Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fineview,NY

Second time Better than the First.

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: No
Location: Location is centrally located to most everything. Zihua village is a short walking distance along the beach.
The staff and amenities at Aura del Mar are great for couples or families with children of all ages. The hotel has a very good restaurant and and a couple of bars. The beach is great for swimming and for a Pacific coast destination the water is warm. The swimming pool has a slide and a great patio for lounging. The only downside is the walk up and down to your room and pool and beach. By far the best part is the Staff, they could not be more helpful and friendly. The town of Zihua is a quick walk along the beach. The restaurants right in the area are plentiful and taxis for the ones farther out are reasonable. You can not beat this place for location. PS The hotel has a spa.Water sports at the beach ie. paddle boards,etc.are for all to use FREE.
5 out of 5
by Catherine from Portland

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
We love this hotel!The hotel staff are one of the main reasons we go back there every year.It's not a super fancy place but the rooms are comfortable and the restaurant food is great. pool is private and relaxing.
5 out of 5
by Russ from Corvallis, Oregon

Sad to leave

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
We eat, drank, walked and swam our way through Zihuatanjo and enjoyed every minute...
5 out of 5
by David from USA

Fantastic hotel in a great location

Posted Feb 4, 2016 on Hotels
When I arrived, the front desk staff greeted me by name and told me that I would enjoy the hotel, and he was right. Fantastic view from the balcony and a great restaurant made it difficult to do anything else other than hang around the hotel all day, despite the town being only 10-15 minutes away via a nice walk along the waterfront. I am looking forward to going back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming and beautiful

Posted Jan 28, 2016
We relaxed. Our kids had fun. Top notch staff. We love this place!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Evergreen, Colorado

Best of "Old Zihuatanejo" Charm

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: See above. I also liked the savvy and good advice of the staff.
Cons: No suggestions
Location: I have been deep sea fishing 3 times here. I caught a 7'3" sailfish just a week ago today.
My wife and I have gone to Mexico 2-3 times a year for the last 25 years, the first time on our honeymoon in Zihuat in 1968(before the "Brisas" del Mar was here). We love this hotel. It's not chrome & glass, but what I would call "Zihuatanejo". The location here is central, close to the basketball court (zocalo) and La Ropa. The staff here are long-term employees and know how to get you the cheapest rates for a rental car or a fishing boat (you can trust them). The rooms where we have stayed all have had a wide and beautiful view of the bay, a jacuzzi, hooks to put your hammock. The rooms are immaculate; the service impeccable. What can I say? As far as "bang for your buck", you won't beat this. Terry Vogt, Evergreen, Colorado (you can use my name)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Beautiful, clean hotel with amazing ocean views

Posted Jan 22, 2016
We spent 10 glorious day here in January 2015 for our honeymoon. The rooms were impeccable with authentic Mexican touches and colors. The staff were so friendly and helpful with all our needs. Every room has a huge balcony with beautiful ocean views. The pool and beach were very relaxing. The hotel restaurant was amazing as well with delicious food and room service. We will definitely be back...again and again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from f

Great views, friendly staff, clean and comfortable

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Our first time to Zihuatenejo but not our last. Will stay at this hotel again. Location, views, cleanliness - a great place!
5 out of 5
by Karen R.

Perfect hotel for us

Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Orbitz
My sister and I travel to Mexico every year and had not been to Zihuatanejo before. So happy we picked Aura de Mar as it was perfect for us. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. We did go to the city, Ixtapa to swim with the dolphins which was an amazing experience but glad to come back to Zihuatanejo and Aura del Mar where we felt at home. The food in the restaurant was delicious and we tried breakfast and dinner! Great restaurants everywhere and a little grocery store across the street for when we just needed a snack. Loved Aura de Mar and will most definitely come back because of the kindness of the staff, the great rooms and the pool is perfect! Swimming in the warm ocean was pretty darn nice too!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago Area, Illinois

Wonderful

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: Location, SERVICE, room, food, we liked it all. I would actually say that this is the top hotel of Madera Beach. One of the top in the whole bay
Cons: Not needing improvement but People should be aware that there are a lot of steps involved in moving around the property
Location: within walking to town as well as several restaurants within a couple blocks
This Hotel is in a great location as it on the beach and close enough to walk to the town center. Also within walking distance of a block or two are additional restaurants, coffee shops, and bars. The pool are is a great place to get up off the beach and enjoy the breezes while swimming or catching some some on the lounge chairs. The restaurant had all good food, breakfast, lunch and dinner. No complaints on anything there. The beach and pool service for food and drink was also very good. The room we had which was a family suite, was large, nicely furnished and exceptionally clean. Cleaned thoroughly every day. Plenty of TV stations to choose from however a few more English language channels would be nice. But FOX and CNN news channels were 24/7 along with a few American Television stations. The fridge came in handy as we picked up some cases of water from the market right outside the lobby of the hotel. Double sinks and a roomy bathroom with robes and amenities. In room safe gave us a feeling of comfort. The bed and pillows were plenty and very comfortable. The lounge chairs along with the jacuzzi tub and 2 regular chairs and table out on the balcony made it another relaxing area. WiFi was fairly strong in most all locations of the hotel. The second bar up by the lobby was open every night. The hotel is not 5 star but only because it doesn't have all the extra's of a large resort. In my opinion this is a 5 star resort because of the staff, service, quality and accommodations