Ratings based on 2,016 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Knoxville

La playa Hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: Clean and lots of space
Cons: To me, All good.
Location: Publics is just across the street, Everything is within walking distance,
Even though the weather wasn't in our favor, the hotel was , on the beach,and had a side view of the ocean, The staff was always friendly and very helpful.. I would recommend La Playa hotel to anyone .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and quiet we were above all the college kids

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Had good location right on beach with Nice pool area to tan if too windy and still get a tan
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our Review

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: needs remodeling
The room was sufficient....our room needed some updating and repairs. The location is great. we enjoyed the continental breakfast here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing.

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Pros: It was close to the beach. Period.
Cons: You don't have enough characters in this space for me to tell you everything.
It was close to the beach, but that was about the best thing about it. I got to the hotel and they couldn't find my reservation. It took a while to "find" it and then they asked for my card for the resort fee. I come to find that they also charged me a second time for my stay when I'd already paid for it on Expedia. When I called to complain, they said they would take it off. Instead, they charged me a third time. When I called again, they charged me a fourth time. I called to ask for the manager, which they kept me on hold for more than 5 minutes, the manager said she would reimburse me for the three extra charges and asked for an email telling me what she would do (to reimburse me). The charges were immediate, but I still haven't received that email. Never mind that the hotel is a widely known "party" hotel for Spring Breakers in which the cops were called mid-week after a fight and vomit was on the stairwell Thursday morning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 25, 2016
I stayed at this hotel last March but earlier in the month & avoided the spring break crowd. Not that that is the hotel's fault but it was loud. The doors to the stairwells slam closed & wonder if it's possibly to just have open stairwells with no doors? Room was clean, bed was comfortable, plenty of pillows on the king size bed. Private balcony with great ocean front view. Safe in the room. One day housekeeping didn't show up. Elevators are slow & although we were on the top floor (9) we took the stairs several times daily instead of waiting on the elevators. Deck and pool are nice with tiki bar but no DJ this year ? Plenty of parking. Safe area. Would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down..

Posted Mar 24, 2016
The LaPlaya has really been run down over the years.. Doors are terrible.. Beds are old and uncomfortable... Definitely not worth the price!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach but bad interiors, overpriced

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Charged extra as hotel fees. I wouldn't return to this hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Service was horrible

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
It took us about an hour to check in because the line was so long and when we did check in, only one of our rooms was ready. Saturday morning we went to the free breakfast and they were out of everything. One of the elevators was broke the entire weekend so we ended up taking the stairs many times to our 6th floor hotel room. I will not stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Morganton,NC

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Rooms could use a little more updates I believe. They were very old and worn out looking. The appliances looked to be at least 10 years old. They could update the TVS to also. Cmon people who dosen't use " flat screen " tvs these days. It's not the 90's anymore. All in all the room was clean when we arrived. Room service made sure it was neat everyday we were there. Just needs some major updates to the rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Posted Mar 8, 2016
It was very nice for the most part! No one was loud