Ratings based on 1,910 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saugus, Ma

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 25, 2016
My friend and I were looking for an inexpensive hotel close to Nahant beach. We thought this was perfect as it was a 10 minute drive and right on Route 1 where there are so many places to eat. We had Chinese food delivered straight to our room door, the hotel staff were super friendly and even called our room to ask how everything was. Everything was clean and comfy. Only weird thing was the bathroom sink was outside of the bathroom and the shampoo made our hair feel a bit sticky but compared to other experiences I've had at hotels those are so minor. I would love to stay here again!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfy beds

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Expedia advertised it was close to the hotel. About a 20-30 min drive but the hotel itself was clean and comfy. Would stay at a red roof inn again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ON

Hotel in very inconvenient one-way location

Posted Aug 15, 2016
The hotel is located far from amenities, downtown, the airport, the beaches or harbour. With Boston traffic it took no less than 20 minutes to get anywhere including finding meals. The price is not reflective of the services as there is no breakfast provided and the rooms are small and cramped with dated set up. The sink sits on the hallway adjacent to the closet and front door outside of the washroom. There isn't a pool or close amenities to justify the cost of this establishment. I would not recommend staying here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Terrible Hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Ample parking was available
Cons: Just about every aspect of this hotel needs improvement.
Location: We only stayed one night as our destination was the Canada Border so did not stay.
We checked into this hotel (2 rooms) after 12 hours on a plane. The rooms were dirty and poorly appointed. We requested another room and were given a room with the smoke alarm beeping every 1/2 minute. There was no maintenance person available so were given another shabby room. The linens were worn and fun of cigarette burns even though it's a "non smoking" hotel. The floors were linoleum and not clean. The door to the bathroom was off it's hinges and there was so little room we didn't have any room for our suit cases. The hotel desc clerk was totally uncaring about our comfort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Nice hotel in a good location.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
I stayed in one of the premium rooms. It was very nice. They even provide a bunch of free snacks!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too much road noise

Posted Aug 10, 2016
The room window was facing the main road. There was SO much noise ALL night. Also, the tv volume is set to 15. You could not even hear it over the traffic. Bed was comfy, but noise from above (kids running) and traffic was just too much.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simple & Clean

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Good place for a quick stay. Clean and simple. The room was clean and the amenities nice. The bed was not the most comfortable, but for my one night stay it was adequate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, CA

A basic stay on the freeway.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: clean, quiet room
Cons: A small area with few dining sets on 1st flr. so guests can order meals & eat there, instead of eating in the tight room.
Location: near large shopping center with Macy, Best Buy, Sears...fast food, gas, Wal-mart, Chinese food, liquor, wine store...all are within 1 mile.
The hotel is on the freeway US1, very hard to get in and out of the hotel. The freeway limited to 55mph, but people drive at least 65 mph, and so many vehicles taking this freeway all day. The hotel provides basic facilities like ice machine, soft drink machine, free all-day coffee in the lobby, no breakfast. Nice clean small 3 story-hotel located near good priced, large shopping center Square One, Legal Seafood, Wine-liquor store Kappy, Wal-Mart Super store, Sunoco, McDonalds, Burger King...everything. But the driving to those facilities is not convenience at all, because I had to drive to the nearest exit, get on to other freeway then exit to local streets, then go back to the freeway where the facility is located. I get the city planning in the old time was not a good city planning. The room is nice, clean, very quiet but also tight. Sleeping is OK, wireless is OK, not that strong as other 2 -star hotels that i stayed in the past. Eating in the room is not comfortable, because it has 1 arm chair and 1 office chair, the desk is small and if you order an extra large pizza, you have to put the pizza box on the floor. In general, nice-clean-tight-quiet-very basic facilities. If you are a slow driver from other state, find other hotels, but if you don't mind freeway and wanted to save money, take this.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Augusta, ME

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Great staff, clean, quiet in the hotel, nice amenities. Comfortable!!
Cons: Would like to see a continental breakfast.
Location: Many eating places. Location very busy traveled road......
Enjoyed our stay at the RedRoof. Clean, quiet inside the hotel. The only down side is the noise from traffic outside. There were 4-5 other hotels on that same strip of road but all would have had the same issue. So besides that, great staff, especially Brittany. That woman deserves a promotion & raise!! We had circumstances where our trip was cut short & we had to leave early. To our surprise we did receive a refund for our second night.........we couldn't believe it. Great surprise!! Nice hotel....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Practical place to stay.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Functional.
Cons: I really would have liked shampoo and conditioner and more towels.
Location: No idea. Wasn't there for vacation.
I shopped for a decent hotel, at the best price I could find. This place was $140 for two double beds. It was not a luxury stay. No face cloths, just hand and bath towels, I wished I had another bath towel after showering. Shampoo, minimal, soap, minimal. Bed, okay for a few hours. Not a place to stay for a nice vacation, but fine for sleeping instead of sitting at the airport for six hours 'til my next flight.