Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Poor communication

Posted Oct 3, 2016
We were authorized a 12:00 check out. The housekeeping crews wrte knocking on our door at 10:20. I told them we had a 12:00 ceck out. At 11:00 another member knocked on the door. You would think there would be some communication about who has checked out and who hasn't.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Memphis

Doesn't meet Super 8 standards

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
We just needed an inexpensive motel for an overnight stay. Other Super 8's have proved excellent when we travel. They are well kept, clean and offer a nice breakfast. Not so here. Although it was basically clean; i.e. clean sheets, no dust, etc., it is hard to overlook the musty smell, rusty and clogged shower head, rust in tub and sink corners, cracked wood in the furniture. The outlets were in places where you had to search and bend under furniture to find them. Yes, a big deal with all the electronics we have to charge these days. The blankets were paper rough and paper thin. The breakfast was the bare minimum. Nothing hot or fresh cooked at all. Cold cereals, cinnamon rolls (no other choices), coffee, tea, maybe a couple other things. Whoever owns this motel takes no pride in it. We will continue to stay at Super 8's for our stopovers, just not this one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average Room

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The bed was real nice as well as the pillows.
Cons: Have a dedicated floor or wing for smokers vs non smokers.
The hotel is centrally located to Mentor and the freeways. It has a variety of restaurants nearby. The rooms offer an iron, ironing board, tv, microwave, coffee service, refrigerator and hair dryer. They offer a moderate continental breakfast which is nice and opens at 6 am. The bed was comfortable and silent. The air conditioning worked moderately well. We had it set to 76 at night and it was almost there. The reason for the middle of the road review is because we are non smokers. The hotel does not have a dedicated floor or wing to non smokers. The rooms are mixed within the complex and the smell is really bad in hallways and entrances. Our room didn't smell but when we used the bathroom fan, it drew the smokey hallway into our room. It was very upsetting to walk through the smell to get to our room each night. I would give it a 4 star if they could fix the smells.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basics

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: The room was pretty nice. The bed and pillows were nice and the air worked well.
Cons: Have a dedicated floor or hallway for non smokers.
Location: Very centrally located to the freeway and a multitude of restaurants.
The room is nice, the bed comfortable and nice shower. It has a microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and board and safe. They also have a very nice continental breakfast. The only problem we had is that the hotel mixes the rooms non smoking and smoking. They don't have a dedicated floor or wing for non smokers. The hallways are very smokey and it somewhat leaks into our non smoking room. People smoking in rooms leave their doors open and it floats out into hallways. So although it met our needs very nicely as far as the room, the smoke is awful and I wouldn't stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Driving home from Chicago to New York and needed a reasonably priced, clean room close to the highway for a one night stay. Hotel met our needs perfectly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mentor, OH Super 8

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Cons: Paint over the green walls & make them the same color as the ones in the room. Remove the sofa in the registration lobby, replace the breakfast tables
Location: There really was not much to do near by. There were a few restaurants but nothing to else.
The hallways and rooms of the hotel smelled like cigarettes and smoke. That was not pleasing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor response to fire alarm.

Posted Jul 5, 2016
A fire alarm went off during the night. The guests all had to go to the office to find out what was going on. It was a false alarm and had to be turned off by the fire department. It was finally turned off only to go off again in a few minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2016
good breakfast good waffles and comfy beds. very clean. inexpensive
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Not the nicest place but it is convenient. Average hotel at best. But good for rest stop.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Good for a one night stay

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Hotel is good for the price. Clean rooms (if you truly want non-smoking make sure you request the lower room numbers (i.e. 101 - 114 etc.) as there are designated smoking rooms on the other wing and the smoke carries. Cleaning staff was most helpful in getting our room switched. Breakfast is nothing spectacular but gets you something to eat and drink before hitting the road again.