Ratings based on 675 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Basic but nice

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: As above
Location: Aircraft carrier Yorktown and ferries to Fort Sumter-Sullivan Island not a long drive.
Hotel was pleasant. Close to all things in Mt. Pleasant as well as downtown Charleston. Close but slightly out of the fray. It is a motel, so people walk past your only window, which is not my favorite room design. Pool was nice. Relatively quiet despite location near main road and Ravanelle Bridge approach. Weird though that all the airconditioners leak out onto the walk-way so that as you walk or wheel luggage have to go through multiple streams of water...think things might need an upgrade. Breakfast ended too early ((9:30)for a holiday weekend. Missed it every time....other hotels in area served through 10:30.. for holiday weekend...that would be nicer!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Clarion Management, Hotel Management
We thank you for sharing your suggestion. It will be passed on to the property owners for consideration. We do hope you will visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and good price

Posted May 21, 2017
I needed a place to stay while spending a week working at MUSC. Very convenient drive. Lot of good restaurants nearby. Rooms are decent considering what you pay. I never utilized the morning breakfast, but the staff was very courteous when I checked in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Clarion Mgmt., Hotel Management
Thank you very much and we do hope you will visit with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tally

short stay

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: clean rooms, friendly staff, complimentary breakfast, tidy grounds and nice pool
Cons: a better way to get out to head north on 17...maybe a heads up?? bigger area to eat the complimentary breakfast
The staff was exceptionally friendly, the hotel was "kept up". only stayed a night but it was very pleasant. thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by ., Hotel Management
We thank you very much and hope you can visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Location to where I need to be the next day.
It's just another motel. Pretty, but a motel room, is a motel room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Clarion Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you and please do come again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york,ny

Broken down room

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Repair air conditioner,fix toilet, replace broken towel bar, fix security door bar, and turn the phone on..
Location: Busy highway
Broken down room and surly staff..had to change rooms as air conditioner broke down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greensboro, NC

Great experience

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Great experience, accessible location, clean room, comfortable beds.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Myrtle Beach, SC

Musty, mold smell in room

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Upon check-in on Sunday 4/16, as well as check-out on 4/18, the front desk staff was pleasant and friendly. The outside of the building, as well as the lobby and breakfast area looked clean and inviting. Unfortunately, the room was not. The room had a musty, moldy smell as soon as we walked in. The air conditioner and fan had to be on high constantly to help keep the smell at a minimum, which was uncomfortable since we were extremely cold. Turning the AC to a comfortable temperature of 73 was even too warm to keep the smell at bay. The carpet between the bed and bathroom wall was soaked, and the trim was hanging off the wall. The curtain rod over the shower was extremely loose. The screws were barely in the wall, and the rod was sagging so much the curtain would not stay closed. The bathtub had multiple small cracks along the inside, and 1 large one that created an actual gap in the bottom of the tub when standing in it. From the curtain and crack issues, water leaked from the tub and completely soaked the bathroom floor, creating more wetness on the carpet on the other side of the wall. We also found multiple black spots on the carpet between the bed and bathroom that looked to be black mold, as well as on the wall where the trim used to be attached. Overall, the hotel was not so bad that we needed to leave, but we definitely would not have stayed more than the 2 nights we did, especially given the number of other hotels in the vicinity.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Place between shifts

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Hotel was decent. Clean and close to work. A little noisy. Was not able to eat breakfast, but the coffee was delicious. The were very courteous and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

Clean And Comfy

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Clean hotel , fast check in close to everything. No complaints!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sc

This hotel was very convenient.

Posted Apr 1, 2017
The overall appearance was a run run down. Areas of rust in the bathroom. The outside needed some work. On the bright side the beds were comfortable. Good price and convenient.