Ratings based on 735 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colombia

Excellent Hotel, next to the beach.

Posted Jul 22, 2015
It was an excellent experience staying at this hotel, everything was great, the hotel staff is good, a few of them were not that nice. The hotel is in Playacar a great an exclusive condominium. It's also near to "la 5a avenida" a must visit street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Great resort right on the beach.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Beach. Location. Cleanliness. Food and Beverage.
Cons: Other resorts I have stayed at have had some kind of freezer for guests to label and freeze fish they caught if they needed to.
Location: Downtown, Cozumel, Fishing, Ruins, theme parks, snorkeling.
We had a wonderful time. We had 3 rooms, my daughters and their significant others and my wife and I. There was pretty to do throughout the day and the there were activities at night including shows. Volleyball was great! everyone went on a bike ride to nearby ruins and shopping. the downtown area is very close (walkable) The food and beverage were great. I would have liked to eat in on of the sit down restaurants a second time because it was so good, but during your 7 day stay you can only enjoy the sit down restaurants 3 times. The rooms and the resort overall were very clean! The pool and beach areas were kept very clean as well. We were able to go out fishing and did really well. The ferry to Cozumel is very close and we made a day of that as well. We did not do any tours of ruins or theme parks as we just enjoyed relaxing at the resort and doing different activities there. Good Times!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Overall, a very nice resort. Rooms were mediocre, but were always clean. Very nice beach area, including private cabanas. Would recommend this resort for your next trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Nice hotel close to Playa Del Carmen

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: Animacion team. Staff. Beach with palms and palapas (straw shelter).
Location: Playa Del Carmen 5th avenue is 1.9 miles away - walk is pleasant and safe (all part of gated Playacar). It takes 30 min.
Excellent staff and animators. Show every night. Activities for every age - Dance, archery, catamaran rides, kids' club - all free. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel is older but all the grounds are perfectly clean and maintained well. Food is average (not as good as 5 star but still good). The beach bar has pizza from brick oven - excellent flavor. A la carte restaurants are good too. My rating - Il Palco (at the Viva Azteca) - great, Xul Ha (Mayan is average); Don Diego was great too. We got what we expected from a 3 star property. I would go back but I would rather try the Azteca. The atmosphere and the staff at Maya makes up for the downsides.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Wyndham Maya Resort

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: food, location and staff.
Cons: cooler rooms.
Location: Love it. Close to downtown & great restaurants
Room was extremely hot. we asked to be moved and we were. Next room not much better. Other than that, we love the facility and this was my 3rd year in a row to go to the same place. The staff is wonderful and the food was good. My stay is always 10 days. Not sure I will return this year. We really needed to have a comfortable room with good air conditioning. We were considering buying a VIP package but that is in question now.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sterling Heights, Michigan

Low class hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: People were very nice, the three restaurants with required reservations were good but you only have the option to go to three restaurants in a week.
Cons: Remodel the hotel and change the food from the buffet. The food was the same every single day at the buffet and there was not a lot of variety.
Location: Location was ok there were small stores outside of the resort in walking distance and also a very nice fifth avenue a little further from the resort.
The beach was the nicest part of the resort. The pools were very small and crowded. There was the same food every day except for the restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Amazing!!

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Love this place!!! Would defiantly recommend to anyone!!! Had an amazing time both times we were there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel, great services, close to beach,

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Location, Comfortable accomodations.
Cons: The front desk was going to charge me $100.00 to make a local call to one of the tour companies to clarify an excursion pickup time.
Location: The location was perfect. We did a lor of escursions to Chicen Itza, Tolume, the Cenotes and other activities. The location was an hour closer than
We had a great experience at the Wyndam Hotel. This was very close to most of the excursions that we took. It is a much better location than in Cancun. We were an hour closer to all of the side excursions that we took. The hotel was very accomodating to all of our needs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was okay.

Posted Jun 24, 2015
If all you plan on doing to laying on the beach and drinking it's perfect! The food was awful but their drinks were great! We wanted to just stay on the beach so we had a good time but I wouldn't go back. They didn't have good shows or other entertainment at all. The air conditioner didn't work for one day of our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geneva

adequate - not great

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: It was easy to get around.
Cons: The quality of the food.
This was a nice small resort and it was easy to get around. It is a short bike ride or beach walk from downtown play del carmen. The food was just okay. The drinks were only good if you asked for and received a top shelf brand. I still don't know what was in the plastic liquor bottles they use to make the majority of their drinks. The rooms were small but clean. Two of the days we were there, the air conditioning was on the fritz and out tile floors were wet. It was very humid in the room. We also lost power to the room two days in a row. We had no problems making the reservations for the specialty restaurants. The lobby staff was a bit less than friendly. However, they did the job. The "amigos" who perform and run the activities make the resort. They were very energetic and friendly and most of the shows were enjoyable. Expect this resort to be a good mix of Europeans and Americans with numerous different languages being spoken everywhere. There were plenty of pool and beach chairs available and the early morning game of seat saving was not necessary. In a nutshell: We have stayed at 4 other all inclusive resorts and this was the least impressive. However, it was still enjoyable.