Ratings based on 1,844 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta Georgia

Nice hotel close to everything!

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Location: North of Boston with all its attractions. Close to Gloucester, Salem, and Rockport. Close to restaurants in the area.
This was our 2nd night staying at Lakeside. The 1st night we were coming from Boston. The 2nd night we were coming from Salem. Not having advance reservations when we checked the area,Lakeside had the best price, so we returned. The hotel is under renovation, but still nice enough. The room we were given for this night was larger than the previous night. Comfortable bed. Newly renovated bathroom. No refrigerator in room. Nice breakfast included. No elevator. Helpful, friendly staff. There is a Tavern inside hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Georgia

Nice hotel close to Boston & Salem

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Conveniently located between Boston and Salem. The hotel is presently under renovation. Once completed this hotel should rate excellent. Room nice. Bed comfortable. Bathroom clean and updated. No refrigerator in room. No elevator. Nice breakfast included. Staff friendly and helpful. There is a Tavern inside this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

Fine accommodations for the price.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Clean and comfortable rooms, adequate free breakfast, nice view of Lake Quannapowitt from our lodging.
Cons: Well, a pool would be nice. The tables could be wiped more quickly at breakfast. And you could offer coffee cups that hold more than 3 oz.
Location: It's on a lake, the opportunity for a scenic three-mile walk around. Handy to major routes to Boston, North Shore and Northern New England states.
We've stayed here a couple of times while attending family events in the area. It's clean, comfortable, and well-located near highways and services. It's in an office park--not a destination hotel where you would choose to spend a vacation. Still, it's more than adequate for a short stay when life calls you to Boston's northern suburbs. We will definitely return here as needed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Decent hotel for the price

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Hotel met expectations; after all the price is significantly lower than all other accommodations in the area. Front desk people were helpful. Bed was very comfortable and sheets were crisp and clean. The carpet was stained as were the walls. With new carpet and a paint job this hotel could be quite nice. Breakfast was fair- lukewarm coffee and standard selections on Styrofoam plates. Location is right off the highway which was great. We were only looking for a comfy bed and safe, clean place to sleep so this hotel met our expectations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Filth

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Blood stains on carpet. Mold throughout. No safety lock on entry door. Entire place smelled of old cigarette smoke. Bed was ancient and smelled and was uncomfortable. Long walk to tiny room. 2nd floor with many stairs. Entry to hotel lots of cigarette butts and broken down stair risers. Front desk surly on check in. And on a later pass through the lobby surrounded by gang of friends engaged in inappropriate conversation. Window at dumpster level over parking lot. clean towels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Dirty and old. Good breakfast the photo of the hotel isn't correct
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Old, dingy and in need of renovation

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: nothing except the lake view
Cons: Everything I've mentioned above
The hotel is situated next to a lake, which makes it charming on the outside. But inside the hotel is old and in need of renovation and repairs. The shower water pressure was low, and there were no towel racks at all to hang towels on. The shower tub is actually half a normal tub and outdated. The guest room has no microwave or small fridge. The restaurant and bar area is dirty and badly in need of renovation and decor updates. Breakfast choices were sparse and not so delectable. The guest computer to print boarding passes on was running Windows XP (outdated OS) and not working. To add insult to injury, when i notified them it wasn't working, the staff got defensive made excuses saying it wasn't their problem and to notify their hotel management. I've stayed at many high, medium and even some 2-star lower end hotels, but have never heard such ridiculousness from hotel staff. I don't recommend this place. A 2-star chain such as Quality Inn, Days Inn or Hampton Inn would be better value.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect find

Posted Jun 23, 2016
The view is amazing, the location is perfect. Shelley is a complete doll, and there's a tavern in the hotel for drinks and fantastic food. I highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Beautiful sun rise very,very early in morning!

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Exceptional for the price! Would recommend to all travelers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Not the best but not the worst

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Cons: Outside appearance
The outside of the hotel looks terrible. There is still construction going on, some of the shutters hang crooked, and the parking lot is a mess. I thought for sure I had messed up when booking this hotel, I typically stay in Holiday Inn Expresses or similar type places. That being said, once we walked in, the renovations were clear. The lobby was very clean and nice, as was our room and bathroom. The room was decently large, and we had a lake view, as promised. One thing I did notice that didn't bother me but would probably bother others, was that there was LOUD music playing from the bar downstairs until about 11-midnight that you could hear pretty clearly in your room. I'm pretty sure this is only on Friday and Saturday nights, but I'm not positive. The breakfast was good, they had a pretty standard selection for a continental breakfast with waffles, toast, cereal, eggs, etc. The staff members that we met were all very nice. This is about 30 minutes away from downtown Boston, 45 if there is traffic. There isn't much to do nearby, but we did notice an IMAX and somewhere that looked like you could rent a kayak. There were several good local restaurants within a couple miles from the hotel. If you're just looking for something cheap in the area, it's not a bad option unless you really care about the outside appearance.