Ratings based on 957 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Well-appointed, well-run, well-located. No complaints
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

A Disappointing Room in an Excellent Hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The location of the hotel, which is close to restaurants, stores, the MBTA and everything you might want or need
Cons: Dirty walls and curtains in my room. The protruding legs on the Shaker-style bed--I tripped and fell over them. No tub.
Location: Legal Seafoods and Henrietta's are in the complex and superb. Nearby on Brattle Street is Toscana, a great Italian restaurant.
I've stayed at the Charles many times, beginning in 1986, the year it opened, and it's one of my favorite hotels. I've always loved the rooms, but this time I was put in #808, which was worse for wear. Although the surfaces were clean, the walls were dirty--fingerprints on the door frame, black scuff marks on the closet door, hair, dust and what looked like wine stains near the bed. The curtains had black scuff marks too, leading me to wonder what, exactly, had gone on there. I should have moved rooms, but my schedule was so busy that I decided to put up with it. In retrospect, I'm sorry I did: as my stay progressed, I kept noticing more dirt, most of which could have been cleaned without repainting. I also disliked shower-only aspect of the bathroom--what happened to the tub? The Charles is an expensive hotel that has been renovated at least twice that I can remember. It looks as if it's due for another go-around, but in the meantime what that room needs is a good scrubbing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Elegant and Homey

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Location: The concierge Fred was wonderful. He pointed out all the local must sees and told us how get there easily.
Loved the decor as furniture was modern but with homey accents. Henriettas Table in the hotel was a good restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Below My Expectation !

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The location is excellent. The staff is friendly.
Cons: Maintenance and Quality Control
The lighting in the room is very poor. The exhaust fan in the bathroom was out of order. After a shower, the mirror was covered with mist. One has to open the bathroom door and wait 3 minutes so the mist disappears before shaving.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 23, 2016
Cons: See above
There are not enough drawers in the room to put clothes in for two people. Also the bottom bed frames stick out at the corners and you hit your feet and toes on them - painful. Finally the desk chair is too low - it's suited to a much taller person than normal height.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great hotel, staff & location

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Over the top courteous staff and super comfy rooms
Cons: Pillows needed to be replaced. Had no firmness at all to them.
Location: Visit Crema Café 2 small blocks away for the best quiche you ever had.
Right in the heart of Harvard Square. Staff was fantastic. Watched a member of the staff give a guest his tie because he was late for a wedding and lost his. Not quite the shirt of his back, but close. Rooms are clean and super comfy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Great staff, wonderful rooms with updated tech, great location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Nice room, no views, terrible smell in the bathroom and entrance of the room. Expensive parking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Only issue was when I Found out I paid $200 more than a colleague staying at the same hotel during the same period of time - Pillows too soft Everything else was of a high standard expected of the price paid - location and quality of hotel.
5 out of 5
by Catherine from Bedminster, PA

Best hotel near Harvard

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
We were dropping our son off at Harvard's Pre-College Program, and this hotel's location was the best. We could walk to dinner (Legal Seafood right outside the door), and to his dorm on the Harvard campus. The room was clean and the linens were comfortable. We needed a room with 2 beds. The beds are only full-size, so it was small compared to our normal king-size bed.