Ratings based on 572 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2017
The bed was terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Mandi Johl - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay. We hope that you will think about giving us another chance, as we are working on replacing our Sleep Number beds, with non sleep number beds.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, Fl

Would be a nice place but experience was terrible!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: It was very close to places to eat. Dave and Busters is walking distance. Rooms are nice when the beds and AC work. Central location.
Cons: Rooms need to be checked that everything works. Fix the elevator; why is the pool closed exactly? Construction over occupied rooms should be avoided.
Location: Dave and Busters can be seen from the front door. Quiet, even though its right next to the highway. Huge plaza with tons of food within a short drive.
The first room we were assigned to was 202. The sleep number bed did not work and was set to a very hard setting. We asked to switch to another "corner" room and were assigned to 303, (which is not a corner room.) This time, the AC did not work. We waited just in case until we called the front desk. Maintenance told us to wait and asked us how many minutes we had been there. We told him "3 hours". He seemed surprised but told us to wait anyway. We left and came back; the temperature was the same. We switched to another room. Finally, we were in a corner room with AC (Thanks, Tiffany.) However, our neighbors in 303 were having relationship problems. They punched the walls and screamed. Not just in the room, but in the halls, too. I heard there were even complaints from room 311 about them. I have recordings of their fights if management would like to hear them. We even played them to the people at the front desk. There is some vulgarity. Then, early in the morning, I was awoken to hammering in the room above us. This happened both nights we stayed, but Amanda was kind enough to ask them to stop. That made no difference because I was unable to fall back asleep both times. This hotel would be one I would frequent, but the lack of control drives me away. I would like to stay again but this experience was completely disappointing. I'm sorry but the standards and complications are a deterrent. The elevator is still out of order and the pool was closed due to "maintenance".
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Mandi Johl - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the feedback, Heather. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Our elevator is back up and running now. Also, the pool is closed because we have been working on the concrete on the deck, and because the breaker box for the pool pump was needing to be replaced. Due to the season, it is the best time to close the pool for these maintenance issues. We apologize for the noise that was taking place on the 4th floor while you were occupying your room, and also the guests in the room next door. I am glad to hear that Tiffany and Amanda were able to help you while you were here. I will be contacting Expedia in reference to your reservation, so they may contact you soon. Again, we do apologize, and we hope that you will be willing to give us a second chance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Checked in late with no problems, everything with the room was ready for us and was beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by M, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us next time that you are in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK Hotel near interstate and not far from beach

Posted Feb 3, 2017
My biggest complaint is that the bath tub was so slick I could hardly stand up while showering. Needs a mat or something to assist older people from falling. Internet speed was pitiful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Disappointed!

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Room acceptable and staff eager to please.
Cons: Fix stuff faster, because lots of competition.
Location: Had to drive 9 miles to get dining that was not fast food.
Waited too long for a so so Philly Steak sandwich, pool down, one of two elevators down causing long waits, no coffee replenishment in the room, free bottled water refilled (not new bottle). Breakfast although a decent buffet was $7.99 (not free). Overall rating of 4.1 was reason I chose the hotel, but I will not be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KY

Excellent value for the price!

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Rooms, lobby, staff, and housekeeping.
Cons: Fix the one elevator so people will stop whining.
Location: Easy access to interstate and beaches.
I almost cancelled my reservations because of previous recent negative reviews. The negative comments just did not apply. Yes one elevator does not work but it just did not present a problem during a busy weekend. There were no signs of construction and the staff was exceptionally friendly. Negative comments about housekeeping were completely undeserved. I would stay there again without hesitation and would recommend it to anyone visiting the Jacksonville area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Mandi Johl - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback, Jim! We appreciate your kind words about our staff, and about our hotel in general. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly hope to see you back again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha

Not going back

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Location was decent to shopping areas.
Cons: See earlier comments ... clearly, the ownership of this hotel needs to make maintenance a higher priority if they want to keep customers coming back.
Location: Decent shopping and restaurants.
The first night I had a Sleep Number bed that didn't adjust and it was like sleeping on a board all night. Horrible night's sleep ... I notified the front desk the next morning and they said they would have their staff look at it. When I returned that evening, it had not been fixed and the moved me to another room. In this one, the desk chair was broken and the height adjustment would not work so I had to pile pillows into it get it to a height that I could work at. The ethernet cables would not work in either room. During the entire stay, one of two elevators were non functional and the pool was closed. A pretty disappointing stay and I'll not be back during my next business trip to Jacksonville.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Mandi Johl - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback, Dan. We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay. We would love it if you could give us a second chance. We will work hard to fix the issues you experienced during your stay. Thank you for letting us know.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from savannah, ga

very convenient to Dave and Busters.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: the clean and nice room
Cons: maintenance on elevators, fitness room tv doesn't work, pool always closed, trash laying out back like mattresses toilets etc.
Location: great location to Dave and Busters, restaurants close by
This hotel has been excellent until new ownership. hopefully once they work out all the kinks it will be great again. the pool is always under maintenance and closed when we come. one elevator is broke and we were here 3 months ago and it was broke then. the staff at the desk and our maid was excellent. sometimes you hear a certain cleaning lady curse back and forth and sets a bad mood. we've seen this twice same lady in 3 months separate stays. overall the hotel is great as far as the rooms but some shady people hang out late at night at the front entrance. sort of makes you feel like this is turning into drug/bad girls hotel. The beds are not sleep numbers anymore. We will continue to give this place a try and hope that once the transition is 100 percent that it will be as awesome as it has always been. We mostly stay here every few months to take our kids to Dave and Busters which is walking distance but there are plenty of other name brand hotels also in walking distance so we might consider spending our money else where if it doesn't get a little better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More like a 2 star hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Paying this price I expected it to be a nicer hotel. I got a different hotel on a way back from my trip, paid $50 less and it was nicer than the Red Lion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Mandi Johl - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. We hope that you'll consider coming back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Overall my experience was great. The bed were beyond comfortable and it was exactly what the dr ordered for my short trip to Jacksonville.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Mandi Johl - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback! We are so pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please come back and stay with us next time you are in the area. We would be happy to make your next stay just as great as your last one.