Ratings based on 1,249 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Charming and elegant home away from home.

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Lovely and welcoming, you feel as though this could be your flat in Paris! The staff never fails to greet you and make you feel at home, always offering assistance. The lobby is exquisite and the rooms - very spacious and well appointed. The beds are something to look forward to after a long day of exploring - they are soooo comfortable! The location is what originally attracted me, close to Berklee, the T, MFA, shops and restaurants on Newberry St. at the Prudential, etc. and an easy walk or train ride to everywhere you want to be!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient Location

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Location and service.
Cons: Updating room.
Staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. Perfect service. Our view was of a brick wall and trash compactors but that ended up being good, we think. It was certainly quiet and we rested well, which might not have happened if we had a view. Room does need some updating and you could tell parts of it had not been cleaned for a while. Our stay was comfortable but I would pick a different place next time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from msp

Fabulous.... Old school hotel!!!

Posted Apr 20, 2016
We loved our stay! Our only complaint was the room service. The food was way to Asian inspired for room service. The hamburger was terrible as the butter noodles drenched in butter. As long as you stay away from restaurant you will love hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Like Going Home

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Location, old world ambiance, and great restaurant!
Cons: I can't find anything to improve.
Location: Close to so many colleges. Shopping on Newbury Street in very convenient. You can walk to a Red Sox Game. And the river is close to do a nice run.
I stay in Boston often & look forward to my stays at the Eliot Hotel. The staff is always very welcoming and remembers me from the moment I step out of the car to the time I leave. The rooms are always consistently clean and comfortable. The location is so centrally located for shopping and running along the river. But the huge perk now is the expansion of the restaurant Uni on the ground floor of the hotel-by far my favorite restaurant in Boston!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

The Best

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: Location! Service!
Cons: Heat is loud.
First time, but definitely not last visit to the Eliot. This will be my go hotel from every visit onward. Great quality. On the day I arrived it was very windy and I was jet lagged and wanted to sleep. You get upgraded to a suite A LOT here (told to me by an insider)cause it has few normal rooms. My room had a window that faced the flagpole and was loud due to wind. One phone call and they REMOVED it for me. Great service. Oh and midnight ramen in the place restaurant downstairs=bonus. Only downside is heaters need replacement and work but are LOUD. They wake you up (light sleepers) everytime they kick in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful but disappointing

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: Great location, beautiful lobby, nice room decor, comfortable bed with variety of pillows, free wi-fi.
Cons: Water pressure in the shower; variety of room service menu; room temperature regulation.
Great location, beautiful decor, very clean but just misses the mark. Stayed here for five nights. Ordered room service 3 times and they messed up the order every single time. Also, room service menu is very limited - there was not one single item that was appealing for dinner (no roasted chicken; no steak; but they do offer cheeseburger with kimchi - not quite my taste). Room temperature is difficult to control - even at lowest setting room was uncomfortably warm at night. Shower is so weak that I was cold while standing in a hot shower. When maid service replaced minibar items they left a bag of popcorn that had been opened and jammed fridge so full that it wasn't closed and everything was warm. Ordered 2 glasses of Chardonnay from Clio to take to the room. They only had one Chardonnay by the glass - charge was $37 for the 2!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty historic building, good location.

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Tricky for taking the car in and out due to the heavy traffic in front of the hotel but only one block from the T which was very convenient for use of public transportation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Pros: Great service, convenient location, incredibly clean.
Cons: n/a
Location: Great restaurants close by and centrally located.
Great service, convenient location, incredibly clean. Couldn't have been more pleased with it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Birthday for Three

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: The location, the spaciousness of the room, and the attractive, welcoming lobby.
Three of us (around 60 years old) shared our respective birthdays at the Eliot Saturday night, March 12. We had room 404 which had two double beds and a pull-out sofa in the living room, which was separated by French doors. I was concerned that it would be noisy because of its proximity to the elevator, but I guess the room is so well sound-proofed it was wonderfully quiet. This room was perfect for us. We loved our stay. I stayed at the Fairmont Copley last spring, for more money, and prefer the Eliot. I just wish the overnight parking was more reasonably priced, and a continental breakfast be included in the room charge. However, we had the continental breakfast room service and it was quite affordable at $21, and fed the three of us. The fare was delicious, too. The hotel's location is another plus.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Very nice hotel, well located. Great service. Comfortable rooms.