Ratings based on 2,128 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We visited the Paradisus from August 7 to August 13. The waves were a bit strong and we couldn't really swim. Playing in the waters was about it. The food was good, especially at the Grill. The Italian restaurant (Aqua) was not very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Fabulous place

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Had an amazing 4 days here. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The service was excellent. Rooms are large and clean, some things may need updated in them but for lenght of time in room it didnt matter! Nicest beach i have ever been to.The food was lovely but only allowed 2 reservations in 4 night stay so make sure you get reservations, otherwise you have to go to the buffet. Breakfast had great selections as was lunch but dinner buffet had alot of fish and seafood. The trolley service is excellent, runs every few mins.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New york

Beautiful beach front room

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Grounds were well kept. Loved the pool.
Cons: Better tram service, Staff training to improve customer service when issues are presented starting with an apology for imposed inconvenience
Location: Excursion to isla Sanoa was wonderful.
On our recent trip in early August there was an error in our room assignment. After we went to wrong room with keys that didn't work the staff graciously offered an upgrade. Room 1196 was great. Right across from the beach and close to the buffet. Overall the staff was friendly. Beach had a lot of seaweed but oh how relaxing. Spa treatment was also nice. I would recommend that they consider timing of trollies that transpot you through out the resort. They were often crowded especially after the nighttime entertainment. I would also recommend that reservations for specialty restaurants be made on day 1. We requested the early seating but was booked for the late seating with 1 incorrect restaurant. We were able to make the change however wasted 45 minutes with guest services eventhough we were only a party of 2. We heard of other similar complaints.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Not what I expected

Posted Aug 14, 2017
From the start it was a terrible experience. The room we received was outdated, dirty & the shower was full of mold. It's a hit or miss with staff they are so under paid they just don't care. The food was ok & the drinks were watered down. I would never recommend this place for the price go somewhere else not to mention the sales people trying to get you to buy a package almost like timeshares
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Generally nice hotel, But staff need training

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Nice rooms in Reserve area. Limited shady spaces at pool area unless prepared to pay premium. Staff friendly but require lots of training in service execution; also prefer to serve Spannish speaking guests. Restaurant reservation system - disaster. Beach could be cleaner as well. (Neighbor hotel cleaned beach always, Paradisus did not always).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Food was inconsistent and very average if not below. Also if staying 7 nights you only get to eat in the restaurants 4 nights. Drinks used very poor quality alcohol even though bartenders were very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Disappointed

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Restaurants were limited to their choices and overbooked, room smells like mold, need updating, Expedia hired rep. Rude to guest! All inclusive was extremely limited. Getting around facility was difficult. Hotel staff were nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cary, North Carolina

Not perfect, but one of the top!

Posted Aug 12, 2017
The good: Beautiful and huge private beach with plenty of lounge chairs and cabanas. Beach did have lots of weeds in August 2017 but staff did a good cleaning job. Excellent WIFI signal throughout resort, pools, and beach areas. Food was okay at 2 buffet restaurants but dinners are excellent at the a la cart ones. Perfect proportions and excellent quality. Most staff were friendly and spoke understandable English. There were vendors at the beach - most were friendly and usually never bothersome. Resort had timeshare but did not aggressively try to up sell to guests. The bad: Communications were inconsistent (sometimes even incorrect) among staff. Always double-check and confirm. Vendors (e.g. Toni and Martinez) selling excursions (parasailing, safari tours) were not honest. For example, they state parasailing time is 12 min but actually 5 min. At check-in, staff did not provide sufficient information, such as map of resort, wifi passcode, or dinner reservation procedures. You have to ask for them. Some staff were not friendly at the buffet restaurant at the beach. No drink service in the beach area. Staff did not keep beach area clean, there were leftover food, drinks, and towels from from precious day. You have to second guess if a beach chair is reserved or not. We've seen cabanas with towels for days but no one was using them. Entertainment was weak - only at night and barely existent during daytime.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Aug 11, 2017
I've travel to Punta Cana several times and this experience was the worst. Understaffed, NO variety of food at buffet. Specialized restaurants were average. Housekeeping service need improvement.Poor customer service. Room need to be checked more efficiently before guest arrival. Our room bathroom vent did not work, clogged sink and unsafe electrical outlet. Need more huts on beach and swimming pool area to shield from the sun. No personal service on beach or pool area. Overall rating 2 star.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maryland,USA

Nice amenities.

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Staff was very friendly.Easy access to everything and everywhere. Wasn't too big of a property.
Cons: Need to change a few items for breakfast and lunch instead of the same menu everyday.
Location: Did not participate in outside activities.
It was a relaxing vacation. Although people were selling things they were not aggressive when they approved you.