Ratings based on 1,386 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: The rooms are beautiful and spacious. The staff could not be more helpful.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: There are many great restaurants in the area and it's in walking distance most of the places I like to go while in Boston.
The Hotel Commonwealth never disappoints! It is my favorite hotel in Boston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Rochelle, NY

'New' Hotel in Kenmore Square

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Cons: The only downside to this hotel is that the parking fee for our car was $53 per night. Although this is a city, that was a bit steep.
Location: All of Boston is at your doorstep via foot, T or Uber.
We stayed in Hotel Commonwealth as we were visiting colleges. HC is convenient to BU, MIT and NorthEastern. The room was larger than I expected. In our queen room, there was enough space for 2 sofa chairs and a table with 2 chairs. It had a mini fridge and I called to request a Keurig which was brought up immediately. Our room had 'baseball' curtains and a great view of Fenway Park. Since it was February, there was no game and the neighborhood was quiet. We loved that in Kenmore Square, we could pick from McDonalds, DD, Brueggers and Starbucks for breakfast. We also loved that the "T" is right outside the door. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Overall great stay!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Everything. Rooms, service, location, people.
Cons: Parking rate was rather high, even for a city hotel.
Location: It was right next to Fenway Park…we took an hourlong tour there that I would definitely recommend. It was in walking distance to Boston Univ.
We stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth while we were in town visiting colleges. From the time we pulled up to the hotel, to the moment we checked out, everything was perfect. Chris took our bags to our room, hung up our coats, got us ice and was so friendly (he even gave my daughter a Hotel Commonwealth teddy bear when we checked out!). At the front desk, Greg took great care and a lot of time in order to make sure our stay was perfect in every way. He recommended wonderful restaurants (he even had a couple of appetizers sent to our table when we went to dinner the first night), gave us directions to all the different colleges, etc. He was extremely gracious and professional and a big part of the reason our stay was such a success. The rooms were beautiful, large and spotless. We will definitely be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Calif.

Beautiful Hotel-great location

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Location: Close to Fenway Park, BU and the Charles River. I loved the Barnes and Noble right across the street.
I thoroughly the hotel. The welcoming staff was exceptional and the rooms were quiet, clean spacious and well appointed. The service and quality of food in the Oyster Bar and The Hawthorne was great. A little less so in the Eastern Standard. The location was perfect. Easy walking to a lot of shops and restaurants. I expect that the price of a room goes up considerably during BB season but I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Great location and beautiful rooms
Cons: Could make sure to give guest coffe cups when giving requested kettle or coffee maker.
Nice rooms, pleasant staff. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice spot in the heart of Boston

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Spacious rooms, Eastern Standard and nice staff.
Location: Right in Kenmore Square and on the Green Line... you can walk or take the T to anywhere in the city from here. Super convenient location.
Had to extend a trip to Boston by an extra day and this was an awesome option for the night. Rooms that are large, modern and very clean are set in a smaller but elegant setting. Love the tie-ins with the city and the Red Sox!! An awesome restaurant like Eastern Standard on-site certainly doesn't hurt either!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Cons: More amenities in teh rooms, like a coffee maker, docking station and safe. many some minibar munchies, too. But fab hotel regardless
Fantastic Hotel in Boston. My new favorite. Great rooms, fantastic staff, awesome location, well priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Excellent location. Nice hotel with 2 delicious restaurants. Only complaint is for an executive suite to have a simple bathroom with a basic bathtub at such a high caliber hotel is sad. Takes an A+ down to a B-
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views of the city and Fenway Park.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Awesomeness!!! Will stay here again next time in Boston. Excellent staff. Excellent food nearby. Most amenities within walking distance or Uber anywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great city hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Just amazing. The view is to die for. The food at Eastern Standard is exceptional.