Ratings based on 697 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cortina

Bella sorpresa

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Un villaggio con ospiti di diversa nazionalità. Personale educato e disponibile. Meglio di quello che mi aspettavo. Buona la cucina
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom pittsburgh pa

great experience with viva!

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Location. All inclusive
Great resort. Friendly staff. Everything you need is right there. Would definatley go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jacksonville Florida

Viva Relaxation

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Very Relaxing. The Beach and Gulf were absolutely beautiful. Staff went out of their way to make our stay the best it could be.
Cons: Drink service at the Pool and Beach would up grade the rating of the hotel and service.
Location: There is a shopping area and Starbucks right across the street from the resort which was very handy.
We had a very relaxing vacation. At check in, we had very delightful and helpful Linda. We had booked a Ocean View room, but we did require a ground floor room. When booking, we were not aware that we could not get an Ocean View room on the ground floor. Linda called for her Manager,to take care of us. He was not near as pleasant, had us sign a Waiver acknowledging that we had paid for an Ocean View and would not have this request honored on the ground floor . We did get our room quickly, and the room we did have was great for us. Our room was All the service staff were excellent. Restaurant and bar staff were very attentive and happy! We did dine at the Mediterranean, Intercontinental and Mexican. All three were very good. We did go back to the Mediterranean as it was our favorite. Gabriel, our waiter could not have been better. The food in all three, although quite different, was very good and plentiful. Guest Services, recommended the La Casa Del Agua Restaurant for a nice evening out. He offered to make the reservation for us. We took a cab to the restaurant, only to find that we did not have a reservation for us, in fact they had not taken any reservations for that evening as it was booked out with a private party. We would have liked Guest Services to inform us of this prior to us going. We met many new "friends" whom we would join at the gathering area and at the pool. Our new friends were from U.S., Germany and Canada. All were very wonderful and intere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom fla

We really enjoyed the viva and the Mexican people

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: People
All great we enjoyed every thing . The excursions we got from the beach locals were terrific.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Fun and light atmosphere

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Entertainment, fun atmosphere,Anamacion Team, Mexican restaurant was the best!, location and proximity to the beach, Water Sports team, Pool Snack bar
Cons: Buffet food was almost the same food all week. It was good, but we got bored with it.
Location: Lots of excursions available. We visited Xcaret, but for $149 per person, I would not do that one again. It was beautiful though.
We just returned from our week stay. We traveled with two couples and my 16 year old daughter. It was the perfect hotel for our group. There was always something to do. The Anamacion team did an amazing job keeping guests involved and entertained if they wanted to. There were so many activities we could participate in, starting at 9 am with Stretching/yoga, then water aerobics, then darts, then some beach competition like volleyball, baseball, bocce, archery, bingo, ping pong, etc. However, you could lay on the beach and not be disturbed at all if you wanted. There were plenty of beach chairs on the beach, which was right by the pool. There was also an amazing catamaran team that would take us on rides in the ocean. They also had boogie boards, snorkeling equipment and paddle boards that you could sign out if you wanted. The shows each night were simply amazing. I cannot say enough great things about the Anamacion Team. All bartenders and workers were kind and courteous. Our room was cleaned daily and never had a problem with anything!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CHIHUAHUA

hotel muy agradable, limpio cómodo, muy a mi gusto

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: todo, principalmente la amabilidad del personal, no discriminan a nosotros los mexicanos de los turistas extranjeros.
Cons: Que la comida sea mas variada , claro entiendo que había italianos y por tal razón había pizza, pastas, etc, pero me gustaría variedad de frutas.
Location: había variedad de actividades, los martes en el hotel ponen artesanías mexicanas (me encanto), en la playa solo me encotre varias bachas de cigarrillo
logre mi objetivo divertirme, relajarme, descansar, comer , beber, requisito todo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grand Rapids, MI

Hotel with great view

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Very nice hotel. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Night time shows were entertaining. For a group of early 20 something's they did a fabulous job. Many different activities were included.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Medellin

Good Staff, noisy room

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: The beach, the activities all the time, the shows.
Cons: Noise proof doors!!!! Eliminate tile joints in hallways. Change Food variety. Not a single piece of whole beef in a week (small cuts for tacos availa
Location: Playacar. 2kms (a bit more than a mile) away from Playa del Carmen. You can walk, ride a bike or take a 7 dolar cab. Beach is great. Pool is ok.
The hotel has a great location, inside Playacar, which is a gated community with other hotels and villas. It has a beautiful stripe of beach with kiosks and palmtrees. Staff was very kind always and very friendly. On site Dive center was great. No extra cost for Windsurf, Kayac and Catamaran... BIG Plus! The CONS: I would subtract 4 points for the extremely noisy room. You can hear EVERYTHING your neighbor does (even snoring!!) You can also hear every movement on the hallway. From one end to another as if you had left your door open. First time I have had such experience. It kills the whole point of relaxing and sleeping up late. Also, the mainpool. It is OK, just felt too crowded at times. maybe a bit small. The food... well it was just OK. You can't really tell there is no variety, but it does grow tiresome. Fruits and vegetables were almost the same everyday but in general it was OK. I have been to better buffets but this one was OK. Why 2 overall instead of 1? Well, the activities with no extra cost add one more point at the end. However I would never go back to this place as not being able to get some good continuous sleep between 6:00am and 4:00am because of noise is a big issue for me (yes your read it right, its not from 4 to 6 as in two hours, its from 6 am when kids wake up and bounce beachballs down the hallway to 4am when your drunken neighbors get back to their room. In between time, you get housekeeping trolleys, suitcases, doors slaming, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel on the Beach

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Staff was better than any hotel out there.
Cons: The beds were extremely uncomfortable.
Location: Very close by to a number of things such as golf and shopping.
Room was very disappointing. The beds were extremely uncomfortable. However the staff is top notch, and truly makes the experience. They went above and beyond every single day to make it a great week!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Amazing vacation!

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff and very clean
Cons: Food got a little old by the end, but that's going to happen with buffets. Pillows were not the best and no wash clothes in the bathrooms.
Just got back from a week long vacation with our adult children 24 and 21 and we all agreed this was our best family vacation ever! The resort was smaller than we have stayed at in the past, but we never had a problem finding a spot at the pool or the beach. The staff was amazing, very friendly and always cleaning. Lots of activities during the day and walking distance to Playa del Carmen. Don Diego's was so good we went there for two of our three nights. Would stay at this resort again.