Ratings based on 977 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape May, NJ USA

Excellent accommodations

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: We enjoyed its old-world charm and its location..
Location: Situated just a half-block off The Royal Mile, it is centrally located. Things to do? Edinburgh Castle/ Heritage Festival / Fringe!! Phew!
We found the staff to be gracious and accommodating. The concierge was extremely helpful. He directed us to a wonderful hidden-away restaurant in the midst of the Fringe. Our room was immaculate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Historic hotel in great location

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Location, price (for a 5-star hotel).
Cons: Needs painting and new carpeting in spots.
Location: Location central to numerous attractions. Very close to the Royal Mile.
Hotel has a great location and service was excellent. Could use a paint job to refresh, and perhaps new carpeting in some spots, but overall, staying there was a great experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

love this old hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2016
We have stayed at the Scotsman on 2 different occasions. Both times it has been wonderful. The staff is extremely helpful and accomodating. The location is in the heart of Edinburgh and the style is so traditional and elegant. It is the former home of the Scotsman newspaper and is full of Scottish history and ambiance. Many lovely appointments.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Tx

Great hotel near the Royal Mile

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Excellent hotel, staff very friendly, respectful, and eager to help. Parking a bit awkward at Waverly Station with short walk to hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Very good heritage hotel close to main station.

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: We liked the location, the staff and the restaurant. They have a very good fitness centre.
Cons: Our room was very hot and it was still hot even after the window had been left open. In fact, the whole hotel was quite hot, even with no heating.
Location: Right next to the station. The Royal Mile is nearby, Princes Street is a few minutes away.
The Scotsman is well placed for sightseeing and right next to Edinburgh Waverly station. The hotel is in a 100 year old heritage building which was renovated about 15 years ago. It retains its very nice heritage features but has all modern conveniences.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great room for the 1980s

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Staff, location, furniture.
Cons: Most importantly, either provide Internet or stop claiming to. Also the rooms could be cooler.
Location: Right next to the train station and half a block from the Royal Mile - excellent location!
The furniture was fine, and the location and staff were excellent. Two complaints: the first is minor and it's that there's no air conditioning. During July that was fairly uncomfortable and opening the windows did not help much. The staff had offered to bring a fan which might have helped. My main complaint is that their wifi is so weak and inconsistent that they shouldn't advertise Internet access at all. I am a very low-end user - no streaming, no animated apps, just email, Twitter, and Facebook, and I could not get online long enough to access those. I don't expect a high-speed connection, but this was just unbearable. I certainly could not have filled out this evaluation while using their network.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
The room in this hotel was unbearably hot. We tried to open a window and the curtain rail snapped. Reception said it would be fixed while we were out. Came back to the room around midnight to find the curtain folded on a chair but the rail unfixed. Phoned reception to be told we were being given another room. Who wants to move rooms at midnight! Can't fault the cleanliness of the hotel or the location as it's very central. However paying what you do to stay there I would have thought there would have been someone there to see to small maintenance issues..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Incredibly disappointing, 5 star rating outrageous

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Location Concierges
Cons: Almost everything, as highlighted above
Location: All of the attractions of the Old Town and New Town of Edinburgh are nearby. Also v close to Waverly train station.
Difficult to know where to start. This could only be a 2 star hotel with only the location being of any value. Poor welcome at reception, broken lift, dead public areas, fusty smells in corridors and bedroom, no air conditioning, hopeless WiFi, hidden charges at breakfast, poor choice of basics at breakfast such as cereals, flies on a breakfast buffet located by a permanently open front door, almost no fresh fruit at breakfast, worn carpets and decor in bedroom and public areas, small bathroom, bedroom windows that are challenging to open (if at all), chaotic approach to organising breakfast seating and tables - never enough of basics like butter and milk on tables, queues for tables for a party of 3 guests when there are at least 6 tables free for twosomes. The only pluses are the location and the generally very helpful concierges at the front door. It is obviously important to keep a perspective on life, but in terms of a hotel stay this was the longest unsatisfactory stay that I have ever experienced. The grading by the Scottish Tourist Board is seriously misleading and has to be reviewed - it does no service to better hotels that have a lower grading and is unfair to travellers organising holidays. I now understand that the Hotel is going into administration - in those circumstances I am therefore v sorry for the staff - particularly since many of the issues highlighted above can only really be addressed by the owners of this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Lobby was a bit small, but hotel location is ideal - close to the Royal Mile.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lafayette, California

Excellent location close to midpoint of Royal mile

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: Vintage atmosphere. Room very nice. Great location.
Cons: Check in staff nice, but could have been more helpful. WiFi very slow. Downstairs entry buzzer not responding.
Location: Just steps off midpoint of Royal Mile, plus close to Airlink bus to airport, train terminal, tour bus pickup point, on bridge to Newtown. Very central
Great location to walk to many of Edinburghs' attractions in an atmospheric hotel that makes you feel like you are certainly in Scotland.