Ratings based on 2,813 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Beautiful hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Service was excellent and food was delicious!
Cons: Hot tub was Luke warm and disappointing.
Location: Great location on the beach, lots of activities and mall across the street.
Beach was nice, water blue green and clean. Staff and service excellent. Food was good buffet was the best for daily variety of steak, seafood, sushi, pizza pastas etc. hotel shaded much of the beach at times. The speed boat snorkel tour is a must do! The gym is very small not a lot of equipment. Hotel very clean. Hot tub was cold but overall for the money in the area nice vacation for a family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is on the beach

Posted Feb 23, 2017
The best vacation that i've ever had!!! Everything was so good, the staff are very friendly, everything was secure. If you want to do some activities you can book from the hotel. They are so organized and secure. I can't tell any bad words for Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

excellent room

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Room overlooking the ocean sound of the waves rushing the beach was magnificent. Loved the swimming pools
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Every thing is good I like it a lot I will come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017
My daughter's wedding was on the beach at this hotel and the coordinator was awesome! Everything went great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, Indiana

Very large hotel, with nice pools.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: The modern design is very pretty.
Cons: Staff could be friendlier.
Location: Great access to shopping in Cancun.
We've stayed at RIU property in the past. We like the accommodations. The staff at this resort however does not compare to the staff at it's sister resort RIU Palace Las Americas. They were not engaged or nearly as friendly, but were sufficient. Also, I would say the median age of guest were approximately 21-40, a slightly younger crowd with kids. There were people up at all hours of the night, but we were never bothered by noise in our rooms. I would say this resort guest were young and sociable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami florida

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Hotel is real nice! And the staff is excellent.and above all the breath taking views are amazing!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Room completely not what we were expecting. Very

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Room completely not what we were expecting. Very cold, outdated, echoing was awful. Room barely clean. Smelled like mildew we wouldn't even put our clothing in the drawers. The hotel itself was very nice. Great staff and entertainment. Food 7.5 out of 10.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c., Arkansas

Posted Feb 14, 2017
This was our first trip to Riu Cancun and it was so wonderful. We will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Beach. Pool. Entertainment

Posted Feb 14, 2017
I have stayed here once before. We were in a genuine warm manner. Fast and easy. Great restaurants and choices. High quality preparation staff who make sure you have all you need. The location on the beach is close to shopping and nightlife. The nightly entertainment was top shelf. Fun for kids. High energy shows with lots of good natured fun. Excellent facilities. Spotless. We will try to go back next year