Ratings based on 558 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

bathrooms on main level NOT clean - excrement ever

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: cleanliness of main floor bathrooms
Location: near shopping and nice neighborhood
charged for parking - not told until bill presented
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from omaha ne

Great location for shopping and dining!

Posted May 21, 2017
Keep coming back here because we love the location!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotels Under Construction Need to do More

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Location, staffing, live music in the lounge - cleanliness
Cons: Hotel needed updating which is underway - good news and short term, bad news
Location: A short walk across a footbridge spanning Brush Creek brings you to many high end shops, and both casual and more special occasion dining.
I have stayed in the Intercontinental many times over the past few years. On the plus side of the equation? The staff is excellent - professional, courteous. The accommodations are clean and comfortable. The lounge is a nice place to have a cocktail and listen to some live, but not deafening music. The food quality is also very good. Proximity to shopping and restaurants in Country Club Plaza is wonderful. On the other side? The hotel furnishings were heavy, outdated, and in need of renovation and updating. But on this last trip, the hotel did not disclose that there was significant construction taking plus throughout the hotel. The lobby was completely closed off and temporary guest registration was set up. Some floors were closed for construction, and given the elevator configuration, it was necessary to follow signs to guide you through a confusing route through the hallways. Signs were not accurate in some cases which was annoying but not terrible. With all of this going on, however, absolutely no accommodation or concession was offered. A free cocktail? A voucher toward a future stay? A free breakfast in the temporary (but nice) reception area that had been repurposed from a catered venue to a dining lounge? A nice hotel in a nice location, but a disappointing stay this time around
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN.

Under renovation, smell is toxic

Posted Apr 18, 2017
My Wife and I stayed on the 11th floor. The smell was over wellming. Smell like strong paint or some chemical that still hasn't had an opportunity to dry yet. We where told by the bellman who at first seemed to be very charming, that We needed to open the sliding door to get fresh air in. He continued to inform us that the whole 11th floor smells because of the renovation. So, after an hour it became bearable. But after sleeping with the air on - we found ourselves coughing from the awful fumes... It is our recommendation that until the elevator in which also just received a renovation polish and until they can somehow clean out their air ducks from the smells - nobody should stay there. If the health department came in to that place now - they would be shut down for sure! We still haven't recovered from our stay unfortunately and are still coughing. If your sensitive to strong chemicals don't stay there...
5 out of 5
by Connie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from V

Poor hotel and poor service

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Check in staff gave me handicapped room twice after I requested a regular room and finally got it the third time. Breakfast was terrible and so was the coffee. Will never stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canandaigua, NY

Renovations. Ugh

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, room
Cons: Finish the reno asap
Location: everything - restaurants, shops, bookstores
Very nice hotel, great location, but it's being renovated, which made things difficult. One elevator only went half way up, then we had to wind down long hallways to another one to complete the ride and get to our room. We had a newly renovated room, which was very nice, clean and comfortable, with a view of the Plaza and the river. The top floor restaurant is a jewel with a great view of the city. Getting around the hotel was not fun because of the renovations, and I feel that they should have lowered the room rate until they're completed, or offered free meals, drinks,....something to take the edge off. It was extremely inconvenient.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
not impressed said city view not much you can see on the second floor looking at the parking garage and few other hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to leave an online review. Please accept my apologies for the view not being up to standards. The room that was booked was a king standard that actually does not offer a view. Please feel free to call us the day before arrival with any special requests and we can try to accommodate your request for a high floor and a room with a view. Thank you again for your feedback. Have a great rest of your day. Don Breckenridge General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Service is excellent. Great location. Unfortunately the hotel is now under renovation so the smell of paint is intolerable and signages to different facilities are confusing... what a pity!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I really appreciate you taking time out of your day to write a review. Please accept my apologies that the construction was an inconvenience during your stay. The Renovation is set to be completed by April and we are very excited about the new changes following the renovation. We look forward to the next opportunity to serve you. Have a wonderful rest of your day, and thank you again for your feedback. Don Breckenridge General Manager
2 out of 5
by Charles

Strike Two, the InterContinental is out!!

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
I wouldn't have stayed here had I know of the construction that was going on. A jack hammer was actually vibrating the room. I was told it would end by 4:30 or 5:00 pm. It ended closer to 6:00 pm. I complained and all they did was laugh and say it was bothering everyone. The room had a smell of chemicals of freshly installed new carpeting. I had to open the balcony door to vent out the room. On top of that, I was here for business. I was told the restaurant had been moved to the ballroom during the construction. I thanked them for that info. I had my client over for dinner. The restaurant was in the ballroom, but only had limited items. Limited to light snack bar food. Room service, the only place where the full dinner menu was available, was terrible. I sent the medium rare steak back because it was well done. I complained/vented to the room service manager about the steak and my overall experience here. She told me (rightly) that she was very sorry about the room and noise, etc. But the only thing she could control was the food. She promised to watch over my steak to make sure it arrived medium rare. An hour later, she didn't bump me to the head of the line, it arrived more over-cooked than the first one. There are several top hotels in this area of Kansas City to choose from. This was my 2nd poor experience at this hotel. Next time I'm in KC, I'll not be staying at the InterContinental. Anywhere but the InterContinental!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Charles Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback concerning your stay. I assure you that this is not our norm and does not meet our Four Diamond standard. We have addressed these concerned with the Room Service and Oak Room staff. I really hope that after all the renovations are completed we can be given the change to serve you again. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you enjoy the rest of your day. Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager