Ratings based on 1,768 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Not a Chicago Level Hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Heat.
Location: Convenient
The BAD: 1. It's a COLD building - my room was only 62 degrees and took the entire night to heat up. I cranked up the heat to 90 in order to warm up. I don't think the windows are properly insulated. I had to use the blanket from the other bed. 2. No hot water ran through the sink. 3. Bathroom is so outdated. Tile is from the 80s. doesn't look like the pictures. The GOOD: 1. Hotel staff is unbelievable sweet and warm. Makes up for the cold. 2. Conveniently located. Easy access to a lot of shopping, restaurants, and sight seeing. 3. Hotel rates were affordable for being on the Magnificent Mile.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Renovation is needed asap.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
I have stayed at this hotel during St.Patrick's weekends. (I paid relatively expensive rate.) Few things were very unpleasant and I would like to put my very first negative review on Expedia. 1. Heater did not work in my room. 2. Hot water did not come out in the sink. 3. Shower hose was broken in the bathtub. 4. Door on refrigerator did not open properly. Seriously you need to fix these.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

highly recommend

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Great location! Great workout facility too. The only drawback is double beds not as roomy as queen.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monroe, MI

Did not have our reservation

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The location.
Location: The location would've been excellent for exploring the Magnificent Mile area of Chicago.
We arrived at hotel and they did not have our reservation correct. We are a family of 5, had booked a room with 2 double beds & a rollaway. When we arrived, they had us in a single king bed room. They did not have the room we booked. They tried to put us in a room with a king bed & a couch, but the "couch" was more like a wooden bench, not something someone could sleep on. We had to cancel our reservation and find another hotel at the last minute. It was very stressful. Also, parking was confusing. We parked in the wrong garage. Ended up paying $41 in parking just to have to turn around and find a new hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Very nice hotel with a great location.

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Service, location and access to main street in downtown Chicago.
Cons: Hotel's carpet need tlc.
Location: Location is amazing. Right next to Michigan Avenue stores, museums, etc. Love that it is very close to Eataly, amazing Italian store.
Great stay at the Marriott. We have stayed at this hotel several times now. We love it's location and the comfort of their beds. Some rooms need to be renovated, but in general, they are ok. Their rooms are clean and comfortable. Access to highways is a few minutes away. Location of the hotel is excellent. A few steps to the shops on Michigan Avenue and to all the attractions that one loves to visit when in Chicago. Their is parking kitty corner from the hotel, which is very convenient. Service at the hotel has always been very good. Very nice people at the front desk, at the bar and at their restaurant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kalamazoo, michigan

Terrible

Posted Jan 19, 2017
The bathroom smelled really bad, the sheets were hard and didn't smell fresh at all, towels not soft at all. the staff were very, very mean and not helpful, paid for a room with the view and they said it's not available, the location was excellent, in the heart of Michigan avenue, that was the only positive thing about the stay, they really need to renovate and use better sheets and towels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great location on Michigan Avenue for shopping

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Great location, friendly staff, updated
Cons: The hotel restaurant was very expensive. I recommend eating outside of the hotel.
Location: Lots of shopping on Michigan Avenue
Recently updated room with a great view of Michigan Avenue. Because of weather, we needed to request an early check-in. The staff was very accommodating and personable. I will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Matthew

Great looking hotel in the perfect location

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent service at front desk and breakfast area
5 out of 5
by Brad

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic service and attention from the staff from the initial check-in to the final call for the cab home.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Chicago weekend

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Not having free wifi is just unacceptable But staff was awesome