Ratings based on 2,044 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Smells like cigarettes in the hall not too clean Breakfast not recommendable very limited staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Just a nice hotel .it was great very accommodating
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lack of Security and FILTHY

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Room wasn't cleaned the entire four days, even though I requested it from the front desk and tracked down cleaning staff walking around the hotel daily. Hallways were filthy. Carpets not vacuumed and dirty dishes sat on the table outside the elevator all day. Only one elevator worked the entire four day stay. Didn't ask for my name or ID when I requested a room key. At 11pm at night while OK was in bed, someone put a room key in the door and the door opened three inches till the safety lock stopped it. Could have been assaulted. Horrible experience!!!!!! So many hotels in the area, many cheaper, all nicer. Don't waste your money on this place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2016
The Red Lion is great for its price. Although one elevator was out of order, the staff made swift accommodations with pleasant smiles.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Had a terrible experience at this hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Cons: Housekeeping, comfort of beds
Even though it's a 3 and 1/2 stars hotel, it did not meet our expectations at all. Upon our checking-in we found that the linens on bed were not changed at all. We saw a lot of hair and dirty spots on linen, and they did not smell fresh at all. Obviously, they didn't bother to change linens and pillow cases after previous guests. Bathroom was also not clean: dirty sink, bathtub, toilet and floors. After our request they moved us to another similar room where we saw exactly the same situation with dirty linens and not clean bathroom. After our second request, they couldn't provide us with another room, but sent housekeepers to change the linens. Rooms were also short of towels. Really? Just two bath towels and two hand towels for the suite with king bed and sofa-bed that can accommodate 3 people? Breakfast was also not included. Over all disappointing experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Old Radisson. New Brand. Horribly maintained.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Needs serious capital improvements
Location: Good location. Worst hotel of hit's comparable set.
I was familiar with this hotel when it was a Radisson. It seems it has new ownership now and was rebranded with a Red Lion flag. I can guarantee the new ownership invested $0 to very little in renovations, which the hotel desperately needed. Broken elevators. Missing fire detectors. Broken Sleep Number beds. Bad smell in hallways. Stickers on signage to cover up the "Radisson" brand, rather than replacing them with proper signage. It's no surprise we paid $65 for the night. I can guarantee this hotel is not profitable and will likely be a very bad investment for the new ownership group, who will spend more money carrying it than making the proper improvements from the beginning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel in Jacksonville.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: I liked that the air conditioning was like in a home ant not installed in the wall like most motels do.
Cons: Nothing - and I got the room at a great price!
Location: The location is great. I don't know about things nearby as we were just driving thru on our way to NC.
Because I am unfamiliar with Jacksonville, don't see really well when driving at night, and had to contend with road construction barriers, barrels, etc. I had a difficult time finding this hotel. The location is excellent and our stay was fabulous. I just wish I could have found it without driving around in circles for 1/2 hour, but that's on me.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thanksgiving holiday

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Overall, the stay was good. The hotel was very nice, desk people were very friendly, all hotel staff were actually. The only 2 things that we didn't like were: 1. When we got back to the hotel on Thanksgiving day at about 10 at night, our room hadn't been cleaned, including emptying the trash or providing clean towels. When we asked, we were told that the cleaning team had gone for the night, but they would clean it first thing in the morning (they did.) After that day though, they only left us 3 towels when there were 4 of us in the room. 2. They don't tell you, nor is it labeled, but there is a switch to the right of the bed that is the A/C. We couldn't figure out why it wasn't getting cold in our room, until the maintenance guy came up and told us to flip that switch. Then it came on just fine. We kept adjusting the thermostat, but it would just get hotter.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Better than expected.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Everything was great from the staff, the room and the location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Security nightmare & filthy

Posted Nov 27, 2016
AT 11PM, WHILE I WAS IN BED, SOMEONE USED A KEYCARD WHICH OPENED THE DOOR!!!??? Manager is aware, I told front desk if I was not given her personal cell phone number, I was calling the police. Had the safety lock not stopped the door after it opened 3 inches, I could have been assaulted. It even started bad. Moved 3x within 15 minutes of check-in because the first 2 rooms weren't clean. Stayed for 4 nights. No one cleaned our room the entire time. I tracked down a cleaning person who said they were making there easy to my room but by 8pm, no one came. I went to a different floor, found an abandon cart, and took my own towels and more shampoo. Dirty carpets, tile floors and garbage everywhere, I.e. in floors praise of rooms, on table by elevator, .. Even the garbage outside the main entrance was so full, I couldn't fit my water bottles in. Don't book this place!