Ratings based on 1,025 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Charles Hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Very nice hotel. Parking was a problem, there was no one in the garage parking lot booth when I was leaving, eventually someone showed up
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Alex A., Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the feedback, Lenny. We will share your comments with our associates to ensure the parking garage is better serviced. I understand how precious your time is. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington VT

Weekend trip to Boston

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The card that turned off the power when I left the room.
Cons: It would be nice if the water was complimentary instead of $8, seemed to be an unnecessary money-grab for people that do not read the pamphlet.
Location: The hotel was close to the train station and surrounded by nearby restaurants and shops. There is a nice pizza place called Pinocchio's nearby.
When I first got there my impression was it was a nice hotel, the staff was pleasant, check in was easy and when I got to the room I was very pleased with the accommodations provided. I stayed in a 2 bed / 1 bath room, the room was clean, the bed were made, and the art hanging in the room was tasteful. It was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in recently.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Avis Car Rental in the lobby

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: See above
This is a terrific hotel with 3 great restaurant options right on site. Walking distance to Harvard Square. But the best amenity is the Avis Rental Car service right in the lobby. I live in San Francisco but have family in Massachusetts. I was able to rent a car one morning and drive down to my summer house in Southeastern Massachusetts and back the same afternoon, without having to hassle with renting a car at Logan or paying for parking when I didn't need it. From this point forward I'm going to stay here whenever I can get a good deal online.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Alex A., Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the feedback, Linda! We aim to make each stay as convenient as possible, so I am glad to hear Avis could provide you with the flexibility you needed. If there's anything we can do to improve your next stay, please let me know.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Good location in Cambridge, best Harvard option

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Location, food, Spa
Cons: Nothing
Good staff, renewed facilities, good Spa next door, Henrietta's Restaurant on premises is really good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Tha rooms and facilities for meetings.
Cons: The food.
Location: Location is great,especially if you need to be near Harvard.
Rooms are excellent and very pleasant with nice view,nice pillows,towels and all kinds of toilleteries. The only extremely awful is the HENRIETTA'S restaurant i would fired right away the cook because the food is discusting.Everything in in can make you fat,for example the fish sandwish,the is no fish is pure cornmeal,discusting,i had to ask for more of the table bread,which was ok,so i could have something in my stomach. Change the menu or change staff,sorry but it was awful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

best fitness in boston

Posted Feb 11, 2017
free coffee all day long , great fitness center ... and the hotel lobby is not SAD and depressing like so many hotels in Boston
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Perfect Location in Harvard Square

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: moder, clean and efficient.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel is located minutes from Harvard Square and you can walk to Harvard Yard and all the good restaurants.
From my arrival to my departure, the staff was extremely helpful. As I arrived, my bags were taken from my car, valet parking took the car, registration was efficient and bags were promptly brought to my room. The rooms and hallways appear to have been recently renovated and nicely done. The room was clean, bed comfortable and the bathroom (shower only) was also newly renovated. So I have no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel right in harvard square

Posted Jan 15, 2017
We are frequent guests at the Charles and the staff is always incredibly helpful. Guest rooms have recently been conpletely redone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Love The Charles Hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Room decor updates and we had adjoining rooms! The holiday lights were welcoming too!
Cons: Maybe complimentary morning coffee in the lobby............
Location: Harvard.........Boston........a great place to be!
We were traveling to CT for the holidays and spent 1 night in Harvard Square. We love the location and the room updates are beautiful. Our boys also loved the TV in the bathroom mirror! Thank you for a very comfortable stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice spot

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay. Outstanding food and drink at Henrietta's Table in the Hotel. Super clean room and modern bath.