Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Harvey

Worst Western instead of Best Western.

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
The water in the swimming pool was murky. The safe in the room was broken, the front desk told us that some other rooms had new safes and some had old safes some of them worked and some of them did not. They said will contact the maintenance guy but he was not on the premises, both days we were there he never showed up. The front desk and the people in the restaurant did not have good communication on what we should receive for breakfast. One day they said we got only fruit and coffee, and the next day, another person in the restaurant, said with our room we could have eggs, any way we wanted, oatmeal, or fruit, and coffee. There was no TV guide or program guide in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

Good 2.5 star Hotel in a not so good City

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on CheapTickets
2 queen size bedroom are large clean and recently renovated making the stay pleasant. However, upon arrival, the AC was not working in the room we checked in. Was changed to a new room. Room was also pleasant but appeared that the shower was running out of hot water. First shower, water was only trickling. Second shower, water was flowing but even when turning on the hot water only, the water was only warm and not hot. The head of the new shower already needs to be replaced. Pool is somewhat nice but on the second day when outside temperatures reached 100 degrees, the pool water was yellowish indicating a lack of chlorine and stat of algae growth (I have a pool at home and can recognize very well). They say they serve breakfast but it is very minimalist with a choice of one of the following: either toast, fruit, cereal or oak meal but none of combinations Restaurant serves decent food but no alcoholic drink or beer. However, one of the best hotel South of the Border near the American Consulate. Can walk to the open market safely during day. Although not perfect, would probably stay there again if I need a new visa.
2 out of 5
by Gerardo

There are better hotels in the area

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Breakfast was too basic. Coffee and some fruit. Lack of variety
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to everything in the downtown vicinity

Posted Feb 3, 2017
It was frustrating not to get hot water in the morning when getting in the shower took at least 3 to 5 min to get it going
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel,need changes

Posted Jan 20, 2017
A/C did not services Impresora did not services Workers are very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2017 by BW Plaza Matamoros, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments we are improving our service
5 out of 5
by Francisco

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Muchas gracias
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Wel located in downtown Matamoros, easy access
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2015
This is a very great hotel! The staff are all very friendly and nice. The restaurant in the hotel has good Mexican food. The location is also very good, very close to the local market area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Juan from Tampico, Tamaulipas, Mexico

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2013
Pros: The hotel most have a better price.
Cons: Maybe the pool area could be improved
Location: It's near to the American consulate in matamoros, you do not need a car, bus and taxi for go to the consulate.
Very clean, good hotel facilities and in good conditions in general. The price is a little bit expensive by the concept that the hotel is. In General very good hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place To Stay!

Posted Apr 14, 2013
Pros: The location and value.
Cons: The continental breakfast and lukewarm hot water showers
Location: Close to shopping, inexpensive restaurants, and pretty safe.
I travel to Matamoros pretty regularly. Just returned from Matamoros yesterday. This is my first stay at this particular hotel. The Continental Breakfast leaves much to be desired if you are one who needs a "filling" breakfast to start the day. You have a choice of 4 set menus. The staff worked hard to make sure our stay was pleasant, even after an honest mistake with the billing. The manager was quick to fix the mistake to my satisfaction and I commend him for the quick action. The hotel is in a safe area. It is also a quiet neighborhood. it was a 2 minute walk to the marketplace which you could find inexpensive meals and local items to buy. There are other nicer restaurants in the area. We ate at one around the corner and the food was very good and the amount you get was huge. The square (town plaza) is about a 10 to min walk. The room was comfortable. The air conditioner kept the room cool. If you like hot water showers, the best time to get it is in the morning. The pool and the small workout gym suited our purpose. Having access to the free wifi was nice since I had a smart phone. The hotel's only computer was often busy. I would recommend this hotel with out any reservation.