Ratings based on 642 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute hotel, excellent location

Posted Aug 21, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay at the Jupiter. It's in a great location and has a boutique feel. The door opens to the outside, which I don't usually like but it was okay in this case since the hotel was so cute. The rooms are very small but clean and cute. We saw a weird show at the Doug Fir but it was good music. I'd recommend this hotel if you don't mind a small room and a little near by night life.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bern, Switzerland

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Aug 19, 2016
The hotel is located in a cool neighborhood, and walking to the downtown and the Pearl District is possible too (about 20min). The facilities are in good condition overall, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Also, my room was clean. On the downside, my bed was way too soft, thus sagging (and I'm a light weight). In addition, the hotel is quite pricy for what you get.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, MA

Motel-like but wonderful

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Staff, location, bar/restaurant, proximity to public transportation (bus).
Cons: Check out time (11 am) is a little early, although you can leave bags at the reception.
Location: Doug Fir breakfast (outstanding coffee, which is saying a lot in Portland) and happy hour; Rontoms happy hour; Burnside Brewery, Khao Gan Mai.
At first glance, it looks like a converted motel (which it probably is). But the staff members were welcoming, the room (though small) well appointed ( nice bedding, useful reading), surprisingly quiet (it may have been the room AC providing background noise, but I didn't notice any outside sounds at night). The bar/restaurant, Doug Fir, is great for breakfast and good for happy hour. There are other good bars down the street. The location is excellent, especially for public transportation. Looking forward to returning next year!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Definitely not worth the money

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Overall my experience at the Jupiter hotel was pretty disappointing. I was looking for places to stay in Portland and came across this one, thinking it was going to be a gem-it looked awesome and clean in the pictures, the website made it seem like it was going to be a trendy and fun hotel to stay at. The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it is clean. That's where the good stuff ends. My biggest problem with this hotel is that they authorize your payment before you even check out, which I was not made aware of. Additionally, when I got back home to Vancouver, BC, Canada, they had authorized THREE different payments for THREE DIFFERENT PRICES on my credit card. I have done a lot of travelling and no hotel has ever taken my money in the middle of my trip nor have they done it three times for various prices. When I called my credit card company they couldn't even explain why they would do 3 different transactions. Parking is terrible-underground parking was always full, even the overflow parking was full. You have to park on the street at that point and they'll take the parking charge off your bill. Second day there, there was a business party/meeting of some sort in the outside lobby where your rooms are. The entire day and into the evening was loud people and loud music. The hotel didn't even inform the guests that this event would be happening. No fridge, no ice, no shower pressure- it was like bathing under a drippy faucet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Good location, walking distance to most things

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Very basic (modern look), with everything you need in a place to sleep or relax. Great central outdoor space. Bike rentals available at the hotel.
Location: Food and drinks everywhere. Biking along the river. Hiking to waterfalls.
Very approachable and friendly staff members. Helpful with local activities and places to eat and drink. Central location to stay in town or drive a bit to get to some great parks. Quiet area at night, but walkable to nearby bars and easy access to the pearl district.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Friendly staff at an under whelming hotel.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Rooms are so small. Very bare. No closet space. Don't quite understand how this establishment qualifies as a hotel. It appears to be an older motel that has been updated and gentrified. Generally clean. Friendly staff. But the pictures do the facility too much justice. And one of the main photos is of a restaurant that has no affiliation with the hotel but shares the property.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive hotel beside fantastic restaurant

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: The restaurant next door served amazing food.
Cons: Price
It was far too expensive for what it was. It was would have been worth half of what we paid. It was quite well located and staff were friendly but nearly $500 for 2 nights in a motel style room I felt was extortionate. No breakfast was included - nothing was included not even the parking. The saving grace was Douglas Fir!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't stay again.

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Some people love this place. It's a renovated motel and, to me, it still feels like a shoddy motel that's simply had a makeover. I stayed here twice in a week in two different rooms. It is VERY loud here. Louder than any hotel I've ever stayed in. Thankfully they have A/C units in every room that are also very loud and drown out the noise. They also provide a white noise machine and ear plugs. This should tell you a thing or two about the place. The room shakes when people walk by and when trucks drive by. If you're on the 1st floor, you will hear your upstairs neighbors every step. The hotel / motel is connected to a bar (Doug Fir) which people like because of the outdoor area with fire pit. There are better bars to hang out at down the street. The rooms are nicely made up for the most part. Trying to be modern / hipster. I would recommend somewhere else. PS... I'm from Brooklyn and I'm used to noise, but this was not fun.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

keep Portland weird

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was adequate. Hotel markets tries to market to young hip club crowd. First hotel to leave Jupiter Hotel condoms on night table.