Ratings based on 1,022 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Impossible would rip this place to shreds

Posted May 31, 2016
The tub and the towels had hair on them. Called for more towels and they didn't bring them. Would not allow pizza delivery to come to our door. Free breakfast: food was still partly frozen including the blueberry muffins, sausages, and "fried" eggs. They switched us to a "better" room after we complained about the lack of towels and the hair. We could not shower in the new room because the shower faucet was coming out of the wall and the hot water would not stay on. The sink faucet would not run cold water. Hair on towels in this room too. Door to bathroom would not close entirely. Went to office to complain and was told we would be "comped". The morning we checked out I was told we would be comped $53, the parking fee, that is all. The majority of the staff seemed complacent and there was no sense of urgency to please the customer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

Not suited to all types of visitors

Posted May 28, 2016
Overall, this isn't a bad hotel, if you're aware of its peculiarities. Breakfast runs from 6:30-9:30 during the week, 7-10 on the weekends, in a nice wood-paneled dining area with several nice seating areas as well as the option to eat outside at a number of patio tables. They have a decent selection of breakfast food, including fresh waffles, sausages and hard-"fried" eggs. Make sure you're there well before the end of breakfast, though, as they lock the doors the moment the posted hours are over. Even if you already have food and just need something from your room, they won't let you back in! They also dont have a high chair, even though they advertise cribs for the rooms - so plan to have your small child on your lap if you don't have a travel high chair with you. Our room had barely enough room to fit the packnplay between the beds and window, though it would not have felt cramped without the crib. There was also no tub, only a fancy tiled shower with a rainfall shower head and a glass half-wall with no door - so no baths for little kids, and even adult showers leave the bathroom seriously wet! Also, the room we were in wasn't well ventilated, so unless the bathroom light was on all the time for the fan, the bathroom stayed damp and towels took a full day to dry. We called down for extra towels as a result, as I was getting in the shower, and hubby had to call twice more as I was ready to get out and still had no dry towel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Groningen

Het is een oase op mooie plek in de stad.

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Fijne sfeer, niet grootschalig doordat van meerdere gebouwen 1 geheel is gemaakt.
Location: diverse restaurants en sfeervolle cafe's in de buurt.
Sfeervolle locatie met goede voorzieningen. De Locatie is mooie uitvalsbasis voor verkenning van de omliggende wijken. Streetcar komt voor de deur langs.. Ontbijt en zwembad zijn uitstekend. Bijzonder is dat je ook gratis aan sport en yoga kunt doen in sportschool op 100 meter. Goede prijs kwaliteit verhouding.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Garden District Location - On Streetcar Line

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: Clean room, appliances
Cons: Extra blankets, HBO
Location: See above
I enjoyed staying here instead of in the warehouse district or French Quarter where I typically stay. It's not fancy, but it is comfortable, and the relative quiet is refreshing compared to the other areas. I walked to the convention center (maybe a mile and 1/2), and took the streetcar to the French Quarter ($1.25 per ride). I liked the garden feel of the place, the breakfast, and two nearby restaurants (Mr. Ed's, a new seafood restaurant in the hotel itself, and the St. Charles Tavern about a block away). Since I also need access to office services when attending conventions, I found it very useful that there's an Office Depot almost next door. There's also a Wendy's on the other side, and an Emeril's restaurant across the street. My only complaint is that they don't have HBO and other premium cable channels.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Duarte, Ca

Comfortable place!

Posted May 10, 2016
At first sight hotel, was not too convincing. But once you walk to the back where the rooms where located I was surprised. Very nice. Although the cleaning staff could be a little bit nicer, everyone else seemed very nice.
5 out of 5
by Jolene

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Matthew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from la

excellent location

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: the location & the staff was very helpful & friendly
Cons: the whole place needed desparate cleaning - new mattress - bigger bathroom with bathtub
Location: walking distance to great restaurants & attractions
hotel had very helpful staff - excellent location with walking distance to great restaurants & attractions --- but the room was not too inviting - the bed was very uncomfortable - the bathroom was the size of a closet - no bathtub - just a shower with no door & a toilet - very limited amount of towels - the breakfast area needed some much needed cleaning - also the patio area we had trouble with the toilet in our room
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Granbury, TX

Will definitely be back!

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Easy access from the airport. Charming small lobby. Staff is very helpful and really appreciated the friendliness of Tom. He is delightful!
Cons: I have absolutely no complaints. My room was spacious, clean and updated. The breakfast area is lovely & served a better complimentary meal than most
Location: Location idea for my granddaughter to drive to from school. Streetcars available for any side trips or sightseeing.
This was my second year to stay at Maison St. Charles in New Orleans while visiting my granddaughter, a student at Tulane. I will again return to visit during her senior year in 2017.
5 out of 5
by Kenneth from California

Good time

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
I loved it