Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OK

Very overpriced

Posted Sep 18, 2016
We were passing through NM and, as other reviewers have mentioned, there are very few hotels within hours of this area. Considering this had an indoor pool for the kids and we were only staying one night, I didn't think it would be too bad. It wasn't the worst hotel I've ever stayed at overall, but it was the worst one I have ever stayed at and paid so much. First, the entire building is outdated and the breakfast area is the smallest I have ever seen. Then when we actually got to our room, it smelled musty and the bathroom was dirty(like, "stuff" on the toilet dirty). The beds were tolerable. The pool area was rundown but clean enough. The breakfast was pretty much the bare minimum they could serve and call it a breakfast: biscuits, gravy, a few muffins, two different kids of cereal, boiled eggs in the refrigerator, bread for toast. Usually for a cheap overnight stay, this wouldn't bother me at all. Overall, I would probably avoid this area altogether unless you're getting a great deal on the hotel. It seems the businesses(including restaurants) have figured out that they can charge a premium for subpar services since they are one of the bigger towns in an area that is frequented by travelers.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jemez Springs, NM

Pleasant motel

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: The friendly reception and the cheerful manager.
Location: The drive out to Clayton Lake State Park is scenic.
The motel is situated near the railroad tracks, and long night trains come through Clayton, but every motel in Clayton is in a similar situation. The breakfast offerings are good, and the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

Great stop on drive to Colorado/Texas

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Comfortable, clean and service was great.
Location: 3 model dinosaurs across the main road there; Capulin Volcano National Monument about 45 minutes away- really great for kids into volcanoes/rocks, etc
We stayed here with our 3 young children and were very happy. This will definitely be a regular stopping point on our way to/from Texas & Colorado. Beds are comfortable, cribs were provided for our twins, and the room was spacious. There is even fun little model dinosaurs across the street for the little ones to enjoy. Breakfast was good and overall service was great. We had a lot of questions/requests (cribs, breakfast time, what time the local market was open until, etc) and the lady at the front desk was so helpful! This is off the main road and we had a front room but did not hear any noise, possibly due to the A/C but I'm usually a light sleeper and it was fine. Definitely will stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Noisy room, foot stomping above us. HAd to call hotel staff, did not resolve. Bad breakfast and coffee.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Room was clean & comfortable. Price was a little high.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Jul 29, 2016
The electricity went out and i feel i deserve a refund on at least one of the rooms. Thank you
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfy

Posted Jun 27, 2016
This was our second time to stay at this location. Very nice staff, clean rooms, decent breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Convenient to highway

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff
Location: Right on highway
Nice no frill hotel for us as we passes through on our way to Colorado.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

When you're in the middle of nowhere....

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Meh. Nothing.
Cons: A friendly person at the counter. The owners were very solemn and unwelcoming.
Location: This is a town that travelers might need to stay in while trekking from Texas, Kansas, Colorado, etc. Not a destination.
My main gripe about this 2-star hotel is they are charging a 3-star price. Why? Because when you're in the middle of nowhere and have very little choice, they gotcha. My husband commented that everything, from the towels and room amenities to the breakfast bar, was just barely enough to be able to boast "we serve breakfast" or "we put microscopic soaps and towels in your bathroom." In comparison to the Drury Inn that we stayed at during this same road trip - there was NO comparison between the two, although the room rates were almost equal. Either the Drury is very, very good at what they do (by spending some money on their lobby, rooms, furniture, towels, in-shower soap dispensers, omelette bar and grand breakfast) or these people are taking advantage of the traveling public. Yes, I feel very taken advantage of. Loved the little dusty binky stuck under the air conditioning unit that no cleaning person found or disposed of. And finally, they required me to complete a hand written check-in card with my personal information. What is this? The 1980's? All that information is on my Expedia electronic reservation. The only thing they might need is my car, and some hotels don't even bother with that anymore. I'm waiting to see if they sell it to marketers. Very austere, could use a facelift for sure. It is obvious to me that they are skimming as much profit as they can from this place, and not putting anything back into the facilities or amenities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2016
It's an ok hotel. Fine for a stop over on a long drive.