Ratings based on 1,371 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Average hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2016
We had problems with ants in the room, in the bed. Food its okay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would NEVER return

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: Close to the beach
Upon arrival, we were rudely greeted by the front desk attendant and told to wait while he typed away on the computer ignoring us. Once in our room, we found our toilet was broken, we called three times to have it fixed. Each time maintenance would come up to 'fix it' just to have it break again. On our second day of not being able to use the bathroom in our room, we went down to the front desk and requested a room change (which surprisingly they did once we pushed for it). The food was HORRIBLE, there were barely any options at the buffet and the food was tasteless. When I asked for a water bottle at lunch, I was told they were not allowed to give them to us but could 'do it just for now.' Well I was not about to drink the tap water, so I subsequently asked other hotel staff for water (some give it you and some don't the inconsistency is ridiculous). We also made reservations for dinner at some of the hotel restaurants. Some how our reservation got "lost" and we were not placed on the list. The restaurant was near empty and the hostess was telling us we could not sit down. After refusing to say no and providing proof of a reservation she finally sat us. I could go on and on about how terrible this hotel is, I strongly suggest no one even entertain the idea of staying there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario calif.

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2016
The staff is great, the host Moises in the Mexican restaurant is a very attentive gentleman ,please thank him for us,Hotel has great nightly show's, food is good thanks to the staff ,had a wonderful time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Nice hotel amazing Staff

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: The Hotel has three pools which were all very nice and well kept up. The views were amazing and the Hotel was very clean.The Staff was great!
Cons: The food could be improved at the Buffet. We were there for a week so we felt we could had more variety for lunch and dinner.
Location: Casinos,Inside mall,Fashion Harbor,COCO Bongo,Aqua Marine . Great location to do a lot in the area.
Barcel Tucancun was a nice hotel. The beach was exactly as the pictures show. White beautiful sand and crystal clear water and numerous lounge chairs right on the beach. The Staff was amazing, friendly,helpful and spoke good English. We can't wait to go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Decent view, but...

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: Definitely liked the view. But that was about it
Cons: Everything could have been improved.
Location: The location was right in the middle of the island. There was plenty of shopping and tours to chose from.
We were greeted by what we thought was a concierge before we even checked-in. After about 30 minutes, we realized that this was no concierge at all, but a person hired to get you to go to a time share sale by Occidental Tours (the new owner/partner of Barcelo). After trying to politely decline, the salesman appealed to our empathy and got us to sign up for the time share presentation by saying (this is no joke. really happened. BTW): "Please do this for me so I can get the $10 commission so I can feed my 8 kids." We (Me, my wife, and my daughter) went on the premise that the poor salesman would not get his $10 unless we showed-up. Unfortunately, this was a huge mistake. Had I known how pushy Occidental was going to be, I would've just given the guy $10 to leave us alone. HUGE waste of time! We were there for less that an hour, how could we possibly know if we wanted a time share for that company?! To make matters worse, the end sales speal was so terribly uncomfortable that the thought of having to see these people throughout the duration of our stay was unsettling. It really did make for an unpleasant stay. The restaurants were palatable, if by palatable you mean "I like the taste of over-cooked, dry horsemeat." DO NOT STAY HERE!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

la comunicación es mala

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Todo bien, excepto que te dan un documento mal elaborado informando de reservas de restaurante, te dicen que reserves en un lugar y luego resulta que es en otro. Por este asunto yo me moleste bastante cuando quise reservar y ya no había lugar después de que yo había estado en el lugar indicado desde muy temprana hora, además de que siendo la celebración de año nuevo no hacen nada masivo ni divertido como podría ser pirotecnia. Solo para unos cuantos que caben en un auditorio y pagan por una botella.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico DF

Hotel agradable cerca de la playa.

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: La ubicación, el servicio, la comida, los shows y los animadores de la alberca principal.
Cons: Los baños de la alberca.
Location: Hay dos plazas cerca.
Viaje sola. La atención en el hotel muy bien. Las actividades en la noche y en la alberca excelentes. Los baños de la alberca sucios. El resto de la atención y los alimentos, así como las áreas comunes y las habitaciones excelentes. Ademas de buena ubicación ya que cerca se encuentran dos plazas para salir a pasear. LO malo solo tenían una caminadora funcionando, por lo cual había que esperar a que la terminaran de usar y no había pesas en el gimnasio. Por otro lado no cuentan con cuartos para las personas que ya realizaron el check out y quieren quedarse un tiempo mas en la alberca y se puedan bañar y cambiar después. Otra desventaja es que cobran el internet aunque sea un hotel todo incluido y cobran la caja de seguridad del cuarto.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mansfield, Ohio

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Resort is beautiful and food was good. 3 beautiful pools with lots of lounge chairs. We went in the off season so the resort wasn't full, so we never had trouble making reservations at the restaurants or getting into the buffet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Very pleasant experience from beginning to end

Posted Dec 9, 2015
Pros: Its location, dining experience and excellent customer service
Cons: sound system by the pool
Location: Did not go to any excursion because our time was limited.
My wife and I celebrated our 26th wedding anniversary in one of the most beautiful places on this planet.Barcelo Tucancun Beach All inclusive resort really made sure our entire experience was pleasant and delightful from reception to checkout. The room was clean, bed is comfortable and the food was great from buffet to the ala carte restaurants.The staff are very accomodating and making sure you're having a good time.All the pool areas were clean and the beach is almost attached to the hotel- so close and the shopping mall just across the street from the hotel. Special thanks to Adrriene in Concierge, Luis in buffet,Lorenzo for our special dinner, Eddy in Mexican Specialty restaurant and last but certainly not the least, Erick from photoshop who crafted our photo and video shoot into an amazing work of art that made our stay even more enjoyable and memorable.Will definitely come back in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Hotel condition is terrible.. And food is no good. Three restaurants foods are almost same.