Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
39% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for.....

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Requested a nonsmoking room with a king sized bed but were given a room that someone had obviously been smoking in. Everything smelled including the furniture and bed linens. Blanket had cigarette burns holes in it. Complained to the guy staffing the front desk and had him come down to the room. When he came into the room he couldn't smell anything (while he was smoking his cigarette). Gave us the option of using air freshener or moving to a room with two queen beds. Since we were already half way settled in we decided to try the air freshener. It didn't work so we asked for another room. The other room with the queen beds did not stink. Other than that, the only other issues were bed comfort (lack of) and noise coming from the parking lot in the early hours of the morning. We did not have a very restful night. I will not be returning to this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Low pet fee.
Cons: Noise and lack of poop disposal.
Location: Location was good for me.
Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Room was reasonably clean but had a stale smell. Our room faced parking lot and there was lots of noise. The door to the room next to ours squeaked so bad it kept us awake. They do accept pets and their pet fee was much more reasonably then other hotels. Nice grassey area out back of hotel but the grass was full of some kind of little stickers. Dogs couldn't walk on them without getting them stuck in their paws. There was another area on the side where there was no parking lot to walk the dogs but it faced rooms. Hated for the dogs to do their poop there but that was the only place they could walk. And there were no poop bags or garbage can to put it in.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miswest

Every thing was wrong.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: What I didn't like far outnumbered what I did like. There was so much wrong, it was hard to focus on what may be right.
Cons: Everything could be improved starting with employee attitude. Don't these folks understand what a customer-service ethic is?
Location: The location is close to the beach (bay side) and handy to shopping and restaurants.
What was right would be a much shorter list. The staff attitude ranged from lacidasical to belligerent. With one employee exhibiting anger management problems. When I asked for hot water for tea at the breakfast bar, he yelled at me and insisted that what was in the carafe was hot, it wasn't. The room I reserved (king, non-smoking) was not available. I was told by the desk clerk they didn't have any. The TV didn't work. I called the front desk and another employee came and, essentially, told me I had to control the TV manually and, no, they didn't have any more remotes. Apparently, there was an elephant with insomnia staying upstairs and this person stomped from one side of the room to the other all night. They charge "resort fees". Which consists of a refrigerator and microwave that come standard with the room. There are other things, too, but the prevailing attitude of most of the staff was indifference to my concerns. They did finally move me to another room (king, handicapped) which smelled like cigarette smoke, after two hours of ozonating and spraying, even though it was supposed to a non-smoking room. There was a loud party in the parking lot the first night and no one answered the front desk phone when I called to complain. Overall, this was a bad experience. Pay the little extra money and stay somewhere else.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shreveport

Terrible room

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Smelled awful, carpet was wet and there were roaches. Phone in room did not work. Air conditioner leaked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Destin, FL

Maybe a great location

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The condition of the hotel rooms, a cheaper rate.
Location: The beach, food, and bars.
Room was small, bed along with pillows not so comfortable, the bathroom door didn't close or lock, not worth the price unless you just need a good location on the strip to leave your bags and maybe get a couple hours of sleep.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor handling of CC and ID

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Stay somewhere else.
Location: There was major construction going on next to the hotel.
Called and harassed prior to check in to pay in advance for my room or reservation would be lost. At check in tried making copies of both my CC and ID. Charged an extra $2 for having a fridge in my room? Old style 70's hotel should be a $39.99 room not $100+ Free breakfast was toast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: the price
I know it was a discount rate but I felt like it was not as clean as it should be. The furniture and bedding had stains.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel. "Close to the beach"

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Decent sized rooms.
Cons: Expedia-Hotel integration on room availability. Refund for trouble inflicted on customers. Hotel needs to improve Wifi.
Location: I would prefer to stay in Destin Or on route 30, where there are lots of small hotels with beach access. The other side of the road - better.
To sum things up, the experience was polarizing. The staff didn't have the room I booked for the first 2 days of my stay. The third and fourth day, Darren made all effort to secure me one early in the morning. So, in my opinion, I didn't get my money's worth. I think Expedia and the Hotel are equally responsible. The wifi speed in the hotel sucks. The hotel is on Ft Walton, which would not be my ideal place if I go there next time. I would prefer Destin since there are no beaches here that can be considered to be in the 'walkable distance' range. There seems to be a water-taxi service but the hotel staff is ignorant of where you can pick one up - most likely the other side of the road.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from milton fl

Not what I expected..

Posted Oct 12, 2015
My reservation was for a double room double bed since there was going to be 5 of us. So had to get another room. Had to wait an hour to check in while other guests were checking in and going to their rooms. Bed linen stained and burn holes in a non smoking room. Will never stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff was not good attitude.

Posted Oct 11, 2015
The hotel hold $50 credit card with sign. Mostly hold credit card number for security without sign. Staff said that you paid to Expedia so we charged $50 security.