Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

I have stayed at cleaner hostels than this hotel.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: View
Cons: Everything but the view
Location: Away from the main commercial strip, but within walking distance to everything.
Upon check-in, no one helped us with our bags. When we first used our sink, it clogged and instead of fixing it, they gave us the key to another room to use the sink. Having a baby with us, this was incredibly unpractical. To be honest, all this could have been over-looked if it wasn't for the fact that the hotel was incredibly dirty. There was a dead bug on our sheets and peeling paint and rusted balcony. The view is spectacular, but we couldn't even enjoy it because there was construction in the morning that made it impossible to step outside to enjoy it. I know as Americans, we can be neat freaks, but even by European standards I don't think this hotel can be ranked better than 2 stars. It has the facade of what was likely a lovely and stately hotel but in decades past.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous Hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
It was our last stop from a 1 week trip to Italy. Lovely staff and great view of Lac Leman. The location was beautiful and quality of the hotel was great. We will love to visit again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historisches Hotel direkt am See

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Ebookers
Das Hotel ist in die Jahre gekommen. Trotzdem ist der Glanz der Vergangenheit noch spürbar, ein charmantes Haus.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from saint john nb canada

Good location, large rooms, fantastic view!

Posted Aug 18, 2016
We had a room on the 5th floor with fantastic views of lake Geneva. Great location as it is right on the walking path along the lake... Which you can swim in. Rooms are large and clean. Did not go to the pool. The only thing I would suggest is new carpeting. The hotel is old and unite luxurious at one time but the carpets are worn and dated. Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food. We were able to find parking in front of the hotel. The hotel has a few spots but usually full
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Italy

Staff pleasant but service could be better.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Its position, cleanliness.
Cons: Service
Location: The location is enchanting but cannot tell much as we went there for business.
I spent one night and asked for an extra bed for my daughter; they forgot to give us extra towels; no big deal but, what bothered me more is that I called several times the reception for about 30 minutes to get some information and no one picked up the phone; then, I went down to see them, and had to wait as no one was there (another gentlemen was also waiting!) ; in addition, I asked for a boiler and never got it, and what is is more serious, I had asked a wake-up call at 5:45 as I had to catch a plane, and they did not even bothered to do it!
4 out of 5
by Christian from Stockholm

Would come back any time

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel itself has big rooms with nice balconies although the furniture on the balcony would probably benefit from some freshening up. Inside, the hotel has a classic feel and if that's what you're after then this is the hotel for you, no doubt. As I arrived late I was disappointed that the kitchen closed as early as 9 pm which from my experience is a bit early and caused a few problems for me. So you should be aware of this if you are arriving late in the evening. Another thing which might be useful to know is that there's a railtrack close by and the trains are passing late in the evening and early in the morning. It probably sounded more as I was staying in the corner of the hotel which was more exposed to the railway track than other parts of the hotel. Not a big deal but you should be aware of this if you are sensitive to such noises. Having said that, the staff at the hotel and the person in the reception in particular was extremely helpful during the whole stay. As I found that the kitchen was closed at arrival, she went out of her way to make sure I got food delivered from a restaurant in town. This is really helpful as there aren't any restaurants that are really close to the hotel. Apart from this the service was also very good in terms of information about the area as a whole, parking options etc. The staff at this hotel is most definitely its biggest and best asset.
4 out of 5
by Loan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by ying ying from Hong Kong

Beautiful hotel view and comfortable stay

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
Very good lake view, and very comfortable room Transportation is needed for reaching the hotel, otherwise will be a 20mins walk from Montreux train station. I was walking there, but the name of the hotel in "Hotel.com" is different from its real name! Which made me almost 20 mins to find it. Very good for the hotel to provide me a free transportation tickets, which allows me travel around by bus.