Ratings based on 904 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel, with full kitchen

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Very spacious
Cons: Carpets need a deep cleaning and room needs a good dusting
Location: We went to the Family Dollar and Food Lion. The Columbia Zoo is also close nearby.
We stayed at the hotel as apart of the evacuations from hurricane Irma. We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel that could accommodate our family of 5 and that also had a full kitchen. Suburban Extended Stay fit that description. It was very spacious and plenty of room for all of us. It could have used a little bit more cleaning, and the carpet was very dirty. My kids had on socks and by the evening when it was time for baths and bed the socks were black from the dirt of the carpet. Also, there were many cobwebs on the light fixtures. Overall the beds were clean and we were safe and dry from the storm and that was all that mattered.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hilton Head, SC

Suburban Hotel Columbia

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Location was excellent to Columbia points of interest. Rural setting was off busy streets and quiet, but close to everything (grocery, shopping etc.)
Cons: If you want quiet, get a second floor room. We had lower and it was noisy from large group moving around above...tolerable, but annoying.
Location: Big natural/history museum, large Zoo, botanical gardens, downtown restaurants, SC government buildings.
Stayed 4 days during IRMA. Room was comfortable and provided the necessities. Staff was very responsive and courteous. TV wouldn't respond to remote at times. Staff sent service man right away and he fixed. Because of the unknown of returning (hurricane status) to our home, manager was kind to extend notification time to cancel the next day to checkout time instead of previous day 3 PM, saving us the cost of a day we didn't need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Great hotel!

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: I liked the full size refrigerator, microwave, and stove cook top. They even included a few dishes and utensils.
This hotel is in a quiet location but still near many attractions and businesses. It is within 1 mile of the Columbia Zoo and a Public and many restaurants. There were a couple minor maintenance issues with the room when I checked in, but as soon as I notified the manager the maintenance staff fixed the problems immediately. The room was clean and spacious.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very tired and neglected property.

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Incredibly strange property and poorly maintained. There were burn holes on the couch, a black residue on the carpet that bare feet collect, paper thin walls. Blankets had bleach stains and holes in them and when I started the shower some cleaning product began soaping up in the middle of the tub. Staff was okay, but seemed very skeptical of any request. We asked for two additional towels for our double room which sleeps four and they refused.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from near Raleigh

Close to work

Posted Aug 24, 2017
I chose this hotels location to is proximity to work the next day and it's price room with fine Hotel needs some work on the outside seems like staff is standing around in the lobby
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Jeet Gosai, Hotel Management
Jeet Gosai replied 11:48 am Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Jeet Gosai Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phila, Pa

Convenient to USC campus

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Well light, nice size rooms. Staff could do better job of picking up cig butts. Otherwise, fine place to stay if you just need a place to sleep
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Jeet Gosai, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Jeet Gosai
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location great place for price!

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: location and room
Cons: nope
Location: freeway close, close to food etc
this place had bad reviews, dont believe them it was nice clean quiet, nicely located comfortable. we asked for a room by the office. they are renovation so we may have ahad a new room, it was nice and comfy will stay again on future trips
4 out of 5
by Robert

Great deal.

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
We only stayed one night. I was surprised by the size of the room. It was big. You can't beat the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Jeet Gosai
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice safe location, very comfy bed, clean room

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: location comfy bed good ac
Cons: nada
Location: perfect
no issues, we had a clean updated room no complaints. looks like they are rehabbing others, my recommendation would be to ask for a room near the office like we did. will stay here in the future, for the price..its extremely fair.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Jeet Gosai, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Jeet Gosai
3 out of 5
by tom

You get what you pay for, I guess...

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Needs a lot of refurbishing, paint, furniture, repair. No Kleenex in room, headboard ripped from wall, furniture old and worn, nail pops on wooden walkway out side of room. Bad trip hazard as some of the nails were almost a half inch out.