Ratings based on 2,758 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton, NY

Beautifully Decorated, Poorly Maintained

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: The beds are comfy and room decor is tasteful.
Cons: Front desk staff need to be more concerned with guest comfort. No one asked how our stay was upon checkout.
Location: Cabs had trouble finding the hotel because the address is Michigan Ave but it actually fronts on a side street. It is walking distance to great stores
We opened the door to our beautiful suite to find stifling 80 degree temp with a broken A/C and sealed windows. The mini bar fridge was not working and the bath tub drain was clogged. They sent someone to fix the A/C but I was a little grossed out by how filthy the unit was when he removed the cover. (I don't understand why the maids didn't report the lack of A/C when they cleaned to room before our arrival) The mini fridge was plugged in but actually hot to the touch. When we called the front desk they said it wasn't a fridge but a wine storage unit and wasn't supposed to be cold! Ridiculous since it was full of soda and beer and wine storage units are cold. They did finally offer to send up a mini fridge. We were there to celebrate my birthday and the front desk told my sister they would send a little something from the hotel to our room but never did. Final straw - never got the requested wake-up call needed to check out and get to the airport on time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Like a home away from home.

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: The staff, very polite, helpful and attentive. Like they say, Location, Location, Location. You are able to walk to any destination in downtown.
Location: Dining and shopping as soon as you are out the door.
It was our first time in Chicago, really didn't know what to expect. At the Omni, all expectations and above were met. The valet of our car was a benefit. Definitely will stay here again on our next trip to Chicago.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Location.. right off Michigan Avenue

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Location, food.
Cons: In my opinion, there is a sense of style that is lacking in the room. A TV on the wall... all by its lonesome... the big desk with nothing on it...
Location: I think that is self explanatory
I first stayed at this hotel about 25 years ago. It was class all the way. I understand the update and I am sure it was necessary... but in removing all the dark wood, bookcases, etc. something was lost. Its much more spartan looking. Also, for this price range... the water pressure in the shower can be a whole lot better. I understand in a cheapo hotel that I don't expect an invigorating spray... but come on... 10 minutes to get the shampoo out of my hair. The restaurant for breakfast was very nice... extremely pricey... but the food was good. $16 for scrambled eggs and bacon. Ouch.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NyC area

Only positive...location.

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Lost power in room. Layout very dysfunctional. Room was tired at best. Value for money was weak.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Welcoming and very nice staff. The Hotel is very dated and needs some improvement.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Exceptionally friendly staff. Room was immaculate. Very pleased and will definitely stay here again!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2016
My family enjoyed our stay at the Omni! It was our first trip to Chicago and we would definitely stay at the Omni again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Stayed 3 nights with our 3 kids. Comfortable, convenient, and clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Pros: Centrally located on Michigan Ave, excellent hotel staff....esp door men and women
Such a great hotel to stay at....make you feel so welcomed esp with kids. We were there 3 days and the door men and women remembered our names and would say hello to us personally each time we'd come or leave the hotel. It was relatively quiet except for Michigan Ave and the rooms were decorated so nicely. Love this hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kiel

Great but the small things were forgotten

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: I liked the size and layout of the suites.
Cons: The response to requests can be more attentive and faster. When renovating again, improve shower pressure and lighting in the hallway of the room.
Location: The hotel is on Michigan Avenue, so there plenty of shopping. It is not far from State Street, where there is theater and more affordable shopping.
The service was amazing but there were hiccups that kept the hotel from 5-star status. i had a small get together in my room. The hotel provided a vase, a knife and a corkscrew. However, it took several reminder phone calls to get them. It is impossible to email someone at the hotel directly. When you are six time zones away, this would have been very helpful. The very comfortable bed is not wide enough for two adults nd the shower pressure was to low. A light switch turns on a lamp in the hallway between the door and the living area. When you turn that light off, there is nothing lighting your way down the hallway. There is no one staffing the fitness area. I never figured out how to lock up my things in the locker room. Those are the small things. The staff -- from the bell staff to the 676 restaurant to housekeepers -- were efficient yet friendly. The suite is spacious, laidout well, and elegant and cozy at the same time. The recently-renovated suites were made with modern times in mind. There are outlets everywhere and the suites have plenty of storage. Guests can make excellent single cups of coffee [pads, not pods] in their room. Clever guests can get free rides within 5 km. of the hotel. Of course, the location is good. This area is full of hotels. No hotel can match the Omni's large and beautiful suite, attententive and friendly service, and delicious and modern take on regional,food.