Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westcoast

Beachside vacation

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Pros: The Royal palm Grill restaurant is great! Even if you stay somewhere else, I highly recommend the restaurant, chef is fantastic! Best sushi anywhere!
Cons: Customer service, front desk, stop the misleading advertising. BTW, 1 ice machine in the entire property and don't forget your 25 cents!
Location: The location is good - lots to do in Destin.
Late arrival on a Friday night in January, expected no problem since property advertises 24 hour lobby desk. Wrong. Arrived around 11:30pm to find the lobby locked. There was a hotline phone to security guard. Security guard tried to help but did not have access to our late arrival info. She tried calling the "on-call" person but no answer. Finally after about an hour of this, a person was located who wouldn't give us access until we paid a $90 cleaning fee (even though our hotel was prepaid for 5 nights). Finally we were given a code to lock box, entered the room and were amazed to find it was a tiny box with a king size bed - my wife and I could not move around. When viewed on line on expedia, the rooms appeared to be spacious. They call this tiny room a "studio suite" - I think because they were able to cleverly install an angled sink and mini-fridge into the narrow entry way. Bathroom also tiny, open the mini-closet and a broom and mop fell on us, with pillows & extra blanket, no room to hang anything. Oh and the toilet was broken and closet door was off track. Next morning expressed our disappointment, was told even though there were larger multi-room units available and we were willing to pay for upgrade, they couldn't help us since we booked through expedia. Called expedia, expedia tried to help but front desk told expedia that they couldn't do anything. Very frustrating and a total lack of customer orientation. Plenty of better alternatives - stay somewhere else!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kristin

Disappointed

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
There were extra charges "fine print" when I checked in. Strike one. With every shower we took, the water went from burning hot to cold back and forth the entire time. It was miserable. Strike 2 My fiancé went to find some more towels and was informed that service was not offered, we would have to do laundry. Strike 3 I understand that the resort is condos. However, when booking the room I had no indication that it was a private condo and not a hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
They didn't give me much towels and I never saw a roomservce since I was there.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only OK to stay in as a last minute option

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Bathrooms were not clean. The kitchen dishes and utensils were dirty and every piece had to be hand washed. Carpets were filthy and we did not dare to walk barefoot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southern pines, nc

Dont waste your money here

Posted May 26, 2015
Expedia fails to mention that when you check in there is a $114 cleaning fee. No one comes to clean the room while you are there. There are explicit instructions to wash your own dishes (in your bathroom sink), take out your trash, and not change the thermostat ir more charges will be incurred. When you run out of toilet paper you have to go out and buy more. The front desk staff was rude about the cleaning fee. Security was rude when we asked if there was anything open late to get food. We were told we were not in the "big city"...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful!!!

Posted Nov 25, 2014
With the only exception being one of the maintenance men, the staff was extremely unfriendly, rude and lazy! They charged us $120 cleaning fee, but they NOT ONCE cleaned our room while we were there. It was to clean this tiny "condo" AFTER we left. They wouldn't even give us a single roll of toilet paper after we ran out! If it weren't for the view we would have pitched a total fit with Expedia at the time. Save yourself..do NOT go there!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old outdated and no floor space

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everthing
Location: Nice beach
Disappointing , lobby is beautiful .... Room 202a was horrible
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Lonna D. from S.F.

Know what you are getting into!

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels
We booked and paid for this hotel online, only to be charged an extra $83.50 as a cleaning fee upon check in! To make it even more insulting, there is no maid service (no clean towels, no making the bed, etc...) There are however detailed instructions on how to clean your room so you don't incur further cleaning charges! This includes taking your trash out to the garbage shoot in the lobby. Really? I have never experienced these superfluous charges in a hotel for cleaning, this is a scam - beware.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Condo in 15 story building

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Front desk staff were nice and Dan who worked outside greeting guests was awesome!. It was nice to drink coffee on our porch in the morning.
Cons: Let us stay longer on the beach! The company in charge of the beach chairs and umbrellas packed up at 6 pm every day - way too early! Bigger Pool!
Location: No public transportation is available in Destin and we had no car but could walk to Winn Dixie, Surf Hut and Whales Tale, beach is handy & beautiful!
Nice one room condo in a 15 story complex across the street from the beach. We had room 711A and were surprised to find that we had to pay a substantial cleaning fee but we had to clean our room. The fee was to clean our room after we left? We booked through Expedia for both our airfare and accommodations and probably paid too much. Turns out that condos are individually owned and probably could have got a better deal working with the owner directly. There was a lot of noise from the room adjoining ours, 711, - the walls are paper thin but that could be because our room was like a subroom of 711A? The beach was beautiful, right across the street and we did have lounge chairs and umbrella privileges. In our one room condo we had 2 queen size beds, a small fridge - the freezer was useless - all iced up, a microwave, coffee maker, and 2 blenders. We bought a George Forman grill to cook meat on since there are only 2 bbq grills for the entire 15 story complex! Shower was big but water fluctuated from scalding hot to cold. Pool was small. Nice porch. Had to wash dishes in small bathroom sink which is situated at the entrance to the room - a little awkward but all in all we were satisfied with our accommodations.