Ratings based on 653 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greensboro, NC

Great experience

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Great experience, accessible location, clean room, comfortable beds.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Myrtle Beach, SC

Musty, mold smell in room

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Upon check-in on Sunday 4/16, as well as check-out on 4/18, the front desk staff was pleasant and friendly. The outside of the building, as well as the lobby and breakfast area looked clean and inviting. Unfortunately, the room was not. The room had a musty, moldy smell as soon as we walked in. The air conditioner and fan had to be on high constantly to help keep the smell at a minimum, which was uncomfortable since we were extremely cold. Turning the AC to a comfortable temperature of 73 was even too warm to keep the smell at bay. The carpet between the bed and bathroom wall was soaked, and the trim was hanging off the wall. The curtain rod over the shower was extremely loose. The screws were barely in the wall, and the rod was sagging so much the curtain would not stay closed. The bathtub had multiple small cracks along the inside, and 1 large one that created an actual gap in the bottom of the tub when standing in it. From the curtain and crack issues, water leaked from the tub and completely soaked the bathroom floor, creating more wetness on the carpet on the other side of the wall. We also found multiple black spots on the carpet between the bed and bathroom that looked to be black mold, as well as on the wall where the trim used to be attached. Overall, the hotel was not so bad that we needed to leave, but we definitely would not have stayed more than the 2 nights we did, especially given the number of other hotels in the vicinity.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Place between shifts

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Hotel was decent. Clean and close to work. A little noisy. Was not able to eat breakfast, but the coffee was delicious. The were very courteous and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

Clean And Comfy

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Clean hotel , fast check in close to everything. No complaints!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sc

This hotel was very convenient.

Posted Apr 1, 2017
The overall appearance was a run run down. Areas of rust in the bathroom. The outside needed some work. On the bright side the beds were comfortable. Good price and convenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saegertown, PA

Bed very hard

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Bed and breakfast was terrible. We only ate it one morning out of five. Room was clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Incredible staff

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, view, windows, TV, delicious breakfast.
Cons: Honestly can't think of anything.
Location: Grocery store right across the street, near the bridge. 20 minutes away from the beach.
The moment we arrived the staff was so friendly to us. We arrived a day later due to a flight delay and they were so willing to work with us. The breakfast there was SO yummy and one of the kind staff members knew we loved a certain kind of tea and personally brought it to us on the second day, it made our stay bright and beautiful. The location was so convenient. The hotel was beautiful and the beds were comfy. Would definitely go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Bobbe at the front desk was especially helpful and efficient. The attendant at breakfast was also excellent.
Location: Good location for access to the historic downtown, but somewhat hard to find.
We stayed here for the economical rate, but the hotel was a bit hard to find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, convenient to MUSC

Posted Mar 3, 2017
We were able to check in even though we arrived earlier than expected.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by Sjones, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review . We do look forward to you staying with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Myrtle Beach, SC

Good Hotel RIGHT OUTSIDE of Charleston

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The staff is very accommodating. My husband is disabled, so they give us a room with direct access from the parking lot.
Cons: The breakfast buffet has sausage links that don't have any taste and the scrambled "eggs" are watery. The coffee is very weak.
Location: Fabulous location. Patriots point is right down the road, as is a lovely park and pier for fishing or just strolling. Charleston 10 min. away
My husband visits the VA Hospital in Charleston often. It is a long drive home from there. The Clarion Hotel off the first exit across the Ravenel Bridge. We have stayed there often as it is a great value for the money.