Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiesbaden

Für 2 Nächte als Abenteuer in Ordnung

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Das Great Huts ist eine tolle Anlage mit eigenem Beach. Das Essen ist sehr gut.Man muss einen Tisch reservieren und davor auch schon das essen wählen.Waren bei der Abreise etwas geschockt, da auf der Karte ein niedriger Preis für das Essen stand als wir am ende zahlen mussten (wegen Steuern, Tip etc.) Frühstück findet direkt im Kochbereich statt (schönes Ambiente mit Blick auf Bäume und Vögel). Es gibt Orangensaft, Kaffee, Tee, Toast mit Butter/Marmelade/Erdnussbutter und Ei. Wir haben immer Omlett genommen, war super lecker. Wir wohnten im African Sunrise. Der Ausblick direkt aufs Meer- Sonnenaufgang + die Geräusche nachts sehr schön (schlafen bei umherum offenen Fenstern). Im 1. Stock war ein Kühlschrank (leider dreckig und aus) und eine Schaukel (Bezüge nicht mehr die neuesten). Im 2. Stock befindet sich die Toilette, dusche, Bett. Leider war das Moskitonetz sehr dreckig (war teils mit Blut - schliefen in unsren Säcken). Die Dusche war mit dem Vorhang auch nicht sehr einladend. Der Safe war kaputt. Der Ventilator ging auch nur noch halb. Ein Stuhl mit Bezug zum Sternen schauen wäre besser. Steckdose halb kaputt. Leider wurde unser Zimmer nur 1x sauber gemacht. Handtücher waren zum teil dreckig, bekamen auch nie neue. Koffern wurde gegen Tip hochgetragen. Keine Ausflüge über Hotel buchen, Mitarbeiter steckt sich Geld selbst ein und das bei kaum einer leistung. Mussten dennoch mit eigenem wagen fahren und sogar "Taxi" spielen. P/L-Verhältnis stimmt nicht (2 N i.O
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bronx, New York

Great Resort to Get Away!!!

Posted May 9, 2015
I really enjoyed visiting Great Huts. It was truly a relaxing experience and I would definitely return. The staff was excellent from start to finish. They ensured that I was constantly informed and would ensure my comfort at all times. The food was excellent and the bartender kept me constantly entertained. The views of the ocean were amazing as were the beautiful huts and statues. I would certainly recommend Great Huts as a great vacation getaway!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place. I would go back.

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location, with access to a private beach, a pool and a beautiful view of the ocean from a cliff. Great care has been taken to make your stay comfortable with benches, swings, and beach chairs everywhere. The food was pretty good. The Internet access sucked. Dinner took a while to get there, but they had local entertainment in the form of singing and drumming and dancing to keep us entertained (Saturday night only).
5 out of 5
by Kristoffer from København

Romantisk træhytte med udsigt til havet

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
Vi boede i bamboo tree house. Det var helt fantastisk, og levede fuldt ud op til vores forventinger. Området er fredeligt, og med taxa kommer man nemt og hurtigt til Blue Lagoon, Winifred Beach eller Frenchmanns Cove. Vil bestemt anbefale det og komme igen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Wonderful experience!!

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: the location, overlook boston beach, it had their own security, the close proximity to boston jerk which you can walk to and get local jerk foods.
Location: right next to boston beach, walking distance to boston jerk center
This was amazing, we got a free upgrade to the Queen of Sheba suite and we were delightfully surprised. From the outdoor shower to the upstairs attic nook myself and children were beyond satisfied. We indulged on the free breakfast which although moderately portioned, you could add bacon or meat for a nominal fee. I really enjoyed the roof top cliff side pool! Amazing experience and location. I go to jamaica at least once a year and always try somewhere different and this hotel is a must return to!
5 out of 5
by Sandra from Aspen, CO. USA

What a place!!!

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Great, great Customer Service. Food was great, view was spectacular. The rooms are totally out of this world.
4 out of 5
by Pieter from Chicago

Great Huts, a sort of camping experience.

Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels
This is an investing place; kind of like camping, but you are in a hut .. yes a real hut .. the attraction is the unspoiled surroundings and a very nice local beach next door at walking distance .. if you are looking for luxury, this is not it .. its back to the basics on this one, but you are in touch here with the real Jamaica .. hotel serves great food, or go to the locals next door .. its a 2.5 hour drive from Kingston over terrible roads .. best is to have a taxi reserved by Great Huts for you (for safety) .. its US$150 one way, but I would not trust any taxi driver to be honest. The roads are in terrible shape, so be prepared !!! otherwise, if you are into beautiful surrounding, great food, and back to the basics, this is a wonderful experience to try ...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very cool experience!

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Very rustic environment, and the location is perfect around the beach and Jerk Centre.
Cons: The birds in the cages need to be tamed or trained not to screech at 6:00 in the morning.
Location: There is access to the water from the resort, but to rent a board for surfing you'll have to go to the beach and talk to the locals. Don't pay $20/hr.
This place very much captures the "town in the forest" feel. The huts and facilities were built all around the surrounding jungle, and it makes for quite an atmosphere. Some people seem to be upset with the lack of personal showers/bathrooms, but that is what you are getting yourself into and if you can't handle that then try out someplace else... but you'll be sorry you did! I wish we had spent more time here, rather than elsewhere in Jamaica (especially Negril).
4 out of 5
by Hanna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Dan from Germany

Hotelerlebnis einer anderer Art

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels
Sehr einzigartiges Hotelerlebnis. Wir hatten das Bambus Tree House. In dieser Preis-Kategorie ... DAS BESTE. Eine Superlage mit einem fantastischen View auf Boston Bay. Das Wohnen war fantastisch. Der Service liess etwas den Wünschen übrig. Ich glaube es liegt daran, dass sie personaltechnisch unterbesetzt waren. Aber... ein kleines Dollarchen wirkt Wunder (den Köchern geben). Manche Maedels koennen auch mit Hilfe des Geldes nicht besser... Wenn man drüber hinweg sieht, wird man wirklich sehr zufrieden. Die sehr viele Cill-Plätze, am allen Ecken des Hotels, machen aus dem Hotel was Besonderes. .. Ein kleines Paradies