Ratings based on 759 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room smelled of cigarette smoke

Posted Apr 29, 2016
We tried 2 different rooms and they both smelled of smoke. Hotel says that all rooms are smoke free and have never been smoking rooms. No way. The swimming pool was also a green algae mess and it was closed to swimming. The neigh hood was sketchy and men hold alcohol in brown bags were walking around the property.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dawsonville, GA

No way three stars

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: Checking out and getting out of there.
Cons: Demolish it.
Location: We loved seeing Charleston and all its attractions. Cool place and great restaurant town.
This place was a dump. It looked like the 1970's. Refrigerator was so loud had to unplug it. The bath fan sounded like a jet engine. There was a noise from other room that was loud and constant. There were barking dogs in the room next door. One night had a maintenance guy banging on our door at 9 PM asking us to turn our air conditioning on so he could work on the unit. The check in staff was rude.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spartanburg sc

Smelled, very old, staff were terrible

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Staff check in was not friendly, very old out dated run down, left my phone charger called several times same day as check out told them where it was in the room and they said they could not find it. I do not care for people that are dishonest and steal from you. The price of stay was outrageous for this rundown hotel it is a disgrace to the Wyndam name. Would not stay again or recommend to anyone
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin, OH

Disgustingly dirty

Posted Apr 20, 2016
The filth was beyond any hotel . Never stay here . Every hotel was booked and we travelled 11 hours so had no choice but to stay . See my pics . There is a max of 6 but I have so many pictures . By the way my brother had an 11week old baby and killed 2 cockroaches in his room . I paid almost $800 for 2 nights and two rooms . I want my money back . I've got nothing good to say . They had a breakfast but ran out of everything at 9 and never refilled anything . No eggs no bacon . They had cereal but no milk and we waited for 20 minutes . The staff could careless. We had a coffee maker in our room and they gave us coffee but not pot???? Tried to use my own cup ( Bc there were none ) and burnt my hand. I sent an email to the main chain of hotels and have heard nothing back yet from Wyndham Hawthorn.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: The layout of the room, the comfort of the bed and the full kitchen.
Cons: Cleanliness of the common areas in the room definitely need to be kept up better. Ie. The chairs.
Location: There is a mall, movie theater, plenty restaurants and a wal Mart not even 10 minutes away.
My biggest peeve upon arrival was the limited amount of tight parking. The rooms had a really nice layout. Loved it but I wasn't able to sit on the sofa in front of the tv because it was so filthy. Thank goodness the tv could turn. The kitchen was clean but the chairs in there werent clean either. Not as nasty as the sofa but still...The next morning, staff knocked on the door 15 minutes before checkout and let herself in to say that it was time. That really irritated me but my overall experience was satisfactory. I would stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Looking for a hotel close to the airport

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: Nice suite, good price. Breakfast wasn't bad, but not excellent either.
Cons: Almost everything
Location: Right next to the freeway; NOT close to the airport. 20 minute drive, and had to go through rush hour.
I have trouble believing this hotel is associated with Wyndham. The price was good, probably because I booked it late the same evening I was checking in. I had to park in the last space available, down by the dumpsters. Nice kitchen, including coffee and dishwasher soap packets, but NO UTENSILS, PLATES, or DRINKING GLASSES OR CUPS at all. It's the first hotel of any level I've ever been in that doesn't give you at least a disposable cup. The towels in the bathroom look like they were folded and arranged by a four-year-old. I had real trouble climbing up onto the extremely high mattress, which was balanced on top of two twin bed box springs. It was okay and the price was really good, but not really up to Wyndham quality!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burlington, VT

Hotel Gross, Dirty, No Privacy DO NOT STAY HERE

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: NOTHING!
Cons: Everything. Cleanliness was a HUGE concern. Privacy was invaded even though we had a do not disturb sign. Location did not feel save. No utensils/cups
This hotel was completely disgusting. We arrived and checked into our room, which I would loosely say is a "suite." The room was clearly cleaned in haste, there was toothpaste residue all over the front of the bathroom vanity (I hope to god it was toothpaste if you know what I mean.) There was a pile of dirt behind the door in the bathroom, the floors were extremely sticky (to the point that I wore shoes the entire time I was in the room.) The kitchen only had pans and plates--there was not a single cup in the room (not even the cheap plastic one use kind), no silverware, or any type of utensils. I don't know how they expected anyone to actually use the kitchen without these items. If we were staying for any longer than we did, I would have demanded a refund and stayed elsewhere. The location was not good either. Also, it looks like they tried to do updates to the hotel, but all that was done in our room was hastily installed fake wood flooring. They did a horrendous job and there were large sections missing. Last, we had a "Do not Disturb" Sign on our door as we didn't trust the cleaning staff after seeing the lack of cleanliness upon arriving. We came back to our room one evening and our door handle/lock had been replaced! They had clearly entered our room even though we had the sign on the door, and we had to go all the way to the front desk for a new key card as ours no longer worked. They didn't even mention this upon arrival which is completely unacceptable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Pros: I hated it.
Cons: Everything. The staff, the rooms, housekeeping, maintenance.
Location: Some food chains and a mall.
DO NOT STAY HERE!!! The staff has no idea how to run a hotel and the rooms are dirty. I arrived to dirty linens and towels and the dishwasher had standing water in the bottom of it. Lamps were obviously missing from beside the bed and the locks were changed in the middle of my stay. The new keys never worked and I had to be let into my room by the staff for the last half of my stay. I'm trying to get in touch with management but they seem to be avoiding the whole situation. In talking with other visitors, it seems their rooms were affected too. Choose somewhere else. Seriously!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2016
I only stay. One. Night. But. I slept. Like. Baby. There. It. Was. Nice. Environment to. Be. At. Just missing. Da beach
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Keep looking!

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: The bed was comfortable.
Cons: Quite literally, everything.
Upon arrival, our room smelled like smoke and the headboard lamp was visibly broken from the door. Requested queen, got a double. Complained to office and was moved to a queen room which definitely smelled better but...... the walls are paper thin- we got very little sleep due to external noise, the hot water handle came off on our hand when turned water on/off, housekeeping did not come to our room at all 2 of the four days so we had to go to the office to ,and on the last day we discovered bugs crawling around in the sink coming out of the garbage disposal which we complained about as well. Not once did a manager offer an apology, an upgrade, a discount. NOTHING. If this were a personal trip I would have moved hotels but since it was booked through my work, we just rode it out. I have always used Wyndham Suites in the past but I will never stay at another one after this. I paid for a Wyndham but got Motel 6.