Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Great hotel, excellent service

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Orbitz
The staff were very friendly and attentive. Rooms clean and spacious. Could do with some updating but very comfortable. Great views, lots of relaxing areas. Would recommend to anyone! Bistro on the beach is lovely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Classy, quiet and beautiful hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The beach, the pool, the room size, the patio and the view; the staff was friendly and accomodating.
Location: It is away from downtown a bit but for us that was fine as we enjoyed the walk each night to find yet another restaurant.
We were very pleasantly surprised at all of the attributes of this hotel. It was classy, quiet, friendly, right on the beach, with a good (but pricy) restaurant. The hotel is within nice walking distance of downtown Zihaut and very near a series of excellent restaurants. As it 'cascades' down the steep hill above Playa La Madera, the stairs would be daunting to anyone with mobility issues, but for us that was just necessary exercise.
5 out of 5
by SnohoBeav from Seattle, WA

great location, comfortable unpretentious

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
The location is great with a short 10-15 minute walk to town either by surface street along the canal or the path along the water. Rooms are rustic and comfortable with private deck, hammock, fridge, coffee maker, daily maid service providing bottled water and even nightly turn down service where they replace the flower petals on your bed with something like coconut macaroon cookies. in the afternoons there was a bottle of tequila out for sampling in the lobby. A nice touch. Good food at the restaurant, poolside service, a fun water slide, plenty of staying at and near the pool. the beach and lounge chairs are at the bottom of the stairs next to the restaurant. We'll be back.
5 out of 5
by Marilynn

Beautiful and Unique

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at Hotel Aura del Mar for a week. The staff there was the best ever and always remembered our names with a smile. Everyone was so helpful and anticipated our needs. Our spacious room, and I believe all the rooms, have magnificent views of the lovely bay. The uniqueness of the hotel is amazing and we will definitely stay again on our next trip to Zihuatanejo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

Charming hotel in a very convenient location.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Proximity to everything, beach, market, restaurants..... Beatiful view from rooms.
Cons: "Do Not Disturb" signs. So maids don't have to knock on doors.
Location: On Playa Mereda which is within walking distance to shopping and other beaches.
Charming Hotel but is looking worn and things are starting to break down. We had two very uncomfortable nights, no hot water and AC kept shutting off. But staff is friendly and helpful and responsive to our complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alabama

Enjoyable experience

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Our stay was very enjoyable. The staff was great-extremely helpful when needed, but not Intrusive and left us alone to relax during our stay. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The restaurant was perfect. Great atmosphere and every experience there was delicious. The hotel was in a good location. Great wifi connection. The staff will give you great suggestions on anything you ask and will have a taxi at your service within minutes. The only cons- the water pressure in the shower was pretty much a drizzle.. It didn't really bother us but it may bother other guests. Also, the water temp stayed cool the entire time... As I previously noted- this really wasn't an issue for us.. Its fine.. The glass door accessing the balcony is extremely difficult to open and close.. Overall, I enjoyed everything and would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco / Guanajuato MX

I loved everything about it.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Cons: It would have been convenient to eat at the hotel's restaurant, but quite expensive for what you get. Better values within easy walking distance.
I would particularly like to thank the day desk clerk ... I wish I had asked for his name. Great guy, super helpful, very kind, very accommodating. And also the bartender ... also a very nice guy. Overall, I was very impressed with everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long beach, ca.

Beautiful spot on the beach and close to town

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Every detail of our stay was great. The room was beautiful, with a gorgeous view. We used our jacuzzi on the balcony at night during lightening storms. I loved the hotel and the vicinity to town. Not right in the city so it was quaint and quiet, but easily walking distance along the beach to town to grab a nice dinner or shop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxed

Posted Aug 14, 2016
The hotel staff were very helpful. I arrived very early and they gave me a hospitality room to stay in until my room was ready. The room was great, the view was great. There is a restaurant/bar attached to the beach font of the hotel. The beach part of the hotel is quite small, the area that the hotel has is quite short and narrow and is mostly in shade. The pool area is nice. The waiting staff in the hotel are very friendly and attentive. Service of bringing the food and drinks was quite slow, but it added to the relaxed atmosphere. There are good spa services available and a small gym area. The massage I had were very good and they were running a 2for1 promotion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mountain View CA

"We Love It"

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The Service with a smile and the willingness of the staff to go the extra mile to ensure we would have a great time.
Cons: Perhaps a mosquito repellent device at the restaurant.
Location: Great center location on La Madera Beach, 10 minute walk to downtown shops and restaurants using the shoreline walkway "El Paseo Del Pescador"
From the moment we ware greeted to the minute we left we felt at home... my children, wife and I had the most wonderful time aver... all thanks to the perfect combination of wonderful and friendly staff to the perfect location and beautiful beach. Bistro Del Mar was delicious, the beach side view open air dining is priceless and the service is topnotch. We will definitely come back and will tell our friends.