Ratings based on 866 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inconvenient parking at Waverley Street Station

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Scotsman is in the city centre but the parking is nearby necessitating a lot of driving around the one way system and walking in the cold and dark to get back into the hotel as the check in is on the 4th floor .The way back in is not so clear as there is a lot of scaffolding nearby. Not what you want after a three our drive in the snow. The hotel is quite noisy as it is on the street but the staff in the bar was friendly and let me buy a drink although they closed at 11.00pm . The WiFi was not working. Overall its probably okay for tourists but not practical for a business trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Perfect stay

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Everything was perfect from the location to the staff (concierge, Paddy, in particular) to the comfort of the room. We were on our honeymoon and were immediately greeted with champagne and chocolates. We had breakfast every morning in the brasserie, which was delicious, and the high tea was the best we've ever had. They have an outstanding gluten free menu available at every meal, and it is just as delicious as the standard menu. We loved everything about the hotel and recommend it to anyone and everyone. Doubt we'll ever stay anywhere else in Edinburgh but The Scotsman again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Character Hotel in the Heart of the City.

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Warm and welcoming staff with a hotel of character. Wooden panels in rooms and public spaces , marble floors but with all modern amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

convenient for all

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: well situated for things I wanted to do
Cons: Terrible smell of drains in the hotel - not there the next day thank goodness
Location: Royal Mile, Scottish parliament and Princes Street all close by
Comfortable and great value stay on the Band B offer
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, odd structure

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Great location, directly above the train station. And within walking distance to major city attractions. Our room was large, but amazingly ugly with conflicting design elements. View of roof of station. The hotel is also a maze of endless, unattractive hallways & staircases. It was very easy to lose your bearings. There were truly unpleasant smells in some elevators & staircases, like the building was rotting away. Kudos to the staff who were unfailingly polite and helpful. The spa was beautiful & large, even if getting to it required staff help each time. Oh, & the bar closed at 10pm!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect location - simply the best staff.

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Great staff, friendly professional and helpful. Awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location great service and friendly staff.

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Friendliness and cozy atmosphere.
Cons: Nothing could be improved.
Location: Location was perfect easy access to both the old and new town.
Did everything to help us and make our stay enjoyable. Restaurant was fabulous. Gave us excellent advice. Asked about our day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from east midland UK

Quirky hotel, great position, excellent facilities

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: The spa, the staff and the position make it a winner
Cons: Directions to the spa! The hotel is an unusual design - it's lovely - but I did manage to get lost as couple of times
Location: Brilliant location - just off royal mile, near the castle, round the corner to Pronces street and the gardens and all the shopping. Great transport
Stayed here four nights, unusual hotel, in a great position and also the spa is fabulous. Nice staff and room was spacious and comfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from val d'isere

Questionnement sur tous ces avis ditirembiques!!!!

Posted Dec 10, 2015
Pros: Points positifs, les 3 messieurs de la conciergerie et surtout m. agacem. Parfait La reception avec la cheminée. La position dans la vieille ville.
Cons: le personnel doit parler plus lentement. meme si on parle l'anglais, l'accent écossais! Propreté, moquette Chambre couloir
Location: Vieille ville a 50 m du Royal mille qui va d'un chateau a l'autre (hollyrood), cathedrale St Giles, les pubs, faire le "whisky experience", gold
J'avais choisi une chambre par rapport aux photos de l'hotel helas la 601 ne ressemblait en rien. Decors et autres. Fuite salle de bains. 3 miserables produit d'accueil, tv ne fonctionnant pas etc.... Dans le couloir 2verres posés et sales resteront la, plus de 24 h, accompagné a l'autre angle d'une serviette invitée sale et d'un tube de dentifrice. Avec les problemes de la chambre, on nous deplace à la 901, soit disant une suite car il y a une table avec 4 chaises en plus. Encore rien a voir avec les photos sur le site et la brochure. Taches sur la moquette d'un autre age, trous, pied de lit manquant au pied du lit gauche. Lavabo devant la fenetre donc petit miroir grossissant 20cm de diametre pour se voir, et pour secher les cheveux petit miroir sur le bureau..... Bref
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west midlands

Central location

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Definitely not a 5 star, see it as a 3 star with superb location.