Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

2.2 out of 5
22% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oak Creek, WI

Mediocre hotel

Posted May 23, 2017
At first glance the lobby looked really nice and clean. The receptionist was nice. The first room had an opening in the window that they tried to rig but it was clearly broken. It was 40° outside and the cold air came right in. There was also an opening from outside big enough for bugs and rodents to get in. We were on the ground floor. We complained and were moved to a new room. The second room was better but did have a spot on the ceiling over the vent that appeared to have had a leak at one time. The ice machine on the first floor didn't work. There was a make shift fitness center in the pool area out in the open. It had 3 treadmills on a matted area. No hot tub. The heat worked very well and it got a little too warm. We turned on the air for a little while but only heat blew out. When we complained we were told that they had the entire hotel set up to only blow out heat since the temperatures were cool outside. But it's spring in WI and the weather changes daily so we were a bit confused as to why we couldn't control our owm room temperature. During our entire stay the fire alarm kept going off and it was very loud. It even went off at night waking us up several times. We were never evacuated nor was any explanation offered or apologies given for the inconvenience. Overall it was just a poor stay and we won't be returning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SE, Iowa

Worst hotel we've ever stayed in

Posted May 20, 2017
Reserved hotel in advance. Looked great upon entrance. Checked in, asked about the pool as we would be there a week. Staff states pool is open daily from 8am-10pm. Entered our room and it was ok. There was no fridge or microwave. The air didn't work so we sweat all night. Got the kids ready the next morning to go swimming to see that the pool was empty. Asked the front desk again and they stated it would be closed the rest of the week. They couldn't tell us this upon checking in?? We told them our air wasn't working and that it was muggy in our room. They stated they hadn't turned the chiller units on yet for the year. Kids asked about a community microwave to heat up some food. They stated that we needed to rent one. Ok, no air, no pool and now we have to RENT a microwave? The manager then becomes rude and says the air works just fine they had turned it on 3 days prior and would sent maintenance down. Maintenance was extremely nice, but told us the blower wasn't working in our room. So again, we were called a liar by management when in fact our air wasn't working. We got our money back for the remainder of the week and went elsewhere. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boise ID

Not impressed

Posted May 18, 2017
My experience was not great...The first room they gave me had several issues that were not up to standard. 1st when I entered the room the smell was terrible, mildew mixed with old cigarettes, the room temperature was turned up to 80 so the room Was sweltering, and the heater would not shut off. When I tried to call the front desk the phone did not work, so I had to walk back down to the lobby to request a new room. My end room was better ,but yet again the heat would not turn off all the way and had to leave the door open all night to let cool air in. The door to the balcony that is. I will say the room was clean and need comfy enough. All an all on a scale of 1 - 10 I'd barely give it a 3 - 4. I will say the price was right though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
It was okay I guess but the a/c in my room wasn't working. The hotel could definitely use some remolding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Free Breakfast?

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Was left alone to do my own thing. Room was large clean and cheap.
Cons: The breakfast was bad. Hours of availability were short during my stay and the food was bad. One day I think they had biscuits and gravy and at 8:00
Personally, in general the hotel was great. There was some work being done around next to the pool area. Never used the pool but I think it was open for use. The free breakfast was the only problem I had with the place but I did not stay there because I thought the breakfast might be good. The room was large clean and inexpensive. That is why I choose a motel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee,Wi

Small getaway

Posted May 4, 2017
Location: This location has many gas stations nearby. The food sections are okay. Along the way is a movie theater, you may need a car just to get more places.
I am always pleased with this hotel. The staff is very welcoming!! I have no complaints at all. The price for the hotel is decent with the pool. The room is always clean. I love getting a room on the second floor to have a view. I will continue to go back to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from racine

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Was ok. Someone peed off their balcony above us and was probably start cos reception saod no one was staying up there. No mini fridge or microwave. Bathroom is very very small. You get what you pay for, stay was all okay besides the person peering into our balcony.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Joe D , Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your review. The person above your room on the balcony spilled a beverage and that is what came down. I am sorry about our other guests. Thank you for the review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ants in bed

Posted Apr 22, 2017
There where ants all over our pillows and they never even want to accommodate me
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nothing But Problems for a Short, Overnight Stay

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: The serviceman Matt who came to the room was very professional and made an attempt to make our stay comfortable, he's the only good thing I found.
Cons: Even if the hotel is being renovated, this room should not be rented to anyone. The condition is inexcusable. Staff training is definitely needed.
This was a quick overnight trip to Milwaukee so I thought I'd take a chance on the GrandStay Hotel & Suites even though it didn't have great ratings. Well, I lost. It started with the hotel having no record of my reservation. I showed her my confirmation info from Expedia so she honored my rate but we weren't off to a good start and it went downhill from there. The room was horrible. Lots of stains on the carpet, black mildew in the shower, dust on the clock and dressers and debris on the floor, leading me to believe the room hadn't even been cleaned. Again since we checked in at almost 9pm and were leaving early in the morning, so we thought we would roll with it and just go to bed. We turned on the air in the room which brought blasts of hot air which we couldn't stop. The best surprise came when my sister turned down the sheets on her bed to discover a blood stain right in the middle of the sheet as well as hair on the pillowcase. NOW a call was made to the front desk to send someone up to change the sheets. The serviceman who came, Matt, was very professional and friendly, and proceeded to change the sheets for us. While doing this he was sweating so much he actually stopped to see what was wrong with our unit. He attempted to fix it but couldn't, so he came back with a fan so we could at least get some air circulation. He accidentally took the TV remote with him so we called down to let them know and request that one be brought to the room but no one came.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from milwaukee wi

Okay place

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Okay place but because I'm a Milwaukee resident that I couldn't book another night. I've never heard of anything like this before but I was told it's hotel policy...Good thing I found a place to stay for another night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Joe D , Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your review. We have our rules and policies to better serve our guests. We appreciate the feedback. Thanks again.