Ratings based on 683 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

One night stay prior to 6 Nations

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Cons: Signage from the road is confusing especially at night. There is another area called Coldra opposite the hotel and it's sign is much bigger.
This was a last minute stay prior to a 6 Nations match in Cardiff the following day, the hotel was busy but the staff checked us in and out efficiently, the following morning breakfast was buffet style and again although busy, we were shown to our table quickly and there was no queuing for the food. The only issue was that the English Breakfast tea bags ran out quickly and weren't replaced but there was Darjeeling so it wasn't a major problem. Room was roomy and clean and everything worked. Will definitely use again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Diana

Happy customers

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect overnight stay Excellent breakfast comfortable bed Very quiet Will be back
5 out of 5
by jeremy

upgraded to sister hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
excellent
2 out of 5
by Mr Gavin N

Definitely one to avoid

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
Amazed they put the Celtic Manor brand on this - a very dissillusioning experience. I should have realised when an upsell to a refurbished room was proposed at Reception that my "Deluxe" room might not meet that description. The whole wing that I was in was very tired and in need of refurbishment and urgent redecoration. Large windows overlooked another wing, so to get privacy the curtains had to be closed, but the lighting could not cope with this. Wifi connection was eventually obtained for my phone (involved inputting a very lengthy random key by hand because not formatted / transmitted properly by hotel's SMS message), and trying to connect a second device just destroyed any hope of email or internet access for the rest of my stay. Interesting that problems with internet access were answered by the hotel only over internet access - the promised human support never materialised. Additional charge for parking, yet both security barriers were open when I returned at night, and were still open next morning, so little security there. Bed was OK, but lots of traffic noise from nearby M4, all through the night. Peculiar effect in bathroom, shower was fine yet basin hot tap peaked at something far short of tepid, so shaving was not a happy experience. Breakfast was pretty good, but it would have been nice to have been offered, and served, coffee while I ate. All-in-all, a booking I regret having made.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comoftable and friendly hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
There was major redecoration going on and this led to a very strong paint smell in my room. They were excellent though and relocated me without second thought to a comparable room in another part of the building.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant helpful staff and good value
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Refurb will improve the place. Don't get a room next to the motorway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pembrokeshire

Convenient for M4/J24 for Newport

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Leisure Centre, Good sized rooms
Cons: General refurbishment is required and has commenced. Quality of the hot breakkfast
Location: M4/J24 - convenient for Newport and Tredegar House
This Hotel was taken over by Celtic Manor from Hilton Hotels several months ago. Major refurbishments are in progress. Our Room was fine and overall good value for money, meeting the normal Hilton standards. I declined the upgrade to "experience Celtic Manor" standards. The Leisure Centre was unchanged except for the name - now "Springs". The cold breakfast buffet was fine but the hot food was cold at 9.45 - last orders 10am. I asked for it to be microwaved and I noticed that a couple of other people did too. We were disappointed by this and if the Celtic Manor's standards are to be satisfied this will need to change. I did mention this at the desk at check out. The Manager was otherwise occupied with the Fire Brigade who were testing the alarms! Not recommended at present - time will tell when the refurbishments are complete and the new room rates have been established
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eagerly anticipating upgrade

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very worn carpets. Very dated.