Ratings based on 999 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel with problems!

Posted Nov 29, 2016
We had to have 3 different rooms in a 4 night stay. We paid for a non-smoking room and they put us in a smoking room. We had to change rooms. They put us in a 2nd room with barely any warm water and the microwave door wouldn't work. The 2nd day water started dripping out the ceiling light. We had to move to a 3rd room so they could find the leak. Overall, a very disappointing stay. On a positive note, the cable selection was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Worst vacation I've ever had.

Posted Nov 20, 2016
We were NOT told about "biker week"! Here are just some of the awful things that made this the worst vacation ever: door lock was in a partially rusted-out door frame; bikers and their amazingly LOUD bikes came rolling in and filled the parking lot to overflowing; hard to have a conversation even inside the room; bikers began revving up around noon EVERYDAY and didn't stop until midnight EVERY NIGHT. The venders took the handicapped parking, as well as the whole area next to the hotel rooms. NEVER AGAIN!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
The room was disgusting, but the bathroom was the worst. I attached pictures, I'm pretty sure there was black mold right above the tub in bathroom. I will never stay there again..you get what you pay for. The pictures online are very deceiving. I asked for another room and they had "just sold the last one" The only thing good about this hotel was the gulf front view. The air conditioner also had a leak, so we couldn't even sit outside and enjoy the view. I will pay more and get more for my money next time. I'll be staying at the Origen across the street next time, I don't mind walking across the street to the public beaches. I am going to contact the hotel to make sure there isn't black mold in the restroom, very unhealthy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA

Run down old hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2016
The location is perfect BUT the hotel is old and run down. The phone didn't work. Hair dryer didn't work. AC leaked inside room so the carpet was wet. The balcony door wouldn't shut completely. Two eyes on the stove didn't work. No dishes. Carpet dirty. Our feet stayed black.Beds hard and loud. Pillows were small and lumpy. There is not enough parking so you have to park across the street at their sister hotel. Not fun with groceries. Blah!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TN

AWFUL

Posted Oct 13, 2016
I will never be back! The door had one lock! No double lock, like every hotel I have always stayed at has. There was not a telephone in the room! There was not a luggage rack in the room to set your luggage on. The bathroom door knob sliced my finger open! There was trash on the private balcony. The cleaning ladies were very loud talkers every morning we were there, right outside our room. The main parking lot stays full because it is shared with a restaurant & yes they have overflow parking across the street. The refrigerator was rusted all over it. It was awful! At least I can say we did not see any bugs! Oh & when I paid for the room over the phone with my debit card, I paid in full & then they took out $120 without my knowledge, they did credit it back to me quickly, but had no explanation as to why they did it in the first place!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from georgia

Room was infested with ants in the mattress

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: The staff tried to be helpful however the overall facility is very run down . It was located next to sharkys which is a fun place to eat
Cons: The room was infested with ants in the mattress and bathroom! We had to move rooms 3 times in a four day stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

One of the best bargains ever.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
The staff were very helpful, and it was the best rate we could have hoped for. The rooms are older, but we didn't live in the room, we basically just slept there. Right on the beach!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tennessee

Overall

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Location...pet friendly
Cons: Paint and new flooring
Location: Food...beach
Old not well kept. Excellent location. Pet friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Bugs on the counter. Mattress old felt like sleeping straight on springs, pillows horrible. Stains on towels.parking was awful, they share parking and you couldn't move your car if you expecred to be able to park when you returned.this was the worst hotel i have ever stayed in.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Nice view, hotel was a dump!

Posted Sep 25, 2016
I am normally not avery fussy person but this place is a rat trap! I should have seen the big red flag that I had to sign paperwork for no refunds on checking out early. When I first got to the elevator I noticed that the expiration on the service was 8/1/16. I prayed for my life everytime I had to use it. (I took the stairs unless I was bringing stuff in or out) then when I get into the room I notice stains on the carpet, black mold in the bathroom and tiny ants all over the balcony. The beds were also hard as a rock. I then tried to call down to the office to voice my complaints and of course the phone didn't work. They have the tiniest parking lot that is shared with sharkys so finding a spot is almost impossible and for over 100$ a night I am not walking across the busy street everytime to park. Many people who weren't even staying at the hotel were taking up the lot and using the private beach access taking away from the paying customers. Lastly it says on their site that you have to pay for WiFi and after having no service I decided to pay for it and I was informed by the woman at the counter that the WiFi is free.. would have been nice to know from the beginning. I wasn't expecting this hotel to be top notch but I think I would have been better off taking my chances at a motel for half the price and would be just as good as this dive. If you have low expectations and don't mind a dump then go ahead and stay at the reef! This place isn't worth 50$ a night let alone 115$