Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
35% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines

had what I asked for

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Location: Garmin led us right to it. I was there to see relatives so didn't do any thing else
Had the handicapped shower I asked for which was roll in. Comfortable bed. Friendly and helpful staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good food next door

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: not much
Cons: The yogart was so old it looked more like a lab specimen.
Location: The only thing good about the place was location
Dirty!!! They didn't even make an effort to clean room the third day. I asked for some kind of payment for this. They said they couldn't do anything about it and I should take that up with expedia.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Technology upgrades needed

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
Need to up grade internet and remote for tv. Internet access was slower then dial up. Had to manually turn tv on and off and adjust volume. Hotel staff went out of there way to help with anything we asked about or needed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good CS but awful hotel!

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
The customer service was absolutely great. The lady who checked us in was incredibly nice and friendly. However, the room was definitely not up to par. The shower had a spider and web in it, couches had stains all over them, the sheets were stained and had cigarette burns, the "non smoking" room we requested as we have a 10 month old son reeked of smoke, there were dead bugs all around the jacuzzi tub, the mini fridge and microwave were dirty, and toilet did not flush properly. We decided to stay because we'd be spending most of the day out in Ankeny rather than the room. If you're looking for something clean and comfy then DONT stay here. If you need something mildly cheap and don't care about conditions then this will do the job.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Last minute business travel. Stayed 5 nights.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, except for Kenny. She cared more about her rating than actually managing the property well and do right by her guest. Good location.
Cons: Dirty, poor housekeeping/lack of supervision. Confrontation. Dated, and overall feeling of yuck. No elevator. Linens don't smell or feel clean. Stains
Location: Convenient freeway access. Plenty of shops, businesses, and restaurants nearby, many within walking distance. Room was quiet despite busy road.
Late check in and room given was not done. No elevator, so had to haul bags back down to lobby. Nice front desk found a new room but had to wait a long time. New room looked ok but found dirty towels behind door. Dirty floor with human hair/dust behind door/under sink, toilet was moldy and brown inside rim. Carpet not vacuumed. Bed was made but linen did not smell or feel fresh. Too exhausted and hungry after a long drive. Next day manager confronted me about negative rating against cleanliness. "Kenny" asked me to change my rating, but she did not do anything to make the room better. Told her about the broken door. She said to have maintenance look at it. Nothing got fixed. Had to move valuables out of the room daily in fear of house keeping not latching the door. No safe, no coffee maker. Kenny came up with all kinds of excuse and blamed her staff for being incompetent. Guest just want a safe and clean place to stay, so simple. It appears that housekeeping need to really step up and management need to monitor and check their work. Confronting your guest makes things hostile and awkward. Stop blaming your employees, as a manager, you're responsible for their performance. Do your job! It doesn't matter how nice or pleasant of a smile, it doesn't make up for dirty rooms and general feeling of yuck and lack of safety. Excuses and throwing you staff "under the bus" demonstrates poor leadership, as well doesn't resolve or make guest feel better about a dirty property
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, but ...

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Orbitz
The worst part of the stay was the smell. The hallway leading to our room had a musty smell. When we opened the door to our room, the musty smell was overwhelming. Left the hotel with all of our clothes needing a good wash due to the odor. If you have mildew allergies, you might want to try a different hotel. The room was clean, but housekeeping left a lot to be desired in that they did nothing more than make the bed and empty the trash.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
we had to cut short our stay and the front desk staff and Najeeb were Outstanding in accommadinting our needs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice, clean and comfortable! Friendly staff, the night check-in guy was very nice and helpful. (Sorry, I don't have his name in front of me).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Our room was a smoking room but when you opened the door you are over taken by the smell of smoke like the room never gets aired out at all. The outside could use some maintenance and up keep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
1st room #123 was very moldy. We let air conditioner run for several hours and still too moldy smelling for us to stay in that room. Hotel manager moved us to Room #122 which was much better.