Ratings based on 2,353 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Outdated, broken fixtures and roaches

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: View from outside the room
Cons: Complete update needed
Will never visit again nor book through Expedia. Use of booking agent left me up till 4am getting the run around.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Aug 16, 2016
My mother and I go to the beach at this time every year for her birthday. I have stayed at this hotel many years ago. When we arrived the check in was good. Lobby is as I remember. Very nice. The room however was awful. The air conditioner was set on 68 and it was very warm. Of course it was very hot outside...but I believe the unit may have needed service. The refrigerator never got cold enough. Our drinks were barely cool. Every day there would be three or four ants on the side table. The shower curtain did not reach the sides of the tub. There was a good 8-10 inches on each side. The beds were comfy and sheets clean. overall the staff was friendly. I think I expected the stay I had years ago. My mother and I still had a great time dispite the conditions. I'm sorry to say we will not be returning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

room location

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Would prefer to be in room that is not over the night club. We are in 2nd floor and had a great view of the top of the indoor pool. Not bad for the price
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jersey shore

myrtle beach

Posted Aug 13, 2016
a lot of these units are privately owned, our unit 2 bed condo was so in need of the little things new paint caucking falling off , the carpet looked fairly new however stunk so bad needs dehumidifier in unit, air vents dripping from moisture ceiling growing mold around vents, all in all nice unit just needs to be cleaned up. not all are like that. im sure other owners keep up more. outside of unit great 2 restaurants bar, bands playing pretty good. pools were so overcrowded too many rooms and people pools get dirty I stayed in the ocean. I still enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Hotel needs a renovation. We changed three rooms before we decided to stay in the room that was acceptable. Though the hotel staff was very friendly to help us I understand that they forced to sell rooms that available to them. Hotel owners should think about some total upgrades
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Matthews-NC

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Old carpets in rooms smells funny and should be replaced.
I've been to Sands Ocean many times. But one thing I would like to point is the Location. We were pretty close to good restaurants, supermarkets and everything else. Indoor Jacuzzi and pool are great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chesapeake, Va.

Nice hotel. Right on the beach. Nice deck area.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Great time. Entrance door had to be replaced. Hotel staff was very accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KY

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Love that the hotel is on the beach and everything I needed was right there. The rooms are very outdated but clean. The price fits so if you want a more updated hotel you will have to spend more. Housekeeping changed trash, made the beds and left fresh towels daily. It was an overall good experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spring Texas

Hotel is right on beach.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Loved being right on the water. Beach was nice, loved ocean Annie's and river city cafe. Hotel is older one, but still nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Its was close to the beach that was the good part.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Well I stayed there 4 nights. I told the front desk several times about the throw up in the pool that they never cleand out I was mad because I sure was not going to swim in that pool.