Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Classy, quiet and beautiful hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The beach, the pool, the room size, the patio and the view; the staff was friendly and accomodating.
Location: It is away from downtown a bit but for us that was fine as we enjoyed the walk each night to find yet another restaurant.
We were very pleasantly surprised at all of the attributes of this hotel. It was classy, quiet, friendly, right on the beach, with a good (but pricy) restaurant. The hotel is within nice walking distance of downtown Zihaut and very near a series of excellent restaurants. As it 'cascades' down the steep hill above Playa La Madera, the stairs would be daunting to anyone with mobility issues, but for us that was just necessary exercise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

Charming hotel in a very convenient location.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Proximity to everything, beach, market, restaurants..... Beatiful view from rooms.
Cons: "Do Not Disturb" signs. So maids don't have to knock on doors.
Location: On Playa Mereda which is within walking distance to shopping and other beaches.
Charming Hotel but is looking worn and things are starting to break down. We had two very uncomfortable nights, no hot water and AC kept shutting off. But staff is friendly and helpful and responsive to our complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco / Guanajuato MX

I loved everything about it.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Cons: It would have been convenient to eat at the hotel's restaurant, but quite expensive for what you get. Better values within easy walking distance.
I would particularly like to thank the day desk clerk ... I wish I had asked for his name. Great guy, super helpful, very kind, very accommodating. And also the bartender ... also a very nice guy. Overall, I was very impressed with everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long beach, ca.

Beautiful spot on the beach and close to town

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Every detail of our stay was great. The room was beautiful, with a gorgeous view. We used our jacuzzi on the balcony at night during lightening storms. I loved the hotel and the vicinity to town. Not right in the city so it was quaint and quiet, but easily walking distance along the beach to town to grab a nice dinner or shop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxed

Posted Aug 14, 2016
The hotel staff were very helpful. I arrived very early and they gave me a hospitality room to stay in until my room was ready. The room was great, the view was great. There is a restaurant/bar attached to the beach font of the hotel. The beach part of the hotel is quite small, the area that the hotel has is quite short and narrow and is mostly in shade. The pool area is nice. The waiting staff in the hotel are very friendly and attentive. Service of bringing the food and drinks was quite slow, but it added to the relaxed atmosphere. There are good spa services available and a small gym area. The massage I had were very good and they were running a 2for1 promotion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice facilities, review restaurant prices, waste

Posted Jul 25, 2016
It would be nice if the hotel helps to clean the beach and make the people conscious of having the beach clean without throwing garbbage to the sand (including cigarettes). Have a big waste basket and signs would help. The hotel is very nice we loved all facilities, beds are very good. The only thing we didn't like were the prices at the restaurant. They don't have and balance between price and quality of the food/portions. They are excessive and do not match with the hotel location and category.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the view !

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Loved our stay! Beautiful ocean view with a jacuzzi on the balcony!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

Incredible Mexican Getaway!

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: The location was fantastic. You can walk to town or just stay at the hotel!
Location: Great beach to watch the surfers, walk to town for shopping and dining. Great location!
We were lucky to have selected a slow time at the hotel for our quick five night getaway! The hotel is beautiful, sitting above a nice beach. The hotel was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The patio looked over the beach so we could hear the waves crashing and had wonderful views. We were the only people at the pool, so our stay was very quiet and restful, perfect for us getting away from busy lives in the US!! The restaurant below the hotel was phenomenal, probably the best food we have ever had in Mexico. The staff was very well trained as well, we had many wonderful dining experiences there! We also walked to town and had great meals there as well as the little restaurants on the beach. Everything is very reasonable priced. We also enjoyed wonderful massages on the beach next to the hotel for 200 pesos each ($11-13 US!!) for an hour. We loved our stay and hope to get back to Merida Beach again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fineview,NY

Second time Better than the First.

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: No
Location: Location is centrally located to most everything. Zihua village is a short walking distance along the beach.
The staff and amenities at Aura del Mar are great for couples or families with children of all ages. The hotel has a very good restaurant and and a couple of bars. The beach is great for swimming and for a Pacific coast destination the water is warm. The swimming pool has a slide and a great patio for lounging. The only downside is the walk up and down to your room and pool and beach. By far the best part is the Staff, they could not be more helpful and friendly. The town of Zihua is a quick walk along the beach. The restaurants right in the area are plentiful and taxis for the ones farther out are reasonable. You can not beat this place for location. PS The hotel has a spa.Water sports at the beach ie. paddle boards,etc.are for all to use FREE.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming and beautiful

Posted Jan 28, 2016
We relaxed. Our kids had fun. Top notch staff. We love this place!