Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice facilities, review restaurant prices, waste

Posted Jul 25, 2016
It would be nice if the hotel helps to clean the beach and make the people conscious of having the beach clean without throwing garbbage to the sand (including cigarettes). Have a big waste basket and signs would help. The hotel is very nice we loved all facilities, beds are very good. The only thing we didn't like were the prices at the restaurant. They don't have and balance between price and quality of the food/portions. They are excessive and do not match with the hotel location and category.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved the view !

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Loved our stay! Beautiful ocean view with a jacuzzi on the balcony!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

Incredible Mexican Getaway!

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: The location was fantastic. You can walk to town or just stay at the hotel!
Location: Great beach to watch the surfers, walk to town for shopping and dining. Great location!
We were lucky to have selected a slow time at the hotel for our quick five night getaway! The hotel is beautiful, sitting above a nice beach. The hotel was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The patio looked over the beach so we could hear the waves crashing and had wonderful views. We were the only people at the pool, so our stay was very quiet and restful, perfect for us getting away from busy lives in the US!! The restaurant below the hotel was phenomenal, probably the best food we have ever had in Mexico. The staff was very well trained as well, we had many wonderful dining experiences there! We also walked to town and had great meals there as well as the little restaurants on the beach. Everything is very reasonable priced. We also enjoyed wonderful massages on the beach next to the hotel for 200 pesos each ($11-13 US!!) for an hour. We loved our stay and hope to get back to Merida Beach again soon!
5 out of 5
by Erica from San Miguel de Allende

Perfect Mexican beach vacation

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
Aura Del Mar is a beautiful hotel with excellent staff and management. I have stayed there many times. Perfect beach location, restaurant best in town.
5 out of 5
by Gregory from Simi Valley, California

Relaxing and low key vacation paradise

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Bed was excellent, very comfortable. Staff was amazing. Wifi a little slow and connection would drop. Loved the location right at the beach, great pool, cute, short walk into downtown for delicious cheap tacos and beer. Highly recommend the experience
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fineview,NY

Second time Better than the First.

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: No
Location: Location is centrally located to most everything. Zihua village is a short walking distance along the beach.
The staff and amenities at Aura del Mar are great for couples or families with children of all ages. The hotel has a very good restaurant and and a couple of bars. The beach is great for swimming and for a Pacific coast destination the water is warm. The swimming pool has a slide and a great patio for lounging. The only downside is the walk up and down to your room and pool and beach. By far the best part is the Staff, they could not be more helpful and friendly. The town of Zihua is a quick walk along the beach. The restaurants right in the area are plentiful and taxis for the ones farther out are reasonable. You can not beat this place for location. PS The hotel has a spa.Water sports at the beach ie. paddle boards,etc.are for all to use FREE.
5 out of 5
by Catherine from Portland

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
We love this hotel!The hotel staff are one of the main reasons we go back there every year.It's not a super fancy place but the rooms are comfortable and the restaurant food is great. pool is private and relaxing.
5 out of 5
by Russ from Corvallis, Oregon

Sad to leave

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
We eat, drank, walked and swam our way through Zihuatanjo and enjoyed every minute...
5 out of 5
by David from USA

Fantastic hotel in a great location

Posted Feb 4, 2016 on Hotels
When I arrived, the front desk staff greeted me by name and told me that I would enjoy the hotel, and he was right. Fantastic view from the balcony and a great restaurant made it difficult to do anything else other than hang around the hotel all day, despite the town being only 10-15 minutes away via a nice walk along the waterfront. I am looking forward to going back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming and beautiful

Posted Jan 28, 2016
We relaxed. Our kids had fun. Top notch staff. We love this place!