Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Jessica from New York

Great Adventure with some room for improvement

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
Great Huts is a rustic and hospitable place for a great adventure. High marks for: funky, natural style, beautiful private cove beach, and accommodating service. Downsides: intermittent wifi, uncomfortable bed, restaurant leaves much to be desired. visitors be ware: great hits is situated at the end of the road of the Boston Bay Jerk Center--- while this is a must taste/see experience of the region, getting in and out of the hotel was consistently tricky due to the amount and intensity of hustlers swarming you. Come with a good attitude, a sense of adventure, and a few extra JAM$$ and you'll be fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bronx, New York

Great Resort to Get Away!!!

Posted May 9, 2015
I really enjoyed visiting Great Huts. It was truly a relaxing experience and I would definitely return. The staff was excellent from start to finish. They ensured that I was constantly informed and would ensure my comfort at all times. The food was excellent and the bartender kept me constantly entertained. The views of the ocean were amazing as were the beautiful huts and statues. I would certainly recommend Great Huts as a great vacation getaway!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place. I would go back.

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location, with access to a private beach, a pool and a beautiful view of the ocean from a cliff. Great care has been taken to make your stay comfortable with benches, swings, and beach chairs everywhere. The food was pretty good. The Internet access sucked. Dinner took a while to get there, but they had local entertainment in the form of singing and drumming and dancing to keep us entertained (Saturday night only).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Wonderful experience!!

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: the location, overlook boston beach, it had their own security, the close proximity to boston jerk which you can walk to and get local jerk foods.
Location: right next to boston beach, walking distance to boston jerk center
This was amazing, we got a free upgrade to the Queen of Sheba suite and we were delightfully surprised. From the outdoor shower to the upstairs attic nook myself and children were beyond satisfied. We indulged on the free breakfast which although moderately portioned, you could add bacon or meat for a nominal fee. I really enjoyed the roof top cliff side pool! Amazing experience and location. I go to jamaica at least once a year and always try somewhere different and this hotel is a must return to!
5 out of 5
by Sandra from Aspen, CO. USA

What a place!!!

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Great, great Customer Service. Food was great, view was spectacular. The rooms are totally out of this world.
4 out of 5
by Pieter from Chicago

Great Huts, a sort of camping experience.

Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels
This is an investing place; kind of like camping, but you are in a hut .. yes a real hut .. the attraction is the unspoiled surroundings and a very nice local beach next door at walking distance .. if you are looking for luxury, this is not it .. its back to the basics on this one, but you are in touch here with the real Jamaica .. hotel serves great food, or go to the locals next door .. its a 2.5 hour drive from Kingston over terrible roads .. best is to have a taxi reserved by Great Huts for you (for safety) .. its US$150 one way, but I would not trust any taxi driver to be honest. The roads are in terrible shape, so be prepared !!! otherwise, if you are into beautiful surrounding, great food, and back to the basics, this is a wonderful experience to try ...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very cool experience!

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Very rustic environment, and the location is perfect around the beach and Jerk Centre.
Cons: The birds in the cages need to be tamed or trained not to screech at 6:00 in the morning.
Location: There is access to the water from the resort, but to rent a board for surfing you'll have to go to the beach and talk to the locals. Don't pay $20/hr.
This place very much captures the "town in the forest" feel. The huts and facilities were built all around the surrounding jungle, and it makes for quite an atmosphere. Some people seem to be upset with the lack of personal showers/bathrooms, but that is what you are getting yourself into and if you can't handle that then try out someplace else... but you'll be sorry you did! I wish we had spent more time here, rather than elsewhere in Jamaica (especially Negril).
4 out of 5
by Hanna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels