Ratings based on 3,541 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

20 year anniversary

Posted Mar 21, 2017
We had the most perfect stay at the Monteleone. Hallways and room were clean and smelled nice. We didn't see anything that wasn't maintained properly. The bar was absolutely beautiful with lots of nooks and places to sit all providing a different atmosphere. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend it to anyone. Charming, lively and Beautiful, all the perks of a newer hotel but with the history and charm of an older hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Went to NOLA for my wife's Birthday. Hotel Monteleone with the Carousel Bar was excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

French Quarter easy

Posted Mar 21, 2017
They messed up the first night reservation. Had confirmed for two beds and they changed to one bed. So I paid over $400 to sleep on the floor the first night and got a breakfast voucher for my discomfort. Such a small room, there was hardly room to sleep on the floor. The room for the rest of the stay was the way it should have been from the start! Charming old hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

Excellent!

Posted Mar 20, 2017
This is the best hotel in the quarter. Close to everything. Staff is friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location! Hotel was perfect

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Carousel bar is very cool and the staff is very friendly and welcoming
Cons: Nothing
Location: Perfect location and everything is in walking distance
Located in the heart of it all so if you don't have a car there is tons of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Came for Mardi Gras and had a wonderful time! I highly recommend this hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Wishing for the old opulence

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Have stayed here before in the 1990's. BAck then the hotel's rooms were twice as big and the bathroom was huge. I guess they redid the rooms and we were stuck in a tiny room with the tiniest bathroom. No room to get up close to the mirror for makeup application. The old grandeur I experienced before was completely absent. Hotel room might as well have been a La Quinta as it was nondescript and not beautiful at all. For the almost $500 per night I paid to stay here I expected luxury and beauty. So sad that they destroyed those things by trying to pack more rooms in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Great location.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: All rooms should have windows.
Location: In the French Quarter. Everything is in walking distance.
Location was great. Hotel is beautiful. Only 1 of 2 elevators that went to our floor worked, causing a long wait for the elevators. We were on the 15th floor so stairs were not an option. Our room didn't have a window, which wasn't advertised when we booked. I've never stayed in a room without a window and plan to never do that again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Great hotel, perfect location and very friendly helpful staff. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from okc

Great location

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: bar
Location: french quarter
The hotel is in a great location, right in the french quarter. the hotel appears old but everything is in excellent shape, the hotel staff makes this a " Grand Old Lady," always will stay there. see you next year.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Decent hotel, not great

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Baggage check guys were great. Fast, but funny. Real personality. Beds were comfortable. Wifi worked well.
Cons: Fix the freakin' elevator.
Location: Great location. Right in the heart of the French Quarter. One street off Bourbon.
Decent hotel in French Quarter. Good location, but didn't live up to the price. My 2nd time to Mardi Gras. First time, stayed at the J.W. Marriott, which cost less and was better in just about every way. Unfortunately, it was sold out. Monteleone was OK, but: - One of the two elevators to our tower was down the entire stay. You know Mardi Gras traffic is coming and you can't do maintenance? Seriously, every trip up or downstairs involved a lengthy wait for the one working elevator. - Seems like they didn't do any soundproofing on the rooms. We could hear every hallway conversation, and hear our neighboring rooms every move. Seemed odd for a high end hotel. - They put plastic on the lobby carpet during Mardi Gras. OK, you expect drunk people, got it. But for $600/night and you're sold out, can't you afford to clean or replace the carpets if they get messed up? You gotta make 'em look like great grandma's couch with the plastic still on it?