Ratings based on 764 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to interstste

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Bathrooms chilly Heater noisy but inefficient Breakfast reflective of quantity not quality Nothing fresh Comfortable bed Lots of hot water Quiet
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience by Expedia

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Ok, standard La Quinta. Reasonable rate.
Cons: Speak better English.
Location: Very good, in the heart of commercial area/corner. Lots of good restaurants very near the hotel.
At check in 11/4 I found out I had made a mistake in the reservation as I had it as 11/11. The desk person assigned me the two rooms in the far back wing, no one else on the entire floor, and rooms across the hall and down four rooms. Desk said I would have to take up the change in the reservation with Expedia. On the phone for almost an hour with Expedia- put on hold three times for about 15 minutes each time, person could hardly speak English. Finally person said it was ok, as I did not want to get billed twice. Just got my bank statement, yes I was billed by Expedia and the hotel also. Two years ago made flight reservations for wife and I thru Expedia, non cancellable. My daughter got sick and went to the hospital three days before the flight. I called Expedia to cancel, person that could hardly speak English said, in essence, "tough luck" no refund. SO, I WILL NEVER USE EXPEDIA EVER AGAIN!!!!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Posted Oct 31, 2016
I noticed a number of poor reviews after I had already booked a room- so naturally I was concerned since I was staying there with my 3 children and I am pregnant with my 4th. To be honest- I am not sure what everyone was complaining about. It is more than sufficient considering the price range. If you are looking for expensive accommodations then go pay for them. If you are a looking for a clean hotel with comfortable beds at a reasonable rate- then this is your place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Outdated and Disappointing

Posted Oct 26, 2016
According to the website there is a microwave, fridge, and ironboard in your room but there wasn't. I wish there would have been something saying the pool was outside. No sauna like the website said. The place was outdated. Wrinkled and stained carpets. Moldy ceilings. Unfinished "updates." Puke in the hall that was there for awhile. A cop dropping someone off to get a room. Box alder bugs all over. The place needs to have a FULL update. The only thing is the staff was friendly and the beds were comfy. Spend a few dollars more and go somewhere else. It wasn't what the website said it was.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mpls mn

Was real nice staff working there

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Was real nice place and like the breakfast they served in the mornings
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elgin,Il

Resting place

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The hotel was close to my morning meeting. Comfortable beds and clean
Cons: No pizzazz but hotel in transition name change of hotel coming
Location: Lots of dinning options close by.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

How disappointing!

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Having stayed here for years, I can't tell you how disappointed I was to see this fine hotel going to h___! Carpets were dirty and wrinkled, lots of mold in the bathroom and an overflowing dumpster in the parking lot. Will never return, No one at front desk to check out in the morning - tried twice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right next to the Chili's restaurant. Super convenient.
Easy Check in and Out, quiet place to get some Zzzzzzz's.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expect a $ pet fee to be paid in cash

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Eat at Lou Malnati's pizza.... Amazing.
In an effort to visit a friend in Hoffman Estates, I made a reservation for Hoffman Inn & Suites through the Expedia call-center while driving. They were made aware of the my dog, and we booked a room. After 12 hours of driving and upon arriving we were greeted by some very shy staff who proceeded with the very slow process of checking in. When that was finally done, I went to my room only to receive a phone call that I needed to return to the desk to pay a $10 pet fee. Irritated and tired, I explained that first, nowhere did they mention a pet fee, secondly, it wasn't listed on my paperwork I had signed, and thirdly, that this could have been managed better. I gave them my credit card and went back to my room to sleep. The next morning while checking out, none of my credit cards would work, and so I was forced to pay $10 cash for the pet fee. It's only $10, I get that, but not only was irritating because it wasn't mentioned anywhere online or listed on Expedia, but now I was in a panic as to why none of my credit or debit cards would work. As for the facilities, everything is worn and old, the carpets and furniture have seen better days, the tub was stained, and the elevator was incredibly slow. However, the room was clean, the television worked fine, and the bed was comfortable. This used to be a La Quinta that I believe is now family owned and run. It wasn't the worst place I've ever stayed, but just know that you may end up paying a $10 cash pet fee.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beautiful deco in room. Very clean inside rooms.

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Neat and clean inside building. Friendly staff. However, when I went to check in the owner or manager seemed to be testing the clerk on details.
Cons: Definitely the hotel grounds and appearance outside, (especially before winter sets in). Curb appeal really sucks!
Location: Convenient location. Road construction made driving difficult but that's beyond anyone's control.
Outside of building needs attention. Large demo dumpster in parking lot, (never saw any construction workers in the 7 days I was there), filled with trash and pallets of wood. Dumpster attacted flies and critters, (squirrels ,skunks and opossum). Too close to convenience doors. Trees limbs hanging over parking spaces making it difficult to safely park. I actually removed some broken limbs from a tree myself so I could park closer to the door as well as see my car from my room window. Large weeds and trash on the ground. All around the dumpster was broken glass and pieces of metal. Parking lot lights should be on from dusk 'til dawn for safety reasons.