Ratings based on 724 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Great location. Very quaint but somewhat dated.

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: We didn't get the kind of room we had booked and we felt cheated. They give you a different 14-character user name for every device!
Location: Edinburgh's Waverly (main) train station is literally adjacent to the hotel.
This is a large stone building at the very center of Edinburgh, two steps from the train station and from the bus to the airport. The location is very strategic, although the crowded streets seem to reach into the rooms. The windows are single-glazed and we could hear street singers through the night, even though our room was on the 5th floor and on the back of the building. You will like the hotel if you a fan of things British and want to have a taste of how Queen Elizabeth must live. It's old Old Britannia: quaint, cheaply framed engravings on the walls and some disdain for modern comforts. We had booked a king-size bed but our bed was narrower than a queen-size! Only one elevator, awkward hallways and excruciatingly slow internet (unless you pay a fortune to upgrade to "business service"). The carpet in the room was sticky and we just couldn't walk barefoot! You may want to stay there if location is paramount to you, e.g. if you have a very early or very late train or flight.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sebastopol. CA

mixed bag

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Good location, friendly staff, food service ok. Terrible wifi connection system when it worked. Housekeeping inconsistent. Some towels missing one day, late in the day servicing another, evening turn down service showed up one day and not the others and toilette tank took ages in refilling after flushing. Hotel needs general tightening up on service consistency
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

A fab experience

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Jacuzzi a bit small but now I am being extremely picky
Location: We where within walking distance of all the sites. With access to transport if we needed it. Great !!
I can only praise this hotel. A beautiful room. Lovely facilities. We will be back next year. The staff couldn't do enough and worth every penny!! I had the best sleep in months. Loved the quilts it was like sleeping on a cloud !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jonathan from Woking, Surrey. UK

The Scotsman, definitely worthy of its 5* rating

Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
A few days away for my girlfriend's birthday, it was a lovely few days and the time we spent in the hotel was lovely. Great pool and steam room/sauna, lovely bar and staff, room quality was great too. No complaints on any level.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Well placed

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Very comfortable and well positioned for Royal Mile and Parliament
Cons: Brasserie a bit cold and cheerless
Location: Good for touristy things and nearby excellent restaurants
Great hotel, courteous staff and lovely rooms make this a great place to stay. Sadly it's usually too expensive. Brasserie ok but nothing special
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Rugby weekend

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Location. the breakfast was also very good.
Fantastic location - very close to Prince's Street and even closer to the Royal Mile. Went for a rugby weekend and the hotel is close to bars and restaurants. The hotel staff were OK but didn't go out of their way. The room was comfortable, however, extremely warm - even with the radiators turned off and the noise from the pipes in the bathroom was quite loud.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Too quirky for its own good. Disappointed

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: View, near rail link
Cons: Ensure things work like the room keys, TV, heating can be turned off, taps don't trip. Improve lift speed and speed of help when requested
Location: Near National Art Gallery and City Gallery. Handy for Princess St shopping and St James Mall. High St and Royal Mile just a 5 min walk away
On the plus side, the hotel is right by the rear entrance of the Waverley station and has a rear door and lift access to reception. We were able to check in, and on departure, leave bags securely. Whilst the room was pleasant, we had requested a King Size bed and only got a double - not great for guests at 185cm tall. We baked - we turned off all the heating we could see, opened the window - concierge had to do this. Never the less, we sweated all night. Huge problems with the TV - not connected for a start, then it went off mid programme as if on an eco-timer. The tray that houses refreshments pops up from under a cupboard, but then you cannot get past it to a wardrobe and it is really stiff to release again. Wardrobes tiny and stuffed with guest dressing downs. Toilet seat narrow and a phone has been badly placed on the side wall so in jeopardy of being knocked off. Taps dripped and toilet basin ran, causing irritating noises. Staff were generally friendly but rarely announced themselves on the phone and it took ages for them to arrive and resolve a problem. Too many things just weren't right and we did not get that relaxing break we had treated ourselves to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gunilla from Växjö

Hemtrevligt och genuint hotell

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels
Med perfekt läge mellan Old town och New town var the Scotsman en utmärkt utgångspunkt för oss för att hinna med mycket på en helg. Mycket av historiska platser och restauranger ligger runt hörnet eller en kort promenad bort. Intedningen känns mysig och personlig och passar bra i den vackra gsmla byggnaden som tidigare varit tidningskontor. Frukosten var bra och erbjöd både varmt och kallt och man kunde beställa från meny. Tillgång till spa och gym är ett plus. Ett riktigt bra hotell som vi gärna återvänder till.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

City Break

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Location and comfort
Location: Asolutely ideal location for exploring Edinburgh
The location of the hotel is ideal for exploring Edinburgh by foot. The executive room was very comfortable and quiet. The staff were pleasant and helpful throughout our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carol from Larbert

It's just perfect!

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent in all aspects.