Ratings based on 550 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Viva Maya - Playa

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location is perfect for doing things in the area. Dinners at the Mexican and Italian restaurants were great and filling. Staff was very good
Cons: Food on buffet was ok. Rooms close to pool very loud in morning due to 24 hour bar. Updates needed for rooms. AC blows but no always cold
We stayed at the property two years ago and decided to stay there again on this year's trip. In addition to my wife and me, we had an additional 8 people ranging from 17-29. All in all it was a good trip. The location is great for being able to do many of the things around the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield Mo

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Enjoyed the vacation, lot's of fun, Staff was nice, food was decent, drinks where decent. Spent 6 days no issues at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Staff were courteous and helpful. Entertainment team were awesome. Beds were comfortable and rooms were clean!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great time,

Posted Jul 3, 2014
we had a great time wonderful place, food was good, drinks were plentiful. Taxi to playa was 7 bucks then went to coba and akumul for adventure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roy from Vancouver, Canada

Best bang for the buck on the Mayan Riviera

Posted Jul 2, 2014
This is my fifth time staying at the Viva Maya. You can beat the location, the staff, or the beach for the dollar spent. It's a clean well run hotel. The staff are what make this place. There is always something going on or nothing depending on what your looking for. I have nothing but great things to say about this resort. I have always had a great time. I come to Mexico for the scuba diving ( which is great) but the people keep coming back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Fun all-inclusive for families

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: The staff is great and works very hard. Lots of great activities- shows, games, and a ton of complimentary water sports.
Cons: The lighting and A/C in the rooms could be a bit better. The food in the buffet is good but could use a bit more variety from day to day.
Location: Wonderful beach with crystal clear water. Great snorkeling nearby. Easy access for day trips (close to Xel-Ha, Tulum, Xcaret, etc).
We just concluded a 1-week stay at Viva Wyndham Maya. I would definitely recommend this resort- just be aware of what it excels at (fantastic beach, friendly, hard working staff, lots of fun activities for all ages) and what it is not (a place for foodies looking for a gourmet meal every night). If you're looking for a five star "pampering" every day, this is probably not the place for you. On the other hand, if you want great value for your money, a convenient location, tons of water and beach sports, nicely kept grounds, and all you can eat/drink with no hidden extras, you'll love the VWM. We chose this resort specifically because we thought our kids (ages 17 and 13) would enjoy it, and we were not disappointed. One thing to be aware of- you are only allowed 2 dinner reservations at the formal restaurants for each 6 nights of stay, so most of your meals will be at the buffet or the beach/pool side snack bar. The buffet food is solid but not spectacular. We enjoyed the nightly shows and the daily games (volleyball, bocce, etc) and also took advantage of many of the free water activities- catamarans, paddle boarding, boogie boards, kayaks, etc. If you're willing to walk about 1.5 miles south on the beach, there's also a great free snorkeling area. The grounds, dining areas, and beach are very clean and well kept.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small and clean. Quite crowded even at low season.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Clean, some kind staff, unusual activities.
Cons: Increase the availability of times for activities. Have at least one of the buffets open at all times.
Location: We went to Xcaret and Tulum and had very nice tours.
I'll start with the positives: Quite clean and well maintained. The people working at the buffet were kind, very attentive. Veronique was sweet. Victoria working at the trapeze was fantastic and very accommodating. There are a lot of activities included at this resort, my children tried the archery and the trapeze and loved both, the people running these activities were very good with my kids. The negatives: Packed with people, the beachfront is very narrow and the beach chairs are incredibly close together. Service at the beach is scanty if it even exists at all. There were many times that we had to wait in a line 10 deep just for a beer at the bar. The pool is annoyingly small and crowded. Horrible experience at the desk to schedule excursions. I needed to change a reservation and Vanessa made it clear that I was a huge inconvenience to her. She was short, unhelpful and I have a sneaking suspicion that I was heavily overcharged because she did not want to go through the process to reimburse me properly. An almost equally unpleasant time spent at the Guest Services desk where I needed to book our dinner reservations. I sat, alone, at the desk for 30 minutes waiting for help and was completely ignored. No one was called to help when I asked for it and no apology was made when she finally showed up. Take a close look at the map of the grounds. One building is far from the beach/pool, but very close to the adult-only pool and bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston,Texas

Nice hotel close to the beach and shopping .

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Just about everything. Lots of fun ! Felt very safe . Lots of security and friendly staff.
Cons: The cafeteria needs to be air conditioned ! It was terribly Hot and humid Very uncomfortable I was miserable. Food was delicious though :)
Location: Excellent location . You can enjoy the free bikes available to guest to ride into town or shopping across the street.
Had a fabulous time at the hotel with all 8 of my friends. Tons of fun . Great food , drinks and music ! The beach was gorgeous lots of free activities included as well as the things I paid to do like parasailing the jet ski on sight. If you want peace n quite stay at the Aztecs Wyndham or fun n the sun Viva Wyndham it is woo hoo ! I will definitely go back !
1 out of 5
by Lauren from Chicagi

Resort service from HELL!!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
I went to mexico with nine other girls for my bachelorette party. First time going to Mexico for the most of us (NOT ME). We arrived around 2 and didn't recieve our rooms until after six o'clock. We lost 4 hours of vacation time because of errors of the staff. Not all but most of the staff that delt with us was rude. After all that mess we still were given rooms apart and some were even on different floors. As new customers to Wyndam we were not inform on restaurants, entertainment, or towel keys being returned at the end of trip so we don't get charged $25. Another kicker was the food was the same at the buffet every morning and evening. I got an attitude from one cook because I asked for more bacon. The buffet room/area was way hotter then it was outside, very uncomfortable! The rooms had no refrigerator, one bottle of 18 oz water for 3 people to share the whole stay, and no liquor or beer. All in all service was horrible and the resort itself was just ok. I would NEVER recommend this resort for anyone. Also one more note, the ladies and I talked to another customer there who took her family on vacation and her response was they same. She too was disappointed and said she will never go back to a Wyndham. My bachelorette party was a bust at the Wyndham. Thanks for ruining it! I will definitely keep my business with the Riu for now on.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

All-Inclusive? I'd say not.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Room was nice as well as the beach.
Cons: See notes above.
Location: Small market within walking distance was nice.
I have stayed at many all-inclusive resorts, but none that overlap as time shares as well. The Bad: Only one complimentary bottle of water for the whole week. Ridiculous. Buffett was horrible. Had to go into town for dinner the other nights since the buffet was horrible. Could only book 2 nights for the premier restaurants for a 5 day stay. Never seen this before. The drinks were sub par as well. I have never stayed at an all inclusive that only offers well liquors and warm draft beer only. No selection or options was very disappointing. They charged an additional fee for the in room safe. Crazy. Good: Room was nice and the air conditioner worked well. Very disappointed, will never stay at another Wyndham resport property again and will not trust expedia's ratings going forward.