Ratings based on 352 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

酒香不怕巷子深

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Rolling our luggage down a not very well paved Hutong on a cold Beijing night I wondered what I had gotten ourselves into booking this hotel. I should have remembered the Chinese idiom "酒香不怕巷子深" literally meaning if the wine is fragrant don't fear if it is at the end of the street. What awaits you at the Red Wall Garden Hotel is more than worth it. It is indeed an oasis in busy Beijing that you will long remember. The big tall corporate hotels nearby have their place and sometimes that is what you need but if you are considering this hotel you probably want a little different experience. Something more authentic, something more memorable. This hotel has that and more. Great decorations in the common public areas, an outdoor courtyard that is beautiful. Location is excellent - very close to Dengshikou subway stop. There is an airport shuttle bus also right by this subway stop. Walking distance to many famous restaurants including the great Da Dong Peking Duck restaurant. Don't miss the impressive and very interesting museum across the hutong from the hotel. There you will be able to learn all about Shijia Hutong and its long history. We typically don't repeat stay at any hotel when we travel to China because we want to experience different locations and different things but with Red Wall we might make an exception to that. This is wonderful. Big thanks to all the staff for their hard work creating this gem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Excellent Choice

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Restaurants,Metro,shops
This is an Amazing Boutique Hotel.Tastefully decorated,Staff super helpful and personable.great location,safe,close to restaurants,shops.will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Little Rock

Beautiful, Quaint Hotel in Great Location

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, charming design.
Cons: Not the hotels fault, but street to hotel was torn up and under construction. Difficult to get to.
Beautiful hotel that mixed old world charm with modern amenities. Extremely pleasant and helpful check in staff made us feel welcome. Would recommend to others and stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Traditional and classical Beijing-style hotel with a fantastic restaurant. Locate at Hutong and just 5 min walk to MTR station. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

A real gem! One of my favourite hotels ever

Posted Nov 10, 2017
A 2 night stay in one of the suites with my wife and adult daughter. Great location off a dark but safe alley street, walkable to nearby malls and restaurants, Forbidden city 20 min walk. Check in staff had some limitation in English but were very helpful; daytime staff more fluent. Helped book a private driver to Great Wall (well worth the 1200cny!). The rooms are in a 4 level walk up with beautiful common areas and courtyard. Comfortable beds, great bathrooms. Breakfast was a buffet selection of western and Chinese, with eggs cooked to order. The Expedia rate we booked did not include breakfast (about 95cny pp), I think would've been cheaper to have booked directly through the hotel with a breakfast included rate. Has been nominated for 2017 Beijing boutique hotel of the year, and we loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Excellent Boutique Hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2017
We loved our stay at this hotel. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The food was great! We even used the limousine service to the Great Wall because 2 of us were not feeling well. The shows in the evenings were a delight. Staff member Lu Lu spoke English well and was very helpful. The courtyard was so lovely! We were sad to leave!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima, Peru

Magic experience

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Very kind staff, I truly feel at home. Totally recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Wonderful old Chinese style around a courtyard.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: In the heart of Beijing near the Fobidden City, Tiananmen .square etc. and easy access to the metro to get to all the markets, Temple of Heaven etc.
We loved our stay. The hotel is very convenient to the Forbidden City and other attractions as well as to the train for getting further around the city. The staff were lovely, the rooms were beautiful. Eating in the courtyard either for morning breakfast or a delicious dinner was a lovely experience. Judging by how full of locals it was the rest of Beijing thinks so too. Would return in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
by D

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Perfect

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Such a gem. So many little nice details in the decoration. Staff and food were perfect.