Ratings based on 1,012 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Tha rooms and facilities for meetings.
Cons: The food.
Location: Location is great,especially if you need to be near Harvard.
Rooms are excellent and very pleasant with nice view,nice pillows,towels and all kinds of toilleteries. The only extremely awful is the HENRIETTA'S restaurant i would fired right away the cook because the food is discusting.Everything in in can make you fat,for example the fish sandwish,the is no fish is pure cornmeal,discusting,i had to ask for more of the table bread,which was ok,so i could have something in my stomach. Change the menu or change staff,sorry but it was awful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

best fitness in boston

Posted Feb 11, 2017
free coffee all day long , great fitness center ... and the hotel lobby is not SAD and depressing like so many hotels in Boston
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Perfect Location in Harvard Square

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: moder, clean and efficient.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel is located minutes from Harvard Square and you can walk to Harvard Yard and all the good restaurants.
From my arrival to my departure, the staff was extremely helpful. As I arrived, my bags were taken from my car, valet parking took the car, registration was efficient and bags were promptly brought to my room. The rooms and hallways appear to have been recently renovated and nicely done. The room was clean, bed comfortable and the bathroom (shower only) was also newly renovated. So I have no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel right in harvard square

Posted Jan 15, 2017
We are frequent guests at the Charles and the staff is always incredibly helpful. Guest rooms have recently been conpletely redone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Love The Charles Hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Room decor updates and we had adjoining rooms! The holiday lights were welcoming too!
Cons: Maybe complimentary morning coffee in the lobby............
Location: Harvard.........Boston........a great place to be!
We were traveling to CT for the holidays and spent 1 night in Harvard Square. We love the location and the room updates are beautiful. Our boys also loved the TV in the bathroom mirror! Thank you for a very comfortable stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

The Charles at the heart of Harvard

Posted Dec 18, 2016
A lovely comfortable stylish hotel near the heart of Harvard Square. The spa was a fabulous addition to my stay and helped me relax despite a busy schedule. Good places to eat. I would thoroughly recommend it and will book again if I return to Boston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winfield, United States of America

Most convenient hotel for my purposes.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Very convenient. Other hotels around Harvard not as nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 30, 2016
What to say but that it was wonderful from the moment we entered until we left? Delicious breakfast in our room, appropriate and tasteful snacks, comfort all about, kindness, quiet...peace
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for visit to Cambridge

Posted Nov 28, 2016
We have family living nearby, but need a hotel to stay in when we visit. The last time I stayed at the Charles was in 1999, and it seemed better than I remembered it. Enjoyed our breakfasts in Henrietta's restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Beautiful hotel in Cambridge

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Very comfortable rooms, fantastic location and Club Noir
Location: Walking distance to the T (public transportation) and in the Harvard Square area.
The Charles is a wonderful hotel in a great location. This is the second time I have stayed there and I do love it. It is not terribly far from my home, but a nice place to have a "staycation" of sorts. It is far too pricey most of the year, but when it is a slow period, the prices drop quite a lot and makes it a worthwhile splurge.