Ratings based on 1,107 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hove East Sussex England

Not what it once was

Posted Mar 21, 2017
We came back this this hotel having stayed five years ago and loved it then. However this time, one week before we were due to checkin, I was sent a generic email stating that the brassiere and spa were no longer available as the hotel had changed to new ownership. I was very disappointed as this was one of the reasons for our returning to this hotel and at the time of booking, I had paid a premium for these services as you would expect for what was then a five star hotel,( since been downgraded to four stars). I returned an email stating my concerns but to response. When checking in we were told that these services were no longer available and we could always go to another hotel to use their facilities but would have to pay! No offer or any compensation of course, just a card from receiption offering 20% discount off a meal somewhere. Room was lovely spacious and clean but sadly the Scotsman has lost its charm so won't be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Nervous going in, loved it going out.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: room furtniture
Location: it's in the dead center of the city. You have everything in walking distance.
The day before checkin I got an email saying the hotel has been sold, there is no gym, spa or a lot of the bonuses which helped me choose them over the Glass House. I can't tell you how happy I was that I stayed with the Scotsman instead. The staff is the best you will find anywhere. They are on top of everything, managed to remain professional and since keys were not working, get everyone to their rooms with private escorts with no waits. The scones in the restaurant are ridiculously good and they can help with almost anything and everything. It started with Nick who welcomed me in the lobby to the wonderful bellmen who saw I was calling an uber and asked if they could try finding me a better rate. The rooms are outdated, but that is because it's a historic hotel. You go for the ambiance, setting and aside from old furniture (which I preferred for this specific hotel), it is 100% worth staying at. I will be back and will always recommend it. I actually just did to a couple of friends who are going to Edinburgh.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not five star in any way

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Good location. Friendly porters.
Cons: Most things but we don't think they will be - apparently it is under new management and they intend to change it from a 5 star hotel to a lower level.
Reception staff not very friendly. Did not tell us anything about the leisure facilities being closed (it seems for good) - we found it out via a note in our room. There was vagueness as to whether we could use another hotel's gym. The wifi was very patchy. The room lighting was poor and so it was hard to read in most areas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ayrshire

Perfect for exploring

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: The building has real charm and an excellent location
Cons: Carpets in communal areas need updating and some rooms...ours anyway, in need of a refresh, marks on seating, carpets and paintwork require attention
Location: Good location handy for restaurants and attractions
Good stay, hotel has good access to the station and within walking distance to most of the the attractions of Edinburgh. As the hotel went into liquidation last year it is obviously showing signs of being run down and in need of care in some areas. We ordered breakfast from the a la carte menu on our first morning which was to say the least disappointing..... Wouldn't have said it lives up to its 5* rating at present.........
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Shame about the welcome and departure

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Barry
Reception team were very unwelcoming. Brusque bordering on rude and very surly. Who do they think they are with a superior attitude - what a disappointment. On the other had the concierge team could not have been more professional, welcoming and thoroughly helpful and charming - particularly Barry. Reception team also terrible on departure, same thing just unpleasant and bordering on rude. They should not be customer facing. If you own this hotel you might want to consider further training on how to treat your guests on arrival and departure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Good value in Excellent Location

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Location, value, styling
Location: Very close to the train station and the Edinbourgh Castle - excellent location!
Family vacation (side trip from London) for 2 days with 2 17 yo (my son and his friend). Fantastic location (esp if you are arriving by train as we did). Very nice accommodations in "old European style". Did not eat there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: maintenance on room - ie some paint
Location: nearby everything in the old town
Couldn't find the reception on arrival but once located the staff were excellent. Room was excellent, but a bit tired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Beautiful hotel, staff couldn't do enough for you.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Perfect location for shopping, royal mile, castle and transport links. Great people and lots of restaurants cafés and bars in walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Comfortable hotel combining 5 star luxury with Scottish tradition and welcome. Ideally situated for the Royal Mile and Princes Street. Despite being next to the main train lines into Edinburgh, the comfortable bed and sound proofing ensured a good night's sleep. Thoroughly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel in central location

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Cozy rooms, room service quick and efficient. Water supplied with turn down service.
Cons: A little chilly in the rooms overnight.
Location: Very close to Waverley train station with its own entrance at street level with lift to the reception across the road from the station.
Short break in Edinburgh. Hotel is just off the Royal Mile and felt like a short walk to most places. Spa and Health club is open to members as well as hotel guests, so was busy when we went for massages in the afternoon. Spa is lovely and relaxing, great relaxation room.