Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from waco tx

Very nice B & B

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Location: Quite, safe neighborhood with numerous restaurants within walking distance. Nice area to take a walk to take in the homes in the area
The B & B is located in a very nice, quite neighborhood with easy access to numerous restaurants. It is beautifully decorated and has a very welcoming feel. The room is comfortable and met all my needs. The only drawbacks I saw were that you do not have control of the AC in your room, however I was very comfortable, and beautiful wooden floors are loud when someone above you is walking around. This B & B has a lot of stairs and if you can't walk up stair this is not the place for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Most excellent location

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: It is a great space with two kitchens should you wish to cook despite the many great restaurants around.
Cons: Possibly access to staff - but it was the weekend.
Location: The location is absolutely fabulous with lots of great restaurants, pubs/bars and ain walking distance.
Great place in excellent location. Breakfast was lovely, the place is spacious and the room was nice. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Close to DFW

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Cons: Limited credit on daily breakfast
It was an enjoyable stay, as it was in the middle of the sites that I wanted to visit: The Ballpark at Arlington and Toyota Stadium in Frisco.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Hard to find: No exterior signs to indicate B&B

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: Location. Quiet neighborhood.
Cons: Signage. Responsiveness on the phone. Also, some landscaping would help. The bushes and trees are all overgrown.
Location: I was visiting friends who live nearby. That's the reason I booked this B&B.
Hard to find: No exterior signs to indicate B&B. Also, when I called the phone number of the owner to get directions, nobody answered. Ditto when I sent a text message about it. Eventually, I found it on my own - thanks to Divine GPS guidance. Others may not be so lucky.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Enjoyable place.

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Location, price, hospitality, amenities.
Cons: Rugs in the large open areas of the rooms, curse of wood floors. Desk was right under the TV. Print out of basic TV and radio stations in the room.
Location: Great bar two blocks away, Menil collection is 6/7 blocks away, Rice University is a 5 minute drive, Museum district is 10 minute drive.
Loved my stay at Modern B&B. It's in a great area of town within walking distance to a ton of activities. They were attentive and overall exceptional hosts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from england

Funky sociable guest house at the centre of it all

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: Lisa the owner is a great host, she really makes you feel welcome. Breakfast can be interesting, you never know who you will be having breakfast with.
Cons: Room - Mod 3, don't expect breath taking views, the front door opens in to the car port. The cleanliness of the communal areas could improve a little.
Location: Close to museums & galleries, the NRG stadium, the Galleria shopping mall. Plenty of great bars & restaurants in walking distance.
We chose this guest house because it was close to the NRG stadium for the Houston Rodeo. We spent a week here to explore Houston And surrounding areas, the Galleria Shopping centre is a great mall just 2 miles away. Just 40 mins away is Johnson Space Centre and Galveston. Lisa the owner of the guest house is a great host and will welcome you and introduce you to other guests and her friends. A great place to stay for exploring but also, If you are a frequent business traveller to Houston and are fed up with staying in lonely hotels, this is a great social place to stay . Breakfasts are cooked fresh to order, by the lovely Roxanne - great omelettes ! nothing is too much trouble. The guest house is a modern loft house with lots of light in the main areas, there is parking, but at busy times can be slim pickings. Every guest room has it's own bathroom. There are communal kitchen areas, but we didn't really use them as there are so many great restaurants & bars nearby. if you are English and thinking of staying here , don't think traditional English B&B it's much more than that and far better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great location to Museum district

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Pros: The location, free parking and the breakfasts.
Cons: The WIFI in the downstairs bedroom.
Location: Rice University. The Menil Collection and other museums. A great location.
Our first experience in a B&B for sometime and we were delightfully pleased with our choice. Lisa the host is very hospitable and offers so much information for things to do and places to dine in the area. She is also very generous with wine and nibbles supplied each evening, and coffee/tea and muffins throughout the day. Breakfasts were superb and if you had dietary requirements, everything could be catered for. Our room was on the ground floor and had its own external access. Our private bathroom was up a short flight of stairs outside our room, however a dressing gown was supplied. The WIFI in our room was very weak but you could sit on the stairs, or anywhere in the main house and reception was strong. It was lovely to meet other guests at breakfast or early evening at cocktail hour. We would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale

Average hotel close to restaurants

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Friendliness of staff, cleanliness. I did not feel safe in this area either
Location: Restaurants, bars
Confusing check in, spider webs in the room. I would not stay here again nor recommend this hotel. Other residents upstairs were loud and not respectful of other guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2015
The breakfast was wonderful. The room itself was ok at best..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay and a lovely weekend

Posted Nov 17, 2015
We had a lovely weekend stay at Modern B&B. Location was perfect for attending Rice Homecoming weekend. The room was very comfortable and quit spacious. Breakfast was very good. We will definitely come back for our next stay in Houston.