Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Spring Grove, IL

No Frills Lodging

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Clean, quiet
Cons: More information about the hotel in the room.
Location: Nothing of note.
As the name implies, this is a budget hotel that is pleasant but without some of the amenities of other hotels. The place was clean and quiet. There was no carpeting in the room, also no hair dryer and no information about the hotel or the surrounding area. We would not hesitate to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Very pleased with the the hotel and the staff were very friendly. I would stay again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Only place available in the area

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was basic, but clean, and quiet. Better than expected.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Slow Check-In

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
Requested a late check in as we were arriving very early in the morning, arrived to the hotel to find the clerk couldn't find our reservation. After spending 20 minutes trying to check us is he had to go wake someone else up to come help us. That person came to the desk and again spent 10 minutes trying to check us in. After he was finally able to get into our reservation he gave us only 1 room. I then stated the reservation was for 2 rooms, he did get us a second room. It was as if they had never even seen my reservation or expected us. Overall it took almost 40 minutes to get checked in for 2 rooms that were already reserved and paid for ahead of time. I was not very happy having to wait in the lobby for 40 minutes to get keys at 3AM, especially after working a 16 hour day outside in the sun. The rooms were adequate, old hotel with a fresh paint job and remodel, nothing fancy but was adequate.
2 out of 5
by Scott

A Bed to Sleep In

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
This property is in need of multiple renovations. Our room had a poor paint job - an outlet even was partially painted - and broken tiles in the bathroom. The bathroom door latch did not fit properly, and the bathroom was missing a hair dryer. The pool bottom was dirty like it had not been cleaned for several days. When I asked about having this stay added to my bonus club, the front desk personnel and even the general manager had no idea how to do this or if it had been added to my account. I guess it's an Econo Lodge, so I probably shouldn't anticipate more than this.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was a clean bed for a night.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: clean rooms
Cons: repairs and more attention to breakfast
Location: closest hotel for a funeral
The staff was friendly but the door handle was broken (opened with a key). The air conditioner knob was broken so you could not control the temperature. Discovered window on ground floor unlocked. Breakfast was a disappointment. Cereal everywhere, mini fridg empty, no milk, no butter, no jelly.
2 out of 5
by Frahmann/Marsh from Redgranite, WI.

Huge Disappointment 4 Father's Day

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels
we weren't notified in advance of pool being CLOSED FOR RENOVATION! This really put a damper on our Father's Day weekend...Rooms rsvp'd & paid in advance, this is a real problem. What good is a "bargain on your stay" when room you cannot enjoy fully is a big disappointment? NONE.
4 out of 5
by J.S. from Chicago, IL

Clean, quiet

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels
Nice place to stay, very clean room, simple and basic though, friendly staff, near the downtown and other conveniences. If you need a place to stay and don't require a lot of amenities in the room or hotel, I would recommend.
4 out of 5
by Jill N. from Chicago, IL

Basic hotel

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels
Friendly professional staff, kindly upgraded us to a hot tub room because the pool was closed. The information on hotels.com stated the hotel had an indoor pool and spa tub, but they are not open. It was a very basic room, but all that we needed, the upgraded room had a microwave and fridge, very clean. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were too big and puffy. There was a simple continental breakfast offered, cereal, some pastries, coffee, bread for toast. The hotel was right in the town, near a gas station, close to stores. I would recommend if you're looking for a clean, basic room for the night, at a friendly, quiet place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Where is everyone?

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels
When I arrived to check in, there was no one at the desk. No one showed up for 15 minutes to allow me and two others that showed up to check in. There was no TV service in the room. The Direct TV wasn't working. The pool was undergoing maintenance. Thank goodness i hadn't brought my kids they would have been BORED!