Ratings based on 985 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winfield, United States of America

Most convenient hotel for my purposes.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Very convenient. Other hotels around Harvard not as nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 30, 2016
What to say but that it was wonderful from the moment we entered until we left? Delicious breakfast in our room, appropriate and tasteful snacks, comfort all about, kindness, quiet...peace
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for visit to Cambridge

Posted Nov 28, 2016
We have family living nearby, but need a hotel to stay in when we visit. The last time I stayed at the Charles was in 1999, and it seemed better than I remembered it. Enjoyed our breakfasts in Henrietta's restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manhattan

Luxury hotel in Harvard Square

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Appearance, views, location and service were all at top level.
Cons: Very first contact at check-in was perfectly cordial, but a little cool.
Location: We wanted to walk around Harvard University and it couldn't be better located for that. Also very close to interesting stores and restaurants.
Enjoyed the luxe appearance of public spaces. Rooms were not low-priced, but the mid-price one we had was flawless. Excellent view and appointments. Mini bar spectacular but we didn't use it (never do). I couldn't operate shower, but my son could. Very fine service in every context. Bar Noir was beautiful with reasonably priced drinks and memorable service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Northport, United States of America

Excellent as usual with one exception

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Unfortunately I first got put in a room that overlooked the pool and the chlorine smell was absolutely overpowering. The room is essentially uninhabitable. I'm shocked that it has not been retired. I immediately got put into a different room and everything was fine thereafter.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Great location just down the street from Harvard. Rooms were small, but clean and nice. Only complaint was a somewhat uncomfortable bed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice, but pricey!

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Location!
Cons: The rooms are too expensive. Same with parking. There are alternatives...
Nicely located. A fine hotel, but abit too pricey to encourage regular patronage.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Well-appointed, well-run, well-located. No complaints
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

A Disappointing Room in an Excellent Hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The location of the hotel, which is close to restaurants, stores, the MBTA and everything you might want or need
Cons: Dirty walls and curtains in my room. The protruding legs on the Shaker-style bed--I tripped and fell over them. No tub.
Location: Legal Seafoods and Henrietta's are in the complex and superb. Nearby on Brattle Street is Toscana, a great Italian restaurant.
I've stayed at the Charles many times, beginning in 1986, the year it opened, and it's one of my favorite hotels. I've always loved the rooms, but this time I was put in #808, which was worse for wear. Although the surfaces were clean, the walls were dirty--fingerprints on the door frame, black scuff marks on the closet door, hair, dust and what looked like wine stains near the bed. The curtains had black scuff marks too, leading me to wonder what, exactly, had gone on there. I should have moved rooms, but my schedule was so busy that I decided to put up with it. In retrospect, I'm sorry I did: as my stay progressed, I kept noticing more dirt, most of which could have been cleaned without repainting. I also disliked shower-only aspect of the bathroom--what happened to the tub? The Charles is an expensive hotel that has been renovated at least twice that I can remember. It looks as if it's due for another go-around, but in the meantime what that room needs is a good scrubbing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Elegant and Homey

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Location: The concierge Fred was wonderful. He pointed out all the local must sees and told us how get there easily.
Loved the decor as furniture was modern but with homey accents. Henriettas Table in the hotel was a good restaurant.