Ratings based on 575 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Allentown PA

we were so looking forward to a vacation, but.....

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: The tropical flare of the place was beautiful, the pools were gorgeous! it was right on the beach, and the beach was beautiful.
Location: No idea because whoever we spoke to said the things to do were at different locations than the signs and ended up posted as the wrong dates/times
our excitement gave way to disappointment quickly. First, we booked the trip through expedia, and had no idea this was a resort that STRONGLY pushed joining a vacation club/timeshare/travel club. EVERY day that we walked out of our room there were several groups of at least three persons each who try to strongarm you into attending their presentation, telling you why you need to go to the presentation, promising you gifts from Punta Cana....we did attend one demonstration and were disappointed to hear them slam EXPEDIA and tell us all the reasons we should NOT travel through Expedia. Even after attending the presentation there was a daily onslaught to attend another or to sign up for their club. They were the only people who spoke English, so were not available when our bathroom ceiling became a waterfall when someone working on the room above us cut a pipe but didn't turn the water to that room off, then left for the day. Even simple things like the entertainment, everyone you talked to said it was a different day than the person you spoke to before and a different place than the last person you talked to. We were very disappointed, The hotel ad on expedia stated we had a free mini bar with our package, it wasn't a mini bar it was a small refrigerator in the room that they stocked with bottled water and coca-cola. To ME a mini bar means a BAR!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by princesshotels, Hotel Management
Dear Jill. Thank you for dedicate part of your time to post a review of your trip at our hotel. We are happy that you choose our resort as your holiday destination At the same time we do apologize for any possible inconvenience you might have experienced while you were staying within us. We hope to be your host again in the future as we are sure that we can do it better on your next trip. honestly, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OK

Will not stay again!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Had to change rooms due to air condition not working walls dirty curtains dirty air vents dirty . Change rooms toilet stopped working no one came to fix it . Had to use rest room Some where else after begging because most of the stop don't understand English very frustrating ! Vendors are persistent and it's frustrating as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by princesshotels, Hotel Management
Dear Kimberly. Thank you for dedicate part of your time to post a review of your trip at our resort. We are extremely happy that you choose our resort as your holiday destination. At the same time we do apologize for any possible inconvenience you might have experienced while you were staying within us. We hope to have another opportunity to be your host on your next trip to the Caribbean, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island NY

Good pools & beach but disappointed in other areas

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: the pools were good, they had 3 different pools so they were not over crowded and there were beach chairs always available
Cons: the WiFi and safety box should be included and not limit towels per room
Location: didnt go outside resort other for excursion that I booked online and after we arrived there. Excursions were amazing.
Disappointed in the room conditions, definitely they were up for a renovation; beds looked outworn, room didn't feel clean. In our two bedroom room, there was only one tv and the remote didn't work. The a/c thermostat couldn't be changed and the reading was 72 degree and up. One of the bathroom mirrors was so old that you couldn't see yourself. Further, they would only give me four towels (1 per guest), the face towels and floor towel mats were not given to us till the 2nd day and we had to request towels the room the first night. Disappointed as well that we had to pay for safety box in the room if we wanted use it and for WiFi if we wanted it. The WiFi required $100 US in cash deposit for the router and then additional fees per day. Also the only entertainment for the adults with music was limited, like from 9-11:30pm, after that it felt as if you were sent to sleep. If you wanted to dance or have good drinks, you had to go out of resort.The only good thing was the staff was very friendly and nice, and food was pretty descent, it exceeded my expectations. The drinks were not so good but what can we expect when its all inclusive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2017 by princesshotels, Hotel Management
Dear Nan. Thank you for dedicate part of your time to post a review of your trip at Tropical Princess. We are extremely happy that you choose our resort as your holiday destination and for all the compliments regarding our hotel facilities. At the same time we do apologize for any possible inconvenience you might have experienced while you were staying within us. We cannot wait to receive you again and please feel free to contact us in advance on your next trip to Dominican Republic. Thank you again, yours sincerely, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

love the experience, nice staff in general

Posted Jul 9, 2017
love it, big hotel, enjoy activities, staff in the restaurant good in general,specially Andril very helpful nice pools, the only con they need to clean beach, food ok and the internet they need to upgrade router, well paid, wish can come back
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by princesshotels, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for dedicate part of your time to post a review of your trip at Tropical Princess. We are extremely happy that you choose our resort as your holiday destination and for all the compliments regarding our hotel facilities. At the same time we do apologize for any possible inconvenience you might have experienced while you were staying within us. We cannot wait to receive you again and please feel free to contact us in advance on your next trip to Dominican Republic. Thank you again, yours sincerely, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice resort

Posted Jul 7, 2017
i loved it me and my family had an amazing time i would definitely go again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by princesshotels, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for dedicate part of your time to post a review of your trip at our hotel. We are glad that you choose our resort as your holiday destination as well as for the compliments regarding our hotel facilities. We hope to have another opportnity to be your host as we are sure that we can do it better in the future. Cordial greetings, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Beach and Pools

