice chaise lounge chairs and for umbrellas on the beach. We already paid enough. Breakfast was mediocre but expensive at 27$ per person. Not worth it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Expensive but nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: The friendly staff
Cons: The prices on everything are ridiculous. We figured the common guest must be on business with an expense account.
Location: The hotel was 25-30 minutes from Old and New San Juan. The description of the hotel says San Juan but we were actually in Isla Verde.
The hotel was nice. The staff go out of their way to open doors and say hello or just tell you to have a great day. The rooms were clean. The Internet is free but very weak but for ANOTHER $19.99 a DAY you can get premium Internet. The elevators are not as slow as mentioned in previous comments. They were pretty fast during our stay. Parking is across a fairly busy street but most people stop and let you walk across. It is also $20 a day PLUS taxes that they forget to mention. We wanted authentic Puerto Rican food so we didn't eat at the restaurants but we did have drinks at the bar. A bottle of water was over $3 and a beer was $8. A Piña Colada in a small plastic cup was $13 plus taxes. Breakfast is $26 so we opted for a Starbucks at the hotel next door. We did not hear any loud music from the pool. My husband had a massage at the spa for $120 plus tip. He was not disappointed. We played ping pong and fooseball by the pool when there isn't a banquet going on. By 5:30 am people already have towels on the best pool chairs. We stayed 6 nights. There are some really outstanding restaurants within walking distance. El Alambique, La Playita, Platos......I would go back just for the food!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Silver Spring, MD

Ocean views rooms were awesome

Posted Apr 20, 2015
The hotel was definitely one of the nicer ones on the Isla Verde Strip. It was located right on the beach (which was clean) and the beach and pool staff were always welcoming and helpful. The pool facilities were nice and well maintained as well. If you stay here make sure that you get an ocean view room. They feature sliding doors with a mini balcony and a fabulous view of the Atlantic Ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, Mass

Beautiful hotel on the beach!

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: The hotel is beautifully decorated, modern, open, airy, and the rooms are very comfortable. The best part is that is right on the beach!
Cons: Rooms need bottle water, the price of it in the gift shop was astronomical; the hotel also needs to offer shuttle service to and from airport.
Location: Restaurants are great, casinos, live entertainment, beach… beach… beach!
I arrived at the Intercontinental hotel two days early before attending funeral services for a relative. It was the best decision I could ever make because I was able to rest while enjoying the best the tropic and Puerto Rico has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BVI

Posted Apr 13, 2015
We had a great stay at this hotel in P Rico perfect for a mother daughter get away!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester, CT

Great for families, rooms could be better

Posted Apr 10, 2015
The hotel location was perfect. Our family of 5 (3 kids, 10, 7, 5) loved the pool and the beach was so close you could go from one to the other in seconds. Across the street you can find fast food spots, if the kids want something quick. There are two walgreens mins away in either direction to pick up floats, sunscreen, and snacks. There is also a 24 hour supermarket behind the Chilis across the street that was great for fruit and yogurt for breakfast. As far as the hotel itself, the rooms were very dated. Normally this doesn't bother me but in one room the light switch didn't work. The lamps were temperamental. The shower handles were falling apart and the outlets to dry hair and iron couldn't hold the plugs in. In our kids room the balcony door was broken (which wasn't a bad thing considering we didn't want the kids out there on their own, but still). I found food crumbs under the sheets in one bed on our first night. I would normally complain about it but we arrived after midnight and I just wanted the kids in bed and switching rooms later seemed more of a hassle. The food in hotel was ok. The breakfast spot was pricey for a buffet that wasn't spectacular - $27pp $15 for kids. The cafe was pricey too but the food was ok. We never made it to Momoyama - heard lots of complaints from guests in hotel. We went to Metropol down the road which was really good and Basilias another Spanish resturant. Don't go to BBQ at ESJ next door - awful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom pennington, nj

Fun in the sun

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Based on our stay at the intercontinental San Juan Hotel pool Excellent, very pretty grounds, great food at both restaurant bars at the pool. Drinks were expensive. Beach Crowded with a lot of chairs/people but nice. Great banana boat rides for $20 each. Lobby / front Doormen excellent, lobby very nice and had that upscale feel. Rooms Nice but disappointing and tired bathrooms, poor ventilation and steamy also very tight/small. I expected a much nicer room from seeing the entrance n lobby areas. Area around hotel The strip by the hotels was fine but a short run out put me into a shady potentially unsafe area. Recommend highly staying near hotels and not venturing out on your own. Across the street Great place mi casita for breakfast at great prices. Also a little store to buy water n beer. Walgreens only 2 blocks down also. Overall Family of 4 and 18 total were in our group and we had an excellent time. Did zip lining and catamaran excursions, both were excellent. Italian restaurant at hotel Do yourself a favor and don't go. We had a party of 8 adults n we waited 2 hours before we walked out because they never brought out food. Avoid it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom miami fl

No consistency

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Some of the staff is fantastic and well educated, then others are rude and not on top of their responsibilities. At the Italian restaurant one night I asked for a salad that has Burrata ,heirloom tomatoes & palmitos, I got a Burrata and cherry tomatoes... Not the full description but nice, next day my sister ordered the same salad and she got mozzarella and again no palmitos. My husband asked for espresso ( twice) and got drip coffee every time and the waiter keep trying to convince us that was espresso.. One morning during breakfast with my six year old daughter her napking was dirty and the waiter ignored it by saying was the birds... The bathrooms in the pool area were dirty for more than 5 hours... Having to go in the room every time... There are many nice things at this hotel, however it needs a staff better trained, to be on top of cleanliness and to educate the restaurant staff of proper food service plus the menu descriptions of dishes should be honest. Overall I think it is a 4 star hotel with some improvement to do.