Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Lovely location, okay facilities

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Location was lovely. Fruit and morning coffee was excellent.
Cons: More interaction with guests and inforcement of rules of common courtesy Sound proofing of units Consistent, punctual breakfasts
Location: Close to Kailua-Kona (6 miles). Excellent restaurant in town, BIG Grill. Nice pier downtown, as well.
We stayed in this location for three nights. This "bed and breakfast" was in a lovely location at a coffee plantation on the side of the mountain, not too far from town. The bed and breakfast is in a separate building with four bedrooms (three with their own washroom), a kitchen, laundry room and sitting room. Patrons are left on their own in the separate building and only see the proprietors at breakfast or if they go up to the main house. This could be nice, however, it leaves the tenants of the bed and breakfast on their own and they may or may not interact with each other or follow rules of consideration. Our room which was poorly insulated, was right by the kitchen, laundry facilities and one of the tenant's bathrooms. We were disturbed by nightly visits to all three of those rooms. The kitchen was routinely used by someone at 4 a.m.! Fruit and excellent coffee were served are 7:30 a.m. in the kitchen Breakfast was to be served on the patio at 8 a.m. It was inconsistent and often late which made it difficult for those who wanted an early start.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Homey B&B

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
This is a family-owned and operated organic coffee farm. It's like sleeping over at your uncle's house. Hans will cook you breakfast and give you a lecture and tour of his coffee business which he and his wife started from scratch. You can roam the property on your own, or, if you're lucky, Inky the cat will join you. Very casual. we met some wonderful people!
4 out of 5
by debra from Canada

Mango Sunset great ocean and sunset view

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice B& B. Access road difficult to find. Clean comfortable room. Excellent breakfast. Kitchen cooking options were limited. Gorgeous ocean view from room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern CA

no room available

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Poor communication from the hosts.
Location: Very remote and at least 15-20 minute drive to town.
We were told our reservation had been cancelled on 02/02/16 but we had not cancelled. On our arrival,they were full and did not have a room for us other than what they called a pass-through room not really set up for guest sleeping quarters. We found this totally unacceptable since we had called them days before departure to advise of our late arrival, asking for a return call to verify they were aware and prepared. We received no return call and ended up having to get other accommodations late that night of arrival. We are requesting our payment be refunded.
5 out of 5
by Liang from Ann Arbor

Absolute best inn I've stayed at

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
Marsha and Hans are incredibly kind inn keepers and are very enjoyable to talk to. They made us feel right at home with family (a very rare quality from the majority typical inns). Also, the breakfast is phenomenal; fresh fruit salad and multiple different freshly prepared dishes from the kitchen every morning. View is fantastic as well; nice shaded porch that overlooks Kona and the ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Texas

The perfect Get Away BnB.

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: Sitting on the patio to watch sunset and sunrise are awesome. Turkey wake up calls!!!
Cons: The breakfasts could have been a bit hotter, including the wonderful organic coffee.
Location: Its Hawaii! Go snorkeling on Captain Cook. Go to the Volcano National Park (don't disturb Pele). Seek out a black sand beach or some sea turtles!
The Mango Sunset Bed and Breakfast experience was wonderful for both my wife and myself. Arriving from Kona airport, you only need to drive up the side of the mountain about 10-15 minutes and you're in the midst of an amazing array of coffee plants and fruit trees. We were greeted by Abby, the farm's dog and Inky, one of the cats. The owner and proprietor, Hans was there to explain the common area, wifi and bedroom. He was a very friendly and open individual and it was clear that he would look after us during our stay. Our bedroom was freshly made with a wonderful breeze coming in from the patio that has a lovely ocean view (you can see the airport, but can't hear the planes). The bathroom was also very clean with fresh towels ready to go. My wife and I enjoyed the morning breakfasts with the other guests and Hans and his wife Marsha very much. Always freshly made local food with an Hawaiian twist. We had the opportunity to use the grill outside to make some dinner as well. Supermarkets and the Farmers Market are a 15 minute drive down towards Kona. From the B&B, we had easy driving access to the whole island. Go left from the farm and you head towards the South Kona coast (great snorkeling areas) and go right and you can hit the North of the island, or take the Saddle Road East towards Hilo. Overall we are very pleased and happy with our experience on the Lyman Coffee Farm. The 'WOOFER' volunteers that were there to help also had a hand in our welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colfax, CA

Nice B&B at a hill way above Kona/Kailua airport

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Cool location and plantation surroundings, as well as the quiet (although sometimes a lot of dog barking down the hill) and having Breakfest with all.
Cons: Several rooms have their own bathroom, not ours and we used the common bathroom. No problem for us, but it could not be locked...
Location: One can freely walk the plantation grounds and Kona and a lot of beaches are close for swimming, surfing, snorkeling etc.
My wife and I had a great time at this B&B at the coffee plantation, where the owners smake everyone welcome, are very knowledgeable about of course the plantatation (they earned numerous Awards) and money other topics. Every morning a warm Breakfest is served with all guests present, at a lanai overlooking the hill all the way down to the ocean, a fantastic view!
3 out of 5
by Linda from Wilmington

Posted Nov 22, 2015 on Hotels
A nice little property with a wonderful breakfast view! Was disappointed in up charge for 3rd person. Very convenient to Kona and the airport. All being said, we had a most pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Corey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels