Ratings based on 1,392 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Feb 21, 2017
The staff was very accommodating. Helped us pick out great eating spots in town. They gave us great tips on getting around town. The hotel is a reasonable distance from the Freedom Trail (must do!).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Wonderful staff, beautiful hotel!

Posted Jan 28, 2017
I came in extremely early and my room was not ready yet. The staff made a rush to get the room cleaned and was able to check me in within 30 minutes. They truly went above and beyond! The hotel is stunning and is in walking distance to Newbury Street for shopping. The restaurant UNI downstairs was Bostons #1 restaurant in 2016, and the title was well earned! The food was SO good. Will definitely be revisiting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from falmouth, ma

Lovely hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Cons: Bathroom size. Red wine in mini bar. Centrally located ice machine.
Location: Copley Square and the Prudential a short walk away.
Great location for Back Bay. Small and quiet with very spacious rooms. Staff was very accommodating. Bathroom was a bit small compared to the living space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Providence RI

Quiet, elegant, nicely updated small Boston hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Easy walk to Newbury St shopping, Prudential Center, Copley Square, Symphony Hall, and not that much farther to the Garden/Common - or to Kenmore Sq.
Only thing I would suggest is easier availability of coffee/tea, otherwise perfect! All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Back Bay location ideal for walking (we were there for the post election march 1/21, and a full day for the seeing the MFA 1/22). Off season rates a real bargain for this facility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
The Eliot was perfect for our stay in Boston. It was easily walkable to Newbury Street and also very handy to one of the hop on / hop off trolley stops so exploring the rest of the city was a breeze. Our room was really lovely and spacious and all of the hotel staff were friendly and courteous. Special mention to the hotel restaurant, Uni - WOW! The food and service there was incredible. My mouth is watering recalling some of the dishes we tried!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Wonderful staff, and hotel is in a good location close to museums Fenway and Newbury St shopping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

i can't say enough about the Eliot!!

Posted Dec 29, 2016
My husband and I spent two nights here to celebrate Christmas. The Eliot hotel is one of the loveliest I have stayed in, and we travel through out the world (Spain, Italy, France, London and Toronto last year). Although a small hotel, the staff is helpful, and the rooms are very generous, with a separate sitting area, and they are meticulously maintained. My room had views of the very pretty Commonwealth Ave. The hotel is just around the corner from the shops and restaraunts of Newbury Street, close to the Public Garden and Boston Common, and also very close to a subway station. I'd also highly recommend the hotel's restaraunt, Uni, especially the Omakase. While pricey, some of the best Japanese food I have ever had. And the craft cocktails are not to be missed!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Unfortunately lacking

Posted Dec 8, 2016
The doormen were rude. Valet was stressed out that they had two guests who needed valet at one time, had no idea how to handle such a normal hotel occurrence. They forgot to tell me that getting your car before 7am is nearly impossible b/c no one there has a driver license. Front desk was also unprofessional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Posted Dec 7, 2016
We stayed for just a night. The hotel staff from the front door to the front desk were pleasant and efficient. The room was clean ans comfortable. However, it is very dated. There is quaint and there is dated. This was definitely the latter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Dec 7, 2016
No room upgrade for elite plus member. Amenities for elite plus member was a bit light, 2 bottles water and 3 chocolate chips.