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Beach and pools.
Cons: Room and family entertainment.
Location: Beach was great.
We really enjoyed the trip. The beach and three pools are fantastic, but the room is just a little tired. It could use an update. It wasn't bad; it was clean, but it was ready for a refurbishment. The food was good and there was plenty of it. We had no trouble grabbing a snack when the buffet was closed. The family entertainment wasn't that great. One of the pools had fun activities for young adults and we were fine moving off to one of the quieter pools with families. There is supposed to be a family show in the evenings, but the one we went to see, Lion King, never happened. We sat there for an hour waiting for the start and finally gave up and went to our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by princesshotels, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for dedicate part of your time to post a review of your trip at Tropical Princess. We are extremely happy that you choose our resort as your holiday destination and for all the compliments regarding our hotel facilities. At the same time we do apologize for any possible inconvenience you might have experienced while you were staying within us. We cannot wait to receive you again and please feel free to contact us in advance on your next trip to Dominican Republic. Thank you again, yours sincerely, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Budget.....

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Pool and beach
Cons: There is a lot of dirty water around the resort. That needs to be cleaned up as it causes a lot of mosquitoes.
Location: You can hop on a hotel bus and go to the Casino. Other than that, nothing is really close enough to walk to.
I pick this hotel because I didn't want anything fancy. I just wanted to relax. The hotel is okay; the buffet food was hit or miss. To be honest, I didn't like it most the time. It's clean and staff is very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2017 by princesshotels, Hotel Management
Dear Nisy. Thank you for dedicate part of your time to post a review of your trip at Tropical Princess. We are extremely happy that you choose our resort as your holiday destination and for all the compliments regarding our hotel facilities. At the same time we do apologize for any possible inconvenience you might have experienced while you were staying within us. We cannot wait to receive you again and please feel free to contact us in advance on your next trip to Dominican Republic. Thank you again, yours sincerely, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new York

Not what you think

Posted Jun 4, 2017
My experience was disappointed not expecting to see a filthy room, food was not great, it stinks because there is a swamp you have to pass to your room and lobby, will not go back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by princesshotels, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you choose our hotel as your holiday destination but we highly regret that your holiday experience was not as positive as you wished because our main goal is to please all our visitors. We sincerely regret that your vacation experience was not enjoyable, as it is our goal to ensure that our guests have a wonderful stay in our premises. We appreciate your review and your valuable feedback and haven taken all your comments into consideration we invite you to choose our property for your next trip to Dominican Republic, we are sure that we can do it better in the future and you will never regret. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can do something for you. Cordial greetings, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Fantastic!

Posted Jun 2, 2017
We stayed at Tropical Princess/Caribe Club for 6 days. They initially gave us a one bed room, and when I requested one with 2 beds we were upgraded to a 2-room suite. The hotel staff is amazing! Everyone is so friendly and ready to help you in any way. Jerry and the rest of the people who organize the hotel activities are really cool and they make sure you're always having a good time. The rooms were clean, and the food at both restaurants and the buffet was excellent. The beach is easily accessible, but it could be cleaned more. This resort is good both for people looking to relax but also for having fun. No complaints, would definitely recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2017 by princesshotels, Hotel Management
Dear Alexandra. Thank you for dedicate part of your time to post a review of your trip at Tropical Princess. We are extremely happy that you choose our resort as your holiday destination and for all the compliments regarding our hotel facilities. At the same time we do apologize for any possible inconvenience you might have experienced while you were staying within us. We cannot wait to receive you again and please feel free to contact us in advance on your next trip to Dominican Republic. Thank you again, yours sincerely, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from e

What's the VIP Experience

Posted Jun 1, 2017
On arrival requested a upgrade to family room. It was additional 120 dollars for my stay. They then offered this so called VIP package for additional 80 dollars. Chose that because we were told we could eat at 7 restaurants. That was not true. Found out after 3 nights we could have but when your stay is only 3 nights doesn't work. We were able to eat at 5 of the 7 before so we chose the best two we could. Which was Mama Mia and the Mexican restaurant. Bought very good. Also in this VIP package were promised a bottle of rum, cigars, fruit tray, and bath robes. Now knowing I purchased on arrival it wouldn't be in room right away. I figured after a few hours maybe. By 9pm nothing had arrived when I checked in at 3 went to front desk asking. Sir it will be there tomorrow. Monday came and went nothing arrived. Went back to front desk Tuesday morning asking for refund for VIP package since I had yet to receive anything. I was not granted a refund a supervisor finally got involved and later Tuesday I had finally got a bottle of rum. Still none of the other items promised. I found the supervisor again they had me write down everything they were supposed to pass to management. They did however give me another bottle of rum for inconvenience. Though they are small bottles not 80 dollars worth. Other guest I spoke too had the same problem. The only thing worth this package was restaurants. If I could just that I would. Onto the room beds are brick hard. The lounge chairs are softer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2017 by princesshotels, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for dedicate part of your time to post a review of your trip at our hotel. We are glad that you choose our resort as your holiday destination but we regret that your holiday experience was not as you wished. Please accept our most sincere apologies for any possible inconvenience you might have experienced while you were staying within us. We hope to have another opportnity to be your host as we are sure that we can do it better in the future. Cordial greetings, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess.