Ratings based on 1,039 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton

a beautiful building in a fantastic location.

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: The interior , the location and the comfortable room . Also the option of the SPA facilitates was great after a long day of sight-seen. !
Location: Location is great for a weekend in the city. Royal Mile, Calton Hill, Holyrood, museums- the Castle . Recommend the Gurkha/ Nepalese restaurant-
The hotel is the old Scotsman newspaper location, Amazing interior with pictures of the old print works on the walls . The Scotsman is a great location for exploring Edinburgh - the buffet Breakfast is excellent - fresh and lots to eat. The staff are extremely polite and helpful and proud of the hotels history.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Castroville CA USA

Best Hotel in Edinburgh

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Our staying was magnificent, beautiful hotel, great restaurant and in the heart of the city, literally across the street from Waverly Station and a block away from The Royal Mile, I would recommend The Scotsman to anybody staying in Edinburgh, thank you John
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wien

keine 5 Sterne

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: leider nichts
Cons: viel
Location: Zentrum
aus dem Scotsman hätte man ein schönes Hotel machen können. Die Idee eine alte Druckerei in ein Hotel umzubauen ist an sich nicht schlecht. Leider kommt das Personal den Gästen mit ziemlichen Desinteresse entgegen. Es beginnt beim Empfang, den Koffer muss man selbst zum Zimmer tragen bzw. es auch selbst finden. Im ganzen Hotel riecht es auch immer nach Essen, was ich als sehr störend empfunden hatte. Der Frühstücksraum ist sehr unpersönlich, das Buffet ist lieblos, man muss das Personal öfters ersuchen fehlende Speisen zu bringen. In unserer Roomrate war das Frühstück inkludiert. Freunde von uns hatten Zimmer ohne Frühstück, nach dem ersten Frühstück im Hotel hatten sie es vorgezogen in einem Cafe ums Eck zu frühstücken. Zimmer sind ruhig und sauber, die Betten sehr gut nur viel zu schmal Der Pool ist sehr angenehm, das Fitnesscenter mit nicht mehr zeitgemäß ausgestattet. Die Lage ist optimal.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, warm atmosphere.

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Great location, excellent facilities, excellent breakfast, rooms very spacious and comfortable
Cons: Description said panoramic views - level 2 has no view.
Location: Located just off the Royal Mile so great for Old Town and Castle.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Friendly staff; great location

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly and prompt in responding to requests. The concierge desk was very knowledgeable and offered good suggestions!!
Cons: Amenities and decoration are tired and need a good upgrade.
Location: Great location....walk to Royal Miles in less than 3 mins and walk to Princes Street in less than 5 mins. Hotel is next to the central train station.
The infrastructure of the hotel is old, decoration and facilities are tired e.g. the room was very warm but there is no temperature adjustment in the room, instead we were told to open the window or use the electric fan that was stored in the closet. However the hotel does have its charm and the convenience of the location is an advantage. I had stayed twice in the hotel before and we stay again at my next visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Weekend away in Edingburgh

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: Great location for both old and new town
Room was quiet, bed was lovely and comfortable. We had a sauna in the bathroom.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Great location

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Location excellent.
Cons: Elevators small
Location: Royal Mile 50 yards away.
Great location. Staff very polite. Room size very spacious.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from metz

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: L'hotel est a la frontière de la vieille et nouvelle ville. En 3 jours nous n'avons pas eu le temps de mettre les pieds dans la nouvelle ville.
style début 20° siècle. Très accueillant. Hotel très calme bien qu'il se trouve a coté de la seconde plus grande gare du royaume uni. Vue splendide.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Great hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Cons: The bed was the smallest double I have ever slept in.
Friendly staff, nice decor, great food, perfect location for exploring the city. Only complaint was the size of the bed, which was far too small for my partner and I.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Luton

Perfect location

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: The style, the decor, the luxury, the service and the welcoming feel.
Cons: A magnifying mirror in the bathroom please!
Location: Very close to Waverley Station, Princes Street for shopping and the old town for a visit to the Royal Mile and The Castle.
We stayed only one night but we wished we could have stayed longer! Excellent service, beautiful bedroom with a marble ensuite bathroom. The room was very quiet despite the hotel is on the North bridge and the traffic is constant. It is the perfect location for a walk to Princes Street for shopping, to catch a train at Waverley Station or to start your tour of the old town. The spa facilities are also superb and the restaurant-breakfast room is breathtakingly beautiful. The service fast and excellent, the food exquisite. I definitely recommend it to anybody who wants to experience luxury and beauty. I will definitely go back.