Ratings based on 848 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Typical casino hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Would not stay here again. It was close to concert only reason selected. Clean enough but stale air in room and windows do not open. Staff nice. Pool is located INSIDE and highly clorinated. Cig smoke in lobby next to casino smokers very stinky.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

ok hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Parking is easy, kids really enjoyed the pool
Cons: Please don't use stained sheets on beds! Also mattress ends to be replaced. It would be nice if you could find a way to have some outdoor dining.
Location: Close to dining and other casinos
Very overpriced for a one night stay. Had to keep window shades closed because the slanted roof top view made us dizzy. No black out curtains either. Sheets were stained. Bathroom had what looked like boogers smeared on walls. Mattress needs to be replaced.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Gone downhill

Posted Jul 21, 2016
The bathroom was not clean. I'm not sure what had dried on the wall by the toilet, but I'm hoping someone sprayed cleaner and just didn't go back to wipe it up. There were also multiple spots on the floor around the toilet and the seat wasn't clean either. I have never been to a hotel that didn't have a bar of soap by the sink. That was a first. Why would they even put a little bottle of conditioner there if they aren't going to put shampoo? There were spots on the carpet and I should not have looked at the matress.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very mediocre at best

Posted Jul 19, 2016
When we first arrived, hotel staff didn't even smile or greet you at front desk. The smell of cigarette smoke was overwhelming everywhere in the hotel. We found a dead cockroach in our bathroom the morning after our first night. They moved us quickly to a better a room ( first room was a view of a huge wall. No refigerator in rooms, no outdoor pool. Restaurants are very small and overcrowded. Since we spent close to an hour and half moving to a new room, we asked to be compensated. Manager refused at first, said that it wasn't possible due to booking with Expedia. I had to call and found out that wasn't the case!! Would never ever return to this hotel. Paid $250 a night to have only a frustrating experience!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vacaville

It was okay to say the least

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Driving up to the Montbleu you get a great feeling seeing a sign that reads millions of dollars in upgrades. Check-in was fast, but so fast because the young lady who checked me in was more of a robot versus a person welcoming you. Before I could even blink my credit card was swiped and money was being held. The room at first glance was great, however don't get a room that faces the "mountains" it only seems that way from the bed, you get a view of a parking lot and roof top :( Internet was sub par as I constantly had to re-connect over and over. Usually I don't stay in my room much as while I'm Tahoe my wife and I are out and about. But, one night she was a little under the weather and wanted to stay in. That brings me to the bed, watch out for the springs!!!! Okay for one night but two or more and get a mattress topper. I wanted to have some snacks and there was a large door underneath the TV where a fridge would go, but guess what? It's more money per night. Now for my rate and not getting a fridge is just ridiculous. Maybe that's where the recouping of the millions of dollars in upgrades will come from? Tacking on all the extra fees. I'm going to stop my now ranting review and just be aware of your rate/what you get from the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: less crowded.
Cons: Please include all fees (like the so-call resort fees) altogether; offer better view rooms when rooms readily available rather than charging extras.
It is a budget hotel/casino. Cheaper than staying at the same grade on the CA side.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Just OK

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Great bathroom. Shower was fabulous.
Location: Good location near lots of restaurants and shops. Food was good and parking was easy.
The entire hotel smelled of stale cigarette smoke. The handles were falling off the drawers in the room and the windows had mold. The bathroom was great and the bedding was fine (bed was a little hard) but I couldn't get past the smell.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2016
The casino does not have that many choices of card games and the staff aren't very friendly. It needs more activities to be able to keep the customers in house.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice, clean and cosy.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: The room
Cons: Divide the restaurants from the casino smoking area.
Location: Beautiful location by south lake tahoe!
It was a very nice experience although it is a huge shame that people can smoke in the lobby. I understand it's a casino but all the restaurants are next to the casino with no separators. I'm allergic to cigarette smoke so even having dinner was a struggle :( The rest was great though, we had great views from floor 17 and the room was super nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pleasanton, CA

Good location with indoor pool

Posted Jul 7, 2016
We picked Montbleu for the indoor pool & location. Excellent location, close to beach , lake, shops, food, Raleys supermarket. Which help a lot due hotel has only a small cafe. The hotel staff are nice especially at valet but we marked "No" to recommend to a friend especially with kids due to the terrible ventilation, the smoking smell from the casino was unbearable. A lot of guests drinking in the evening. Saw a guest smoking on our non-smoking floor. If it's not for the ventilation, we would definitely recommend for it's location.