Ratings based on 498 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa

Great hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Came up to Illinois for four days second year in a row I used this Super 8 and haven’t been disappointed yet with anything. The mattresses are great cause it’s memory foam and I have one home to. It’s like a home away from home ☺️
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Up grade

Posted Dec 11, 2017
I was interested in having a room with a jacuzzi, after I had already checked in to room 309. The clerk graciously allowed me to upgrade to room 117. Thank you Super 8.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Great hotel, horrible staff

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: The hotel was clean and quiet, the room was a perfect size and the bed was comfortable. The TV was large and had a good selection of channels.
Cons: Whoever the older lady desk clerk is needs to be retrained or replaced.
Location: Very close to Six Flags Great America, Gurnee Mills Mall, and lots of great stores/restaurants. About 20 minutes from Naval Station Great Lakes.
The hotel itself was amazing for the price. Comfy beds, big TVs, clean. My overall stay was incredibly pleasant, except for one major thing: I booked my hotel for Thursday night, Friday night, and Saturday night. My boyfriend and I were asleep Saturday night when another set of guests barged into our room. Weird, but we thought maybe we just left the door unlocked. About five minutes later, the desk clerk walked into our room without knocking and said there wasn't supposed to be anyone in the room. Obviously though, that wasn't true as I had booked it through Sunday. Despite arguing with the front desk multiple times during the night, they had no record of my stay there, which is ridiculous because my card was charged and I signed all of the appropriate paperwork upon checking in. It wasn't until the next morning when the actual manager was there who was able to locate my paperwork and verified that I was all set and was indeed supposed to check out Sunday morning. I was very excited to find this hotel in great condition for such a cheap rate as I frequently stay in the area and was looking for a regular place to stay, but this experience really turned me off.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gurnee

Disappointed

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Not what was depicted in the pictures. Hotel is run downed and has a dirty smell to it. Carpets old and dirty with stains. I guess you get what you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Close hotel to Mall, reasonable

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Older hotel, no hot tub but pool was clean, and it is a older hotel.Staff was very nice and pleasing..great continental breakfast, needed extra blankets and pillows( no problem). Met there to have a night visit with my sister and shop. So it Was simple but slept great there.Would go back.....very reasonable for a adult night out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheboygan, WI

Great for price!

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Everything great only thing breakfeadt not much to chode from & pool was COLD. Other than that it was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by jit, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Glad you liked the stay. we will definitely consider your feedback and thank you for making us better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Posted Sep 22, 2017
I am a patient at cancer treatment center if america and decided to stay here. The manager was very nice anf helpful in anything we needed. The young people behind the desk are just outstanding. Thank you all. Oh the beds are so comfy, slept like babies.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by jit, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to give us a review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.
5 out of 5
by Kimberly

Close to Six Flags and great for the price!

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
For such a low price, we were extremely close to Six Flags, in a safe and quiet area with lots of options for food. The staff was quick and friendly, and the room was quiet, comfy, and tidy. Overall, it was a great stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017
Thank you for taking time to review our property. i am glad to hear that we will be your top choice when you visit again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon
4 out of 5
by SAMANTHA

VERY GOOD FOR $$$$

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
VERY BASIC, CLEAN, GREAT MATTRESSES, POOR BREAKFAST, COLD CEREAL, FROZEN WAFFLES, OATMEAL PACKETS. GOOD COFFEE THOUGH. WE STAYED FOR NAVAL GRADUATION. ABOUT FIFTEEN MINUTES FROM BASE. OVERALL IT WAS VERY GOOD FOR THE PRICE, AND GREAT FOOD LOCATED IN WALKING DISTANCE.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Freeport, IL

Great location

Posted Sep 4, 2017
We stayed here several years ago (it was a different name then) and it was not that nice. The room was really nice and upgraded this time!!! The beds were comfortable; great bedding and pillows. The bathroom has updated fixtures and there's a sink outside the bathroom (great for families with kids). Microwave and fridge in the room too. Great blackout curtains to help us sleep in!!! The hallways and lobby are still the same: decent but could use some updating. Pool is really small but we weren't going to use it anyway. Breakfast has decent choices (especially for families with kids); lots of hot fresh coffee too! The location can't be beat; it's so close to Six Flags and Gurnee Mills! We were pleasantly surprised by our room here and will definitely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by jit, Hotel Management
Dear guest. thank you for your positive comments. i am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. i hope your next stay is just around the corner. call us if there is anything we can help you with.