Ratings based on 543 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Basically what you'd expect at the price range. Comfortable enough, but could've used some repairs (toilet holder was coming out of the wall) and some extra deep cleaning (bugs in the lights). Otherwise, all was well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Very basic and overpriced

Posted Jul 10, 2016
A big sign on the side of the building says newly remodeled. Sign must have been hanging there for tens years. These rooms did not look remodeled unless you call painting the walls a remodel. The bed was very firm, like a brick wrapped in a sheet. The shower was moldy and ancient looking. Free breakfast was lackluster and repetitive. Eggs, potatoes, bacon and sausage were cooked exactly the same everyday. Yogurt was available in one flavor strawberry. There were some nice pastries and muffins at least. The air conditioners for the rooms have no drainage for the condensation. So the water draining from the ac for every room runs out onto the walkways. Constant water covering the walkways around the entire place because of this. Makes for having to dodge the water while heading to your room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There was no stay.

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: na
My reservations were not found when I arrived from the West Coast. The situation could not be rectified at 2am and I was forced to find other accommodations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Posted May 31, 2016
The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IN

Won't stay there again

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: Needs serious renovation
We have stayed in this motel before and found it convenient to the places we visit in the Charleston area, but the place had not been kept up this time. We didn't get the room we were supposed to because it wasn't ready at check-in. The bathroom was in deplorable condition; the toilet didn't fully flush and the bath tub had three cracks in the finish. The final day, the room had not been cleaned by 3:00 pm.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from spartanburg SC

Nice hotel very convenient to restaurants

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: The staff was very helpful and knowledge about the area.
Cons: Renovations are still going on but was not inconvenient to our stay.
Very nice hotel convenient to main road and restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Immediate problem after check-in.

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Convenient location.
Cons: Equipment, maintenance and housekeeping staff attitudes.
Location: Ten minutes from downtown Charleston and from Sullivans Island. Five minutes to Patriot Point. Walking distance to waterfront park.
When we checked in, we immediately determined the air conditioner was leaking water onto the rug, thus causing a musky odor. The front desk staff person was helpful in getting us a room change, but the staff responsible for getting another room ready and helping us move were surly and seemed offended that we wanted to change.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

NEVER AGAIN

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Leaving it - we did not stay and simply walked out after cancelling the reservation
Cons: Cleanliness and class of clients
Location: who cares!
Filthy walkways, bare-chested drunks drinking beer on railings at midnight, 1/2 of the paint missing from walkways, smoke free room-not a chance! guest clothing and shoes hanging on rails.....it was a mess!!!
5 out of 5
by Stan from Spokane

Nice surprise- wonderful front desk staff.

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Surprisingly great- this is a chain I avoid but I would definitely stay at this property again and I guess revisit my prejudice to the chain in general.
5 out of 5
by Scott from Fairfax, VA

Great clean, quiet hotel.. Convenient to downtown

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
2 night vacation to Charleston. When I checked in the hotel's computer system wanted to charge me a higher rate but they gladly honored the discounted price I booked with hotels.com because I brought a copy of my email receipt. Everything about the hotel was very exceptional and I highly recommend it